Music Theme for November 4: Corvidae

The Raven by Edgar Allen Poe

The Raven seemed a natural to start off this post. I found it interesting how many musical versions have been made. I checked out three and thought this one was nice, although I was tempted by the one with Moonlight Sonata as a backdrop to the reading. Still, I wanted musical.

Calling All Crows (State Radio)

As I was exploring all the possibilities, this one attracted my attention for its call to action and the sense of empowerment. I was unfamiliar with this song (and this group), but I think I’ll be checking them out.

Cause I come from the land of the shaman
Where the innocent are taken to the pavement
Won’t somebody just tell them
Won’t somebody oh, won’t somebody oh oh oh oh oh…

Won’t you please look after my children
All the words that are coming from the mouths of the women
From the northland down to the rio grande
New England town to Oregon
Wont somebody oh oh oh oh oh

So we’re calling all the crows
They comin’ in slow
It’s gonna be a show down
Said the rebel to the revolutionary come with me
And if you feel like you are witnessing a movement
Then get up girl and let them know you’re free

Cause I come from the land of the shaman
Where the world is looking up you know it’s changing
Won’t somebody just tell them
Won’t somebody oh, won’t somebody oh oh oh oh oh…

So we’re calling all the crows
They comin’ in slow
It’s gonna be a show down
Said the rebel to the revolutionary come with me
And if you feel like you are witnessing a movement
Then get up girl and let them know you’re free

Said the rebel to the rebel
I will go if you come with me
I’m tired of living in a fable
Blue sky I’d love to see
The journey must continue and does not stop in me, no
Cause the rivers wide
but with all of us we can reach from side to side
and it is here that we must all ?

So we’re calling all the crows
They comin’ in slow
It’s gonna be a show down
Said the rebel to the revolutionary come with me
And if you feel like you are witnessing a movement
Then get up girl and let them know you’re free

It’s just a murder of crows
They comin’ in slow
It’s gonna be a show down
Said the rebel to the revolutionary follow me
And if you feel like you are witnessing a movement
Then get up girl and let them know you’re free
You got to get up girl and let them know you’re free
You got to get up girl and girl let them know you’re free

Pretty Bird by The Blackest Crow

theblackestcrowThe Blackest Crow is another group I’d not encountered before. According to their website, “Hannah Naiman and Emily Adam are an up-and-coming duo. Blackest Crow sings traditional Appalachian ballads and songs, as well as haunting close harmony original compositions.” The name of their 2011 album is Where Wild Birds Whistle. They don’t have a video, but I’ve included a link to the song.

http://www.cdbaby.com/cd/theblackestcrow/PrettyBird

Birds on the Wires

I loved the idea of this story in which a picture of crows on a wire led Jarbas Agnelli to find what it would sound like if their configuration on the wire could be transcribed into music. To quote Agnelli,

“Reading a newspaper, I saw a picture of birds on the electric wires. I cut out the photo and decided to make a song, using the exact location of the birds as notes (no Photoshop edit). I knew it wasn’t the most original idea in the universe. I was just curious to hear what melody the birds were creating.”

The Three Crows by Gothicrow

Amazing crow art! And she has an Etsy shop. This piece is already sold, and no wonder. I love the combination of art and music.

If I Only Had a Brain (Wizard of Oz)

I can’t think of crows without thinking of the poor scarecrow in the Wizard of Oz. If the truth be known, I can tie the Wizard of Oz into countless themes and discussions. You have been warned.

Bear has created an impressive of all things Crow at  Press http://bearspawprint.wordpress.com/2013/11/03/corvidea-within-wp/

At the moment, Links to Bear, Johnny and Willow.

Willow:  http://willowdot21.wordpress.com/2013/11/04/muscical-theme-corvidae/

Bear: http://bearspawprint.wordpress.com/2013/11/04/corvidae-music-themes/

http://bearspawprint.wordpress.com/2013/11/04/corvidae-ii-music-themes/

http://bearspawprint.wordpress.com/2013/11/04/corvidae-iii-music-themes/

Eva:     http://47whitebuffalo.wordpress.com/2013/11/04/crows-black-dancing-and-counting-everywhere-catch-them-if-you-dare/

Johnny:   http://johnnyojanpera.wordpress.com/2013/11/01/music-theme-all-saints-day/

17 comments on “Music Theme for November 4: Corvidae

  1. Like you said, The Wizard of Oz’s themes can tie into almost anything, really. I once featured Dorothy in a blog post that made her into this manipulative girl with a penchant for murder. I didn’t know what the reaction would be. Sure enough, folks thought it imaginative. Got to love The Wizard of Oz!

    • Imaginative, indeed! I think it would be possible to mine the Wizard of Oz indefinitely and not run out of possibilities. It doesn’t hurt that I never tire of watching it. The music is great!

  2. O I LOVE Calling all Crows. Thank you for that fantastic find, Deborah.
    I also like Birds on the Wires very much too. OOO that’s fun.
    Very cool Crow art. That’s movitivating me to complete a piece of my own…
    So very glad you joined in, Deborah.
    Hello Kate!

    • Hi Eva! I’m glad you liked the post. I had fun finding all these little trinkets. Wasn’t sure at first, but there are amazing things out there. To me it was amazing to find an artist who bases all her work on crows! 🙂

  3. Pingback: Crows: Black, Dancing and Counting Everywhere! Catch Them If You Dare. | 47whitebuffalo's Blog

  4. Pingback: Corvidae — Music Themes « bearspawprint

  5. Pingback: Corvidae within WP « bearspawprint

  6. Oooo I like this post!!! I’m so glad you remembered the Scarecrow…. I forgot him entirely….. ’til you reminded me. 🙂 Calling all Crows was interesting…. and Three Crows collage 🙂 I really liked the Blackest Crow… mucho Caw Caw CaCaw

  7. This is great. I often sing the scarecrow’s song, and the whole thing is art. Especially the sheet music picture. 🙂

Leave a Reply

