The Revolution of Music: Another Mother/Daughter Collaboration

Prologue

Eva selected revolution as our current theme. Mother told the daughter she wanted a music revolution, so the daughter obliged, choosing popular songs from each decade that are all recognizable years after their respective decades.

Then the mother asked the daughter if she wanted to help with commentary, and the daughter replied, “If you would have asked me for commentary sooner I could have done something better, but instead you and your readers will have to deal with the past 6 decades in a horrible nutshell.”

We now present the horrible nutshell!

The 50s

We will start with the man who originally got us all shook up, Elvis Presley.

Blue Suede Shoes (Elvis Presley)

 

The 60s

The British Invasion soon swept through, and what better song to use for said era than Revolution?

Revolution (Beatles)

Other genres that swept the nation, world, whatever, include Motown.

My Girl (The Temptations)

 

The 70s

As the 60s became the 70s we heard more and more from songwriters, but the musical phenomenon known as Grease was also heard by just about everyone.

Bohemian Rhapsody (Queen)

 

Go Your Own Way (Fleetwood Mac)

You’re the One That I Want (Grease)

The 80s

In addition to the world being graced with my presence in the 80’s, we also received the gift of songs that would get stuck in your head… but in a good way. I picked the Lego video because not only did mother request an “art revolution,” Legos are a revolution in their own right.

Thriller  (Michael Jackson)

 

Madonna (Like a Virgin)

The 90s

Things took one heck of the turn prior to the turn of the century– we went from having catchy songs to songs that found their way into your head and wouldn’t leave until it was replaced with something else. It didn’t help that radios would play these singles ad nauseam for anyone who wasn’t a teenage girl.

Quit Playing Games (with my Heart) (Back Street Boys)

What a Girl Wants (Christina Aguilera)

 

The 2000s

And since obnoxious stuff could no longer be contained in the radio stations, reality TV shows took over the television stations, too. Fortunately, for me at least, Glee came along right around the time American Idol became more about the gimmicks than the music.

A Moment LIke This Kelly Clarkson

Don’t Stop Believing   Glee

2010s

Although some musicians *cough* Lady Gaga *cough* are still about the gimmick, we do have artists such as Adele and Bruno Mars that are capable of performing music that mother requested by name

Born This Way   Lady Gaga

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wV1FrqwZyKw

Someone Like You (Adele)

Just the Way You Are (Bruno Mars)

Epilogue

Daughter likes writing for the Mother since Mother doesn’t have the ridiculous standards I set for myself. I’m a revolution of one, I suppose. Feel free to join it at sincerelykaterz.wordpress.com

Mother likes Horrible Nutshells.;-)

26 comments on “The Revolution of Music: Another Mother/Daughter Collaboration

  1. This is awesome and throughout my day today of cleaning, putting up the Christmas tree, and cooking, I am going to listen to each of these songs. I need help in the music department, so it’s perfect.

    • Glad you enjoyed it, Randee. Sometimes, I think I’m crazy with the amount of blogging I do, but I am enjoying it, and I’m not taking too much away from other things. Or at least, I rationalize that I’m not. 😉

      • I try to rationalize it, too. If we weren’t vegging out on our blog or meeting our need to be creative here then we’d be doing it elsewhere with some other “project.” Speaking of projects, how is that quilt coming along?

      • After some time has passed, I can now respond to this. If I weren’t blogging, I wouldn’t be putting it on another creative project. I write more because of blogging. It may not be true for everyone, but it is for me. And my daughter and I spend much more time “together” (across the miles) because of the blogging and even the music theme stuff. Though I can see that she and I may have to find another way to collaborate. I am beginning to see the music theme as a plate that can be relatively easily retired. I have other things I’m working on to eliminate, but that one is definitely up for consideration. But blogging in general–nope. This is a long-term commitment. I took a four-month break last summer, and I didn’t get any more done than I do now.

      • I know what you mean. Are you familiar with the term eustress? Basically, it’s knowing you need a certain number of spinning plates to function at your best. Sometimes when I’m stressed I add just one more thing and then I feel fine, like I’m back in control.

  2. Pingback: Revolution – Legalize It – Music Theme December 1st | johnny ojanpera

    • Thanks, Bear! It was challenging. I was tempted to break it into two posts and two spans of time, but Kate kind of talked me into making it work in one. I’m glad she did. I had to be a little more concise, and definitely more selective. The challenge was finding representative pieces to “speak” for a decade. If we did it again next week, we’d probably choose differently, but for today, I’m happy with it. 🙂

  3. Pingback: Music Themes Links: REVOLUTION « bearspawprint

  4. Pingback: Musical Theme: Revolutions! | willowdot21

  5. Pingback: Change Come and Done and Dawning, Revolution Music Theme underway….. | 47whitebuffalo's Blog

    • I am really loving the collaboration with her. It gives us something to do together that is possible in spite of the distance. I’m having a great time with it, and I think she is, too. I base this assumption on the fact that we barely finish one and she’s asking what the next theme is. 😉

      And Eva, I laughed so hard when I read about all the broken nutshells! 🙂

  6. Pingback: Music Theme For December 4th – “Set The Controls For The Heart of The Sun” | johnny ojanpera

    • Thanks, Johnny! To be honest, these musical themes are providing some nice mother/daughter time across the miles. And sometimes, with all my deadlines, I realize that without her, I would probably not be able to join in as regularly. So I really appreciate her. 🙂

    • Thanks, it is fun to see how things change so much over time. It’s also an interesting challenge to limit the choices that represent a decade. Thanks for stopping by. I’m glad you enjoyed it. 🙂

  7. Pingback: Catch Some Heat Rays ~ “Set the Controls for the Heart of the Sun” ~~Music Theme | 47whitebuffalo's Blog

  8. Pingback: Musical Theme : “Set the Controls for the Heart of the Sun” | willowdot21

  9. Pingback: Miscellaneous Mondays | Sincerely Kate

Leave a Reply

