February Quilt Update

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERARemember this? Only 6+ years in the making, these were the blocks that I constructed for my daughter’s quilt. A couple of students played around with the arrangement and came up with what you see on the left.

The next step was to sew the rows together. I stacked all the fabric in piles for each row, and began sewing in fits and starts as time allowed. Unfortunately, I wasn’t as good about keeping things organized as the rows were completed. As a result, I ended up having to rearrange things as I went. It got frustrating at times, making sure that fabrics and colors didn’t get too close to matching ones, but finally, I am one row away from having the quilt top pieced. The final row will likely be finished in the next couple of weeks. I miscalculated slightly, and I have to piece 3 more blocks to finish the last row. I’ve cut out the pieces and can now get to work on that.

So, would you like to see what the top looks like when it’s all sewn together? My apologies for not taking time to press it, but there will be future updates with this quilt top as I move toward the quilting and finishing.  🙂

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA.

In other quilting news, I have done some preliminary cutting and piecing on the quilted wall hanging that will be hung at the restaurant/coffee shop around the corner–my first art piece that will actually appear in public! I’m not ready to post pictures yet, but they will be coming soon.

And the latest news: when last night’s dinner guest saw the quilting I was doing, he told me he wanted to commission me to do a piece for the wall in his apartment. I was stunned and tried to say I could just make him something when I had the time. But he was pretty clear that he wanted to pay me for it. So I have my first commissioned quilting project! Best of all, he knows my time is crazy, so it’s totally flexible as to when I do it. And he likes one of the designs I’ve already been playing with. We looked at fabrics and colors, and I have a sense of what he wants. Now, while I finish these other two projects, I can incubate further on his piece.

It feels good to have a ready outlet for the creative expression I find in quilting. At this time last year when I packed it up and put it away, it was the right thing to do. But, luckily that action has served its purpose, and it’s definitely time for quilting to be an ongoing part of my life again. It gives me a real break from all the crazy deadlines. And it’s fun! A little fun in life is a good thing.

*******

Also posted for FanFoFeb. You can find out more here:  http://willowdot21.wordpress.com/2014/02/02/fanfofeb-the-slam/#like-5507

41 comments on “February Quilt Update

    • Thanks, Sue! I am thrilled to have quilting back into my crazy life. And I never expected to be have work from this art that paid me. I am happily stunned. As they say, I’ve come a long way. I have to revisit my post about “Failing at Art.” 🙂

    • Thanks, Beth! I never expected this in a thousand years. I was thrilled when I got the ok to place one of my pieces in a public place, but this is a whole new direction. I admit to being somewhat excited about it. 🙂

    • The funniest part of this project is even though it was 6+ years in the making, that was only the concept part. Not a single cut had been made into fabric until November. I had packed up my quilting and not really done much with it except for my grandson’s quilt a couple of years ago. But in November, I was determined to bring it back, and I joined a quilt along. I never kept up with the entire thing, but the pattern was perfect for what I wanted to do with those fabrics we had been collecting for all that time. And now, I have quilting firmly entrenched in my life. It feels good. Thanks for stopping by. I guess I got a little carried away. 😉

      • I love it. It does feel great when you finally get something finished, particularly for a family member. I have been slowly ploughing thru my sister in laws quilt and it was at least 4 months in the design phase (a long time for me).

      • I struggle a lot with design as well, but I suspect now that I’m working on it more regularly, the process of designing and choosing fabric is becoming more comfortable. At least, that’s what I tell myself. Good luck on the one for your sister-in-law. 🙂

  1. Oh, it so nice when you get close to finally being able to start on the quilting! Do you already have a quilting plan? It can sometimes take me ages to decide on how to quilt it….
    Cool to have someone pay you to quilt. I’ve had people asking me to make them a bag but when I calculated how much it would cost me to make it (materials) and then added a small amount for my time (really a very small amount considering the time it would have taken me to make the kind of bag that was requested) they thought it was too expensive. It sounds like your guest understands the kind of time and effort that it takes to make something from scratch.

    • Hi Emmely,
      I don’t have a quilting plan yet. I’m probably going to put that on hold while I work on my next project. I won’t see my daughter until the summer of 2015, while the wall quilt for the restaurant can be installed as soon as it’s ready. So after I finish the final row of Kate’s quilt, I will set it aside and focus on the wall hanging, and then move to the commissioned piece.

      It’s like most creative things we do. No one really understands how much time and effort it takes. I have similar issues on a regular basis with the textbook project I’m on. But in the case of this commissioned piece, I can work from what I have in stock. And because of that and his willingness to let it happen on my schedule and with my own design, etc., the reality is I would be willing to do it for nothing. But he has a grandmother who has done a lot of quilting, so he DOES understand. And while I won’t take a lot of money for it, I will “get over it” and accept a payment. I think I’ll do a post at some point and get advice from other craft artists. I think it would be a good discussion.

    • You know, it’s kind of funny. I never thought about doing this for money. But I suppose if I can give the illusion of being patient, I can get into selling my work. 🙂 You’re right about the exciting feeling. I’d quilt because I enjoy it, but to get paid for it too, that’s sheer bonus! Thanks for stopping by. 🙂

    • Thanks, Avis! These are the colors my daughter asked for all those years ago. In fact, when I was getting ready to start working on it, I double checked with her to see if she still wanted the same ones. She wants the hottest pink fabric I have for the binding. 🙂

    • Thanks, Aby! I’m happy with the way it turned out. The pattern I was following wouldn’t have been quite this “bright,” but it kind of morphed as I went along. My daughter likes it, so that’s the great thing. I can go back and try a more subdued palette next time. 🙂

  2. It looks beautiful! You actually have inspired me to maybe consider making a quilt. That’s a big deal for me. LOL And congrats on the hanging art and making another…….. 😀
    cate

    • Wow, Cate! That would be awesome! You’ll have to let me know. I’m hoping to get back to the one for the coffee shop in the next couple of weeks. Exceptionally busy at work, but things should ease up a bit in April. Somehow, though, that seems still a long way away. LOL

  3. This is looking beautiful! I love it. You’ve inspired me to dust off some fabric that I cut….oh, about 3 years ago… for a quilt but then hid it away somewhere when life got too busy. Time to resurrect that fabric and actually finish the project. Thanks for sharing!

  4. Great job! I still remember when my mother made a blanket for me. She collected small pieces of fabrics from many tailors surrounding the place where we used to live. That is what we call “Badingkut”. I don’t have any idea where the word came from. Three moths ago, I went to a textile shop to purchase some materials for my son’s wedding dresses and my family costumes, I saw ready machine made one. I think I should go back later to buy some for making blankets.

    Interesting!!! and keep quilting. 😀

    • Thanks for stopping by and for your comment. I bet that blanket your mother made you was amazing. You’ll have to let me know if you go back for more fabric. I get so much enjoyment out of the quilting process. I don’t always have as much time as I’d like, but at least I’ve found a way to get some here and there. 🙂

Leave a Reply

