What Really Happened in My 40’s

BACKGROUND

I read a blog post yesterday, “One of These Things Will Not Set You Free,” In it, Aussa Lorens told about six interesting (and sometimes, downright scary) things that happened in her life. Except one of them is not true. And that’s when the fun starts. Well, actually just reading her post is fun. But in the comments, everyone tries to guess which of the six statements is not true. Some people actually go through the items one by one to discuss the probability and their logic about the likelihood of such events.

She also invited her readers to do a similar post and then include it in her comments. While I haven’t had quite the number of off-the-wall experiences she’s had, I have done some unusual things. The hardest part of my list making was writing the lie. I found it a little hard to find something what wasn’t either too far out there or too mundane. But I think I’ve got it now.

THE GAME

My 40’s were a great decade, so I focused on things that happened (or didn’t happen) during that time. If you want to get the full experience, see if you can figure out which of the six things I did not really do, and post your guess in the comments.

I will post the correct answer next week (Monday or Tuesday).

BONUS POINTS

Do a post of your own, and post it in my comment section, so I (and my readers) can play.

MY LIST: 5 Truths and 1 Lie

1. I broke my toe in Taipei.

Shilin Night Market
Shilin Night Market (Photo credit: roboppy)

2. I got married in a Chinese restaurant.

A Chinese buffet restaurant in the United Stat...

A Chinese buffet restaurant in US (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

3. I had lunch with Sergei Khrushchev.

Sergei Khrushchev, son of Nikita Khrushchev, p...

Sergei Khrushchev, son of Nikita Khrushchev, presents his books about his father in Moscow. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

4. I attended a Klingon convention in costume.

Fans dressed as Klingons in a Star Trek Conven...

Fans dressed as Klingons (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

5. I volunteered to assist with a 6-week quilting class for beginners.

Rosie Chan quilting class

quilting class (Photo credit: _Jill_)

6. I climbed the Great Wall of China.

English: The Great Wall of China

The Great Wall of China (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

16 comments on “What Really Happened in My 40’s

  1. I’m going to go with #4! I would imagine that this is just a lifelong dream or something that remains on your bucket list 😉

    I too had difficulty writing my lie! Eventually I just stole a ridiculous truth from a friend’s life and passed it off as my own! Much less creative energy required 😉

    Can’t wait to know the truth!

Leave a Reply

