Sinfully Musical: A Musical Theme based on the Seven Deadly Sins

When my daughter suggested the seven deadly sins as a theme for our musical adventures, I thought it was interesting. And I knew that she would find a song for every one of the damn things–that’s just the way she is. Awesome, thorough, and a little compulsive. If you don’t believe me, check it out at Sincerely Kate.

Well, I have my own issues, so I took a different approach. I decided to focus on one specific sin–that of pride, and apply it to what’s been going on as I try to bring some semblance of calm into my crazy life. OK, calm might be too strong a word, but I have to face it. My life is just too full of things to do, and it’s time to make some changes.

So how does that tie into pride? I think some of my self-enforced busyness comes from a mis-directed sense of pride. The compulsion of my personality type is to be busy, and I do not disappoint. And that’s just the problem. I am driven to appear responsible, to achieve, to shine. And yet, there is often little satisfaction in it.

How much is enough? How do I know when it’s right?

Get it Right (Glee)

*********************

And then there are the times when I act as though what I do is so important, but for whom? It’s really all illusion, as in the song below.

Everything I’ve done, I’ve done for you

I move the stars for no one

Within You (Labyrinth)

 

**************************

So it sometimes gets tangled up in accumulating more and more of the stuff to do, to get the fix I think I need. A little greedy, don’t you think.

Mine Mine Mine (Pocahontas)

***************

After a couple of inner dialogues with a character known as Plate Spinner, it was time to swallow my pride and start shifting my focus.

Inside Out (Eve 6)

****************

There is a long way to go, but I feel like the break-up with the need to accomplish for its own sake, life seems a little more hopeful.

But since you’ve been gone
I can breathe for the first time
I’m so movin on yeah yeah

Since You’ve Been Gone (Kelly Clarkson)

************

As I continue to work on making this shift in my life, I’ve been doing many internal dialogues (see second Plate Spinner dialogue)  to discover what is really important to me, so that I quit wasting my time on the pointless activity. I am enrolled in a course called “Write Your Own Story,” and as I work with these dialogues and figure out who will narrate my story, I realize that I am paying a lot more attention to what’s really going on with me. I feel like I’ve become much more of a friend to myself, and that I have more self-support than ever.

Someone’s Watching Over Me (Hilary Duff)

***************

I may have to work on weeding out some of the other places these deadlies show up in my life, but for now, I’ll focus on the fact that for now, I’ve done enough.  🙂

Thanks to my Collaborator at Sincerely Kate for the above selection of songs to illustrate my foray into exploring the sin of pride. And it’s important to her pride that I give credit where credit is due. Thanks, Kate!

**************

FanFoFeb: http://willowdot21.wordpress.com/2014/02/06/fanfofeb-stress-and-then-madness/

9 comments on “Sinfully Musical: A Musical Theme based on the Seven Deadly Sins

  1. HI Deborah,
    Very thoughtful and mindful post regarding the quest for perspective.
    Eve 6’s Inside Out is a great song–one of my favorites. As a song it works on so many levels.
    “Write Your Own Story” sounds like a very useful course.
    Glee song–got to feel for Lea.
    Hmm, perhaps my spotlight on Carsie Blanton’s music falls into a ‘sin’ category of some sort–but not intentionally. I was thinking it was a ‘sensual Saturday’ post until I discovered it was actually Friday–yeah, I’m not in step with the all things time just yet. LOL.
    Take care with those plates! 🙂

    • Hi Eva,

      I’m all about sensual Friday to go with sensual Saturday, sin or not! haha
      As for the Write Your Own Story course, I’m currently working on several dialogues with my alter-ego. An interesting process. I may eventually post about some of them. 🙂

  2. Pingback: MAYA माया ILLUSION — CRITICALLY CONFUSING CRYPTICS « bearspawprint

  3. Pingback: The Scientist « The Sophomore Slump

Leave a Reply

