Change: Prompt for SofCS for May 2

Entrance to BK Bakery (Photo Credit: Deborah Kraklow)

Entrance to BK Bakery (Photo Credit: Deborah Kraklow)

Change, where does that word lead me?

Where does change lead in general? To something different. If no change, things will stay the same. And the same is not good. Not at this time.

I need images. I need focus. I need to change the way I think about lots of things.

Things I want to change, in no particular order.

  •  I want to change my work area to be more inviting and productive.
  • I want to change my work schedule to be more productive.
  • I want to change the details of some of my projects so that they are more streamlined and take less thinking.
  • I want to just sit down and work without having to juggle moving targets.
  • I want to change my hair style.
  • I want to change the way I feel.
  • I want to change the way I spend my free time.
  • I want to change the fact that I work too many hours.
  • I want to change some of my habits.
  • I want to discover what I truly want.
  • I want to change my life so that its focus is on what I really want.
    • I want to redirect the time I spend on things that aren’t really important to me to things that are.
    • I want to spend more time on my blog.
    • I want to spend more time on quilting.

My first step is going to be to change the way I work. So that I can be more effective in less time.

I will also keep working to change the way I think about things so that I avoid defeatist thinking and behavior and continue to move forward.

********************************

This is part of  of SofCS: http://lindaghill.wordpress.com/2014/05/02/the-friday-reminder-and-prompt-for-socs-may-314/

 

If you’d like to join in, here are the rules:

1. Your post must be stream of consciousness writing, meaning no editing, (typos can be fixed) and minimal planning on what you’re going to write.

2. Your post can be as long or as short as you want it to be. One sentence – one thousand words. Fact, fiction, poetry – it doesn’t matter. Just let the words carry you along until you’re ready to stop.

3. There will be a prompt every week. I will post the prompt here on my blog on Friday, along with a reminder for you to join in. The prompt will be one random thing, but it will not be a subject. For instance, I will not say “Write about dogs”; the prompt will be more like, “Make your first sentence a question,” or “Begin with the word ‘The’.”

4. Ping back! It’s important, so that I and other people will come and read your post! The way to ping back, is to just copy and paste the URL of my post somewhere on your post. Then your URL will show up in my comments, for everyone to see. For example, in your post you can copy and paste the following: “This post is part of SoCS: http://lindaghill.wordpress.com/2014/05/02/the-friday-reminder-and-prompt-for-socs-may-314/  ” The most recent pingbacks will be found at the top.

5. Read at least one other person’s blog who has linked back their post. Even better, read everyone’s! If you’re the first person to link back, you can check back later, or go to the previous week, by following my category, “Stream of Consciousness Saturday,” which you’ll find right below the “Like” button on my post.

6. Copy and paste the rules (if you’d like to) in your post. The more people who join in, the more new bloggers you’ll meet and the bigger your community will get!

7. Have fun!

14 comments on “Change: Prompt for SofCS for May 2

  1. A positive attitude is a wonderful first step in the right direction! I have to agree with at least half the things you want for yourself, for me. Making a list is a great idea. 🙂
    Thanks very much for joining in SoCS, Deborah 😀

  2. I think it’s great idea just making a list like that! Best of luck to you on it… I think your positive attitude will carry you through it all 🙂

  3. Coincidentally, I bought a new chair for my study, and I’ve been sorting and organizing there. And, just last night, I cut my hair. It’s lighter and breezier, and lets my waves bounce and do their wild thing with a little structure.

    I love these ideas for change. Definitely, finding more positive thought patterns has shifted my life in remarkable ways over the last few years. =)

    I think I may join in with this hop….intriguing idea, and I love the unedited aspect. A lot of what I’m writing these days is planned. I like that – but I also love just letting my mind out to play where it will…

  4. Ha! As someone who has been making all kinds of changes this really struck home for me –even the prompt, Deborah. I don’t think I want to write about my changes though. 🙂

    By the way, if you do a musical–poetical post about All things Spring, even a short one, please drop a link at my blogcasa. 🙂

  5. I heard the expression “to improve is to change” and I think it’s so true. For things to improve, they first have to change and although change can be difficult it’s the only way things will get better.

    You have some great things to focus on there, I’m with you on the importance of writing space and writing routine. It makes a HUGE difference. We’re moving apartments next month and I’ll hopefully have a little space to put a desk and create my own little writing space, which I’m very exciting about.

    Best of luck with putting all these changes into motion!

  6. I think you want to change too many things. Maybe let one plate fall down, and change one easy thing that will cause some of the other things to fall into place.

    A big portion of the listed changes are going to become moot, in short order, when the texts are all done and you are moving, so just scratch all those off the list and go see a hairdresser 🙂 Please post a photo of your new do 🙂

    • That would be true, Bear, if I were really making a goal of changing all of those things. But I was really just doing a stream of consciousness to see what I could “dream up.” And even though the textbooks will be moot someday, the way I work on them truly does have to change for the sake of my sanity. Changing the way I work gives me an opportunity to do the things I really dream of doing. And funny thing, I still don’t mind fiddling with my hair myself–for now. 😉

      Moving home is contingent on so many things falling into place that the main thing I have to change is how I think about these things and how I manage my time on an everyday basis.

      I have to say these stream of consciousness things have been an interesting way to explore my options. 🙂

      • HAHA! It IS fine and silky. The funny thing is that I’ve taken to cutting my own hair–people here are nervous about cutting foreigners’ hair. I’m mostly happy with the results, but someday, I’d like to go take my chances with a professional again. 😉

Leave a Reply

