Location! Location! Location! AtoZ April Challenge

a-zchallengeI could have titled this post: I LOVE THIS PLACE! But it only had one L and I didn’t want to be subtle about which letter was being featured today. And this wasn’t the post I originally had planned for today. But Luscious Lavender will have to wait until another day. I changed my plan because I noticed an interesting phenomenon in the last few days. Several people I know have been on vacation and school breaks (not where I am), but I’ve heard of the concept.  😉

What I’ve seen in Facebook comments and blog posts is that people would love to go back to the place where they vacationed. They fell in love, they want to move, they see some greener pastures. After I came to the third reference of this type, I realized I wanted to write about it.

Of course, I’m all for finding a place where you belong and can be happy. I have a friend who went on a vacation about 12 years ago, fell in love with the area, and put a plan into motion to relocate to that area. And while no place is perfect 100% of the time, she has discovered that the place is perfect for her, and she wouldn’t go anywhere else.

But in general, I wonder if the places we visit on vacation are appealing simply because they have what we don’t have at home. A sense of space, of options, a change in the routine. It intrigues me because it seems to take us away from the present moment to dreaming about some future location we will never really be able to achieve. Or perhaps never should achieve. For some, it could be running from one unresolved situation to another. I’ve moved enough in my life to know that no matter how beautiful the spot, it can seem dreary at times. On the other hand, places that most people would consider less than ideal can hold the perfect home and situation for a person to flourish.

Wishing to be someplace other than where we are can sap our energy and reserve. I know because now that I’ve made the decision to move back home to the US in the summer of 2015, I sometimes long for it. And I have to stop and remind myself that I don’t want to wish away the present moment. I have another 15-16 months in Taiwan, and I want to make the most of them. Taiwan is lovely, and there is much to see and do. And while I look forward to my return to the US, this is my home now.

I love my apartment. I love the people. I love teaching. So while there are things that frustrate me, I’m focusing on the things I love. And when I get to the US, I don’t want to be reaching back to the past, wishing I had done more here. Or wondering where I’m going to go next. I want to live in the moment, and that includes appreciating the place that I call home at that moment.

What about you? Are you happy where you are? Do you have plans to move? Have you found a place that truly feels like home?

 

10 comments on “Location! Location! Location! AtoZ April Challenge

  1. I really like the city that I am currently living in. It’s not very large and has a lovely old city centre. I can go everywhere on my bike, which is great as I don’t have a driver’s license and am not very keen on buses. It’s only the second city I have lived in. I was born here, moved to another city in a different location in the Netherlands when I was 3 or 4 months old and returned when I went to university. I now have a job here and wouldn’t mind staying for several more years. Whether that will happen depends on my future job after I finish my PhD. If I can’t find anything here I’ll most likely have to move someplace else.

    • Sounds lovely! I like that you can get everywhere on your bike. There is something about being able to move around on your own power, whether that be walking or biking. Are you in a PhD program now? What are you studying? I’d love to know. 🙂

      • I am doing a PhD in virology. I hope to have most of it finished by the end of the year so I have to start thinking about what to do next, which is a bit scary.

  2. I intended my move to San Francisco nearly 40 years ago to be temporary. And it would have been temporary if I hadn’t met and married RC there. It took a full four years before the place felt like home to me. The move to Albuquerque was entirely different. Although there are things I don’t like, the things I do like about it, I LOVE. So I would have to have a darn good reason to relocate.

    The vacation of which you speak was nearly 14 years ago. Can you believe it?

    • It doesn’t seem possible, but given the length of time you’ve been in NM, we can’t argue with the numbers. It’s interesting though the difference in how long it took SF to feel like home, and how it was nearly instant in ABQ! It’s nice to find the place that feels most like home.

  3. I absolutely love where I live and love what is near enough to visit regularly. But I also know I could be happy most anywhere. Anywhere that had electricity, internet, books, children to teach, and ground to walk on.

    • That is so true. It’s like finding a place you’re comfortable with within yourself makes it possible to be at home anywhere. I remember when we moved to Seattle (for ten years) without ever having visited ahead of time. Just got in the car and drove cross country from Michigan to Seattle. Everywhere I’ve ended up, I’ve been able to feel at home. Luckily, when it came to LA, I visited first. That may be the one place on earth I don’t think I could live. But everywhere else I’ve been–oh yeah! 🙂

  4. Hmmm.. not sure I should respond to this one 😉 LOL. I think the point you make about loving where you live is really important. Some people live in one place all their lives and yet there are others who move around. I think that a balance between the two is important but more than that, you have to find everything you can about your surroundings and live in the here and now. I would love to live in some of the places that I have holidayed but I am realistic enough to know that what we see when we are on holiday and the reality are two very different things. A thought provoking post. 🙂

  5. Of course you should respond! In terms of balance about living one place all your lives and moving around, I’m not sure that it’s a choice thing. At least, not in most cases. People who live one place all their lives usually have a strong reason for being there. Or to put it another way, being in one place doesn’t mean that life is stagnant. On the other hand, there was a time in my life where I was moving around a lot more than I wanted to be, but definitely not by choice. I wonder if balance isn’t more (at least in this case) about being comfortable in the space we find ourselves in, even if it’s not where we could necessarily choose to be. You may have just given me the idea for my “n” post. haha

Leave a Reply

