Music for All Hallow’s Eve (A Mother/Daughter Collaboration)

Three jack-o'-lanterns illuminated from within...

I was considering sitting this one out. I was kind of stymied since I don’t really do much with Halloween music and movies. I did think about working with the idea of masks, and found a number of songs about Masquerades. One of those, the one from Phantom of the Opera, is in this list, but it’s the only masquerade song that made the cut.

Luckily, I ended up chatting with my daughter last night. Compared to me (and many others), she is the expert regarding all things Halloween. So for the heck of it, I asked her what songs came to mind for Halloween. She came up with a couple of ideas right away. Then I told her the one I had and an idea I had for another, but that I couldn’t remember where it was from. When I described it to her, she remembered right away. So that one got included. Before long, she not only talked me through some selections, but she helped me find the videos. Not bad for two people chatting from halfway around the world. Suddenly, this project was getting to be fun. The creative juices were flowing.

By the way, if you’d like to see what she’s up to in her pen pal-related blog, you can find her at Sincerely Kate.

The Corpse Bride – Remains of the Day

Who knew that such things existed? This whole Halloween movie/music thing is quite enlightening. I’m not sold yet on watching this one, but maybe at some point.

Nightmare Before Christmas – This is Halloween

This was Kate’s first suggestion. No hesitation. Apparently, this was a common video at our place when she was growing up, but I honestly don’t remember it. Must not have grabbed me. It obviously appealed to her.

Sweeney Todd – Poor Thing

It’s probably fair to tell you she’s crazy about musicals. So the combination of Halloween and musicals, how could I miss?

Hocus Pocus: I Put a Spell on You

This was Kate’s second offering, immediately following on the heels of This is Halloween (see above). I told you she is an expert in all things Halloween.

Phantom of the Opera – Masquerade

I love everything about this musical, and I knew from the beginning that I would include this song. And it’s one I already knew, and I had seen the production–both live (in Toronto) and in the movie!  🙂

Labyrinth – As the World Falls Down

This is the one that I could remember the images, but couldn’t recall the movie. Kate to the rescue!

This project turned out to be a lot of fun. Working with Kate made it especially enjoyable. It also reminded me of  listening to Phantom of the Opera music with her. We also watched the Labyrinth movie together many times. Good times! Like the ones I hope you have with this collection of Halloween-themed music.

29 comments on “Music for All Hallow’s Eve (A Mother/Daughter Collaboration)

  1. Hi Deborah that was amazing with lots of my favourite films in there , Labyrnth ( OH! that Bowie, the Nightmare before Christmas, Sweeney Todd ..Ho ! all of the them great posts and a salute to Kate!…. Hugs loved it all!! xxxxx

  2. LOL–a mother daughter collaboration!!!!! O what fun, Deborah. All of these are fantastic. Remains of the Day — and the Corpse Bride–Wow!
    Clapping and toe tapping happily. I will have to see what your Kate has served!

    • Thanks, Eva! I’m glad you’re enjoying it. I’ll be getting back to yours soon! 🙂 Now you can see why I have to get to work on Kate’s quilt. She’s pretty awesome! 🙂

      • Awww giving quilts is like giving arms for hugging.
        You’re both lucky to have each other.
        I suspect mine is a tad darker than yours. This is good balance going from one blogcase to another and discover new and forgotten things. 🙂

      • Hello Kate,
        I find your treatment of the seven deadly sins interesting–along with other things like postcards and well, one never knows what a writer can collect about human nature while visiting folks. Hmmmm

  3. Pingback: A Few Trips for All Hallows Eve Traps–Mind the sound wires, please. | 47whitebuffalo's Blog

  4. Wow, I’ve never heard of the Daemon Barber, Bette is always good, I’m so glad you thought of the Phantom of the Opera, I’ve not seen Labyrinth, maybe I shall rent it, And the music in Nightmare before Christmas is surprisingly toe tapping GOOD! I am so glad you did not ‘sit this one out”. Thank you Kate!! I had to consult Dear Son IV, Roy, because I could not remember the movie that had Grin Grinning Ghosts, or even the name of the silly song. He remembered right away:-)
    I have enjoyed this little sojourn. Thank you. Thank you, too, Kate. XXOO Bear

  5. Pingback: Trick or Treat | Sincerely Kate

  6. Pingback: Miscellaneous Mondays | Sincerely Kate

Leave a Reply

