Riding Down the Highway: SoCS prompt

Today’s prompt is “Entrance.”

It reminds me of family camping trips, and the entrance and exit ramps to the highway. On our various summer expeditions throughout Michigan (and often into Canada), we covered a fair amount of ground, most of it on I-75. Of course, once we got close to the intended destination, we would leave the interstate, and travel some scenic state highways or county roads until we reached the state park or other intended campground.

While on the interstate, I always imagined taking each and every exit, wondering what wonders existed along those roads that we never visited. I was aware that if we turned off onto one of those roads, it would eliminate the possibility of the other roads further down the interstate, but I still thought about it. Kind of like, well, we could at least take an hour or two and go check it out, and then go to the next one.

On the way home, it happened in reverse. We would drive along whichever road our planned camp-out had taken us. And we would travel along, and I would keep my eyes peeled for the entrance ramp for the interstate, signaling the straight stretch back home. Even so, it wouldn’t keep me from wondering about the exit ramps on THAT side of the interstate.

After I began driving, I found the mystery of entrance and exit ramps weren’t as exciting as I had imagined them. One road lead to another town or city, much like other towns and cities. Sure, each place has its own charm, but there were no truly grand adventures to be had simply by taking an exit into the lush expanses of trees and ribbons of road.

Now when I look at new opportunities, I consider a little more carefully. My imagination might not be quite in synch with what really lies ahead.

 

 

**************

This is a response to the prompt for Stream of Consciousness Saturday at http://lindaghill.wordpress.com/2014/05/09/the-friday-reminder-and-prompt-for-socs-may-1014/

9 comments on “Riding Down the Highway: SoCS prompt

  1. Funny how our imaginations often come up with better scenarios than reality provides us. And yet life is often stranger than fiction. Just goes to show, it’s always worth a little extra exploration. ๐Ÿ™‚
    Thanks for joining in SoCS, Deborah. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. We do have to choose the exits carefully… not enough time to take every exit! I’d love to have six months or a year to travel the entire United States… so much I haven’t seen. (Unfortunately, with kids/jobs, I don’t see this happening anytime soon, haha!)

  3. You’re very welcome. I’m a little behind on my blogging stuff, but that’s a good one. There’s another one I’m thinking about joining: What I’d be telling you if we were having coffee today, or something like that. Hopefully, I’ll get around to that one before long.

Leave a Reply

