QUITTING AND QUILTING: AtoZAprilChallenge

a-zchallengeI’ve been thinking about the letter Q for a while, and since quilting would seem to be the obvious choice for me, I wanted to do something else. I had a few ideas I was toying with. But then Friday came along and changed everything.

When I wrote this post, it was technically Saturday, but I hadn’t gone to bed yet for Friday. I decided to start this post anyway, since I didn’t want to spend much time at the computer today.. In fact, I decided not to spend much time anywhere near the computer or my apartment or my work. I usually work most of the weekend, but not today. I quit!

I am not going to go into the details, but suffice it to say that yesterday was not one of the better days I’ve had. And while there is a lot to do to make things right and dig out from what has happened, there is something surprising that emerged from all of Friday’s nonsense. I’ve not given myself a break lately, and so this new frustration hit me a bit harder than it might have had I been in better balance. And even if it’s just my lame attempt at explaining why I’m taking a break, so be it. It’s worth an experiment at least. So I’m going to add one more “p” to the list from Friday: PLAY!

So when I got up this morning, I gathered a few quilting patterns, cutting materials, and fabric I’ve been wanting to cut for quilting projects that are currently in limbo. I actually packed them up, along with a picnic lunch, and headed to Jessica’s coffee shop. She let me camp out at one of the tables for the day, where I set up my cutting board and went to work. She had a few projects of her own she was working on between customers. We listened to music as we worked. We talked. We drank coffee. We enjoyed a lunch break half way through. We joyfully admired a large butterfly that found its way into the open front doors of the shop. It spent several minutes with us until it found its way outside again.

No pictures in today’s post, and I’m not going to do any real reporting about today’s progress. But some of it will show up in future posts. But after today, I highly recommend quitting. Sometimes it’s the perfect solution. At least, that’s my story.

_________________________

Have you ever had a time where you just canned the plans and had a play day? How long ago was it? What did you do?  Is it time for another one?

10 comments on “QUITTING AND QUILTING: AtoZAprilChallenge

  1. When you can lose yourself in something, in your case quilting, you might find that by focusing all your energy and thoughts into what you’re doing, you’re giving your sub conscious a chance to work out your worries and in some cases come up with solutions.
    Loving the A to Z Challenge Maggie@expatbrazil.

  2. Hi,
    Visiting from the A-Z and yes, I often end up doing unscheduled things. More fun that way really. Your day sounds heavenly.
    Best wishes,
    Nilanjana.

  3. I’m having a Quitting day today. Instead of fighting a head cold, I’m having it, hibernating in bed. Like you, a weekend kerfuffle left me more hassled than I might otherwise have been. I hope your Quitting day leaves you refreshed and replenished and that your play time becomes a habit.

Leave a Reply

