Post #31: I’m all shook up

English: Hualien_County, TW

Hualien_County, TW (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Living in Taiwan, you know that there is a possibility of earthquakes. I’ve experienced several in my 4+ years here, but usually they haven’t been too intense. I remember back to when I had first moved to Taiwan. I had been here about six weeks, and I went to bed fairly early because I was sick (I don’t get sick very often in Taiwan, but when I do, I know it). Anyway, I was in bed and I felt my bed begin to shake. In my semi-delirious state, I pulled the sheet over my head and hoped for the best. Not the recommended earthquake safety procedure, but at that moment, I was somewhat certain that sheet would protect me.

Since then, my experience of earthquakes has been relatively mild. Until tonight. About 3 hours ago, Dave and I were sitting in the kitchen at our computers.Β Things started shaking, the familiar low-level kind of shaking I remember. But then it got stronger, and I could hear more and more things rattling around the apartment. Something went bump in another part of the apartment. Turns out that a painting we have stored in the front closet fell forward and hit the wall, nothing serious.

But it sure was scary for a few minutes. The earthquake was centered on the western side of the island, and registered between 6.3 and 6.7 depending on which reports you follow. When you’re in the midst of it, it’s hard to decide who’s right. This map shows the county that hosted the earthquake, and I’ve included several news sites at the bottom of this post if you want more information.

I just thought it was interesting that as I’m doing a marathon blog session to finish up 31 blog posts in 31 days, an earthquake hits. It’s been an eventful day. Halloween fun in class, riding in a police car, spending nearly 3 hours at the police station, and riding out an earthquake. I hope tomorrow is a little calmer!

16 comments on “Post #31: I’m all shook up

  1. Ah, earthquakes are so trippy. I live in a part of the world where they are not common but then we had a rash of them about a year ago. I had NO idea what was happening– at first I thought something was falling through the ceiling of the hospital where I work because it was such a loud rumbling–then the whole room began to sway. It was scary but also weirdly fun?

    • I’m not so sure fun is the word I would use, though I do understand that once it passes, there is kind of a sense that you participated in something where you are out of control, like an amusement park ride. It’s just the idea while it’s happening that it could become large and devastating. You raise an interesting thought though. Because afterwards, everyone talks about it as a story, as a common experience. “What were you doing when the earthquake hit?” That kind of thing. Thanks for stopping by. You are making me think. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

