A Blog Challenge

31dbcI’ve had a few people ask me why I’m posting so much more than I used to. Well, the answer is easy. I’m participating in a 31 day blogging challenge sponsored by Lesa Townsend of Conversation2Sales.

No one is more surprised about my participation than me. I certainly wasn’t looking for more to do. In fact, some might say it’s kind of crazy. The reasons for that are as numerous as the stars in the sky or the projects currently occupying my to-do list. When I was blogging before, my schedule was to post twice a week. I maintained that schedule for almost six months before entering blog silence for four months. Now that I’ve restarted my blog, Isn’t that enough? Do I really need to take on a marathon session? Well, maybe! But maybe it’s an opportunity that came along just at the right moment.

As part of my effort to take time for myself regularly, I recently made the intention to return to quilting and blogging. And this challenge just doesn’t seem like a lot of pressure; it’s more like encouragement to push myself a bit in a direction I’ve already decided I want to go. I don’t remember how I came across the invitation to this blog challenge, but I’m glad I did. The idea is to post 31 times, even if you don’t quite keep up with the daily schedule.

If I don’t complete the challenge, it’s fine. In fact, I’ve already posted more in October than I have in any other month since I started blogging, so I’ve already accomplished something. This may be just the boost I need to keep me going as I get back into a blogging routine. After all, if I can blog for 31 days, going back to twice a week in November will be a breeze.

As for my progress to date: today, October 13, I am posting for the 11th time this month. So I’m feeling confident, at this point, that I can do it. I’m learning a lot about myself and about blogging, and two thirds of the month still remains. And like other aspects of my life, I find that I am now thinking about blogging differently than I did before. I am exploring topics and ideas I didn’t expect to be blogging about, and my seasonal keyword, perseverance, is already coming in handy. It will be interesting to find out what I have to write next.

See you tomorrow.

5 comments on “A Blog Challenge

  1. Hi Deborah,
    I enjoyed reading this post. Your words about taking on the blogging challenge while already having a full life reminded me of the adage: If you want something done, ask a busy person. You’re doing great. Best wishes!

    A fellow #31dbc’er.

    • Thanks, Susan!
      Nice to hear from you. I am always way too busy, so I’m kind of conscious of that adage. But for me, what’s different this time, is that I’m choosing to take on things that are what I want to do, rather than the things that I take on for work or for other people. In the past, I tended to short-change myself. I’ve shifted my priorities. Thanks for stopping by! Nice to hear from another #31dbc’er. 🙂

  2. Pingback: Eleven Things I’ve Learned from the 31-Day Blog Challenge | Container Chronicles

Leave a Reply

