Wishing and Hoping (Musical Theme for November 27)

Wishin’ and Hopin’

A light-hearted beginning, to put me in the mood of wishin’ and hopin’ and thinking of possibilities. This came out before my time and has recently made a come-back. I also heard a lot of 60’s music later in life.  🙂

My Wish (Rascal Flatts)

This selection and the next were recommended by my daughter/collaborator Kate. She may be joining in on some of these challenges later on, but for now, I still can reap the benefit of her musical interests.

I’m Wishing on a Star (The Tenth Kingdom)

Wishing You Were Here (Phantom of the Opera)

This song makes me think of the times in my life when there was something I wished that could be other than the way it was, but wishing was not going to make it so. Yet they were too powerful to just push away. The expression of the longing was painful, but necessary. It can lead to new resolve and intentions that bring a new direction that is even better than what I thought I wanted.

Imagine

My daughter also sent this one along, and I couldn’t agree more. The song has always been powerful, and this cover by Glee takes it to an even more amazing level. I am moved by the pure emotion of this rendition. If you can imagine it, it can be. And sure, realistically, we know that many of these things won’t happen anytime soon, but without hope, we have little reason to go on.

I Hope You Dance

In the end, this is my fantasy, my fondest hope is to inspire others: my children, my students, my friends, anyone who is searching for more in their life. Anyone who dreams of dancing, or of writing, or of being an artist, a scientist, a teacher, or an engineer. It doesn’t matter, as long as they find their way to being the best at what it is they want to be and not simply settle for what’s easy. If I can help someone find their way to a life of purpose and fulfillment, then I will have my wish. This song captures that for me.

Other posts on this theme:

Bear:   MY SECRETS, HOPES, WISHES, AND FANTASIES ARE ALL DREAMS       http://bearspawprint.wordpress.com/2013/11/27/music-themes-secrets-hopes-wishes-and-fantasies/

Eva:  What’s my secret fantasy desire? My hope? My fond wish? Animate Art with Music! What else is worth living for?   http://47whitebuffalo.wordpress.com/2013/11/27/music-theme-whats-my-secret-fantasy-desire-my-hope-my-fond-wish-animate-art-with-music-what-else-is-worth-living-for/

Johnny: http://johnnyojanpera.wordpress.com/2013/11/27/secrets-hope-wishes-and-fantasies/#like-2575

WIllow: http://willowdot21.wordpress.com/2013/11/27/musical-theme-secret-fantasies-and-hopes/

D.S. Nelson: http://hatpaintladdersandwonkypooh.wordpress.com/2013/11/27/27-secrets-hopes-wishes-or-fantasies-whats-your-music/

22 comments on “Wishing and Hoping (Musical Theme for November 27)

  1. Pingback: Music Theme—- Links —- SECRETS, HOPES, WISHES, AND FANTASIES « bearspawprint

  2. This is from Willow, via email:

    Dear Bear

    I cannot get on to wordpress it keeps throwing me off! I am finding it so frustrating I have attempted to comment on your blog at least three times!

    That is another thing, I cannot finish my blog or post it , could you let Eva, Deborah, and Johnny that I have not forgotten but I have been shut out!

    I hope wordpress sort themselves out soon.

    Love for now

    willow

    xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

    • You are such an awesome daughter! 🙂 So since it’s Thanksgiving, I’ll just mention how thankful I am to have you share in my life in all kinds of interesting ways. What other child of mine would not only read my blog, but help with my posts! 🙂

  3. Pingback: Secrets, Hope, Wishes And Fantasies | johnny ojanpera

  4. Pingback: Music Theme: What’s my secret fantasy desire? My hope? My fond wish? Animate Art with Music! What else is worth living for? | 47whitebuffalo's Blog

  5. Pingback: Miscellaneous Mondays | Sincerely Kate

Leave a Reply

