Dipping My Toe Back in the Water: SofC Prompt

This week’s prompt will be slightly more of a challenge, should you choose to accept. Your prompt is to include the word read (present tense), read (past tense) or red. The extra challenge? Publish without reading. Just do your best while you write, then make a really squinty face and pluck up the courage to hit that button. If you’re brave enough to do it, make sure you tell us you’re going to at the end of your post.

*****************

When I read the prompt, I wasn’t sure I was going to do it. It just seemed like one more prompt in the list of posts that I thought about writing but didn’t write. Instead, I have been meeting deadlines, finishing current textbook, finishing classes, doing some editing projects, and in general being productive in spite of myself. I did read a bit, particularly some blog posts that came through my reader, particularly if they were about quilts.

I admit it. I’m stuck. In spite of being productive, I have not quilted, I have not blogged, and I certainly have not been doing the things that renew my soul. I actually gave back a book I had borrowed from a student. The semester is ending, and if I haven’t read it in the time I’ve had it next to the bed, I’m not going to suddenly read it now.

I know that thinking about writing or quilting isn’t the same as doing it. But I am hoping to move beyond the thinking in the coming weeks. I’m setting some goals to do just that. I may even join in the goal list prompt at another blog. But for now, I decided that instead of just reading this SofC post, I’d get back to participating. After all, it’s been over a month since I actually wrote a real post. Not for lack of ideas, and not even totally because of lack of time—although the stress of the last few weeks would certainly be a good excuse for not having time.

More than that, I haven’t had the desire. I feel like I’ve lost my voice. No amount of productivity, no amount of blog reading, no amount of thinking about the lack of writing was helping me find my voice again. So here I am, taking this stab at the SofC prompt to at least get something posted on the blog again. Here’s hoping and believing that it will break through the frozen logjam and let me find my voice again.

As per the twist in the prompt, I’m posting without going back to re-read. Fingers crossed.

**********************

If you want to join in:

Here are the rules:

1. Your post must be stream of consciousness writing, meaning no editing, (typos can be fixed) and minimal planning on what you’re going to write.

2. Your post can be as long or as short as you want it to be. One sentence – one thousand words. Fact, fiction, poetry – it doesn’t matter. Just let the words carry you along until you’re ready to stop.

3. There will be a prompt every week. I will post the prompt here on my blog on Friday, along with a reminder for you to join in. The prompt will be one random thing, but it will not be a subject. For instance, I will not say “Write about dogs”; the prompt will be more like, “Make your first sentence a question,” or “Begin with the word ‘The’.”

4. Ping back! It’s important, so that I and other people will come and read your post! The way to ping back, is to just copy and paste the URL of my post somewhere on your post. Then your URL will show up in my comments, for everyone to see. For example, in your post you can copy and paste the following: This post is part of SoCS: http://lindaghill.wordpress.com/2014/06/13/the-friday-reminder-and-prompt-for-socs-june-1414/  The most recent pingbacks will be found at the top.

5. Read at least one other person’s blog who has linked back their post. Even better, read everyone’s! If you’re the first person to link back, you can check back later, or go to the previous week, by following my category, “Stream of Consciousness Saturday,” which you’ll find right below the “Like” button on my post.

6. Copy and paste the rules (if you’d like to) in your post. The more people who join in, the more new bloggers you’ll meet and the bigger your community will get!

7. Have fun!

 

17 comments on “Dipping My Toe Back in the Water: SofC Prompt

  1. I sometimes go days and days reading about, thinking about, before I start. People call it procrastination, but I think it serves two purposes: planning and saving energy. I hope you’re not in a funk and you’ll be busy quilting and writing in no time 🙂

    Well done on the writing without proofing. I read my last post five times, and my typo wasn’t found until HOURS later. Oy. lol

    • I don’t mind a little thinking, but when it turns into weeks or a month, that’s not good. I actually might be in a funk, although if that is/was the case, at least I think I’m coming out of it. I mentioned to my husband last night that I feel like things have lifted in the last few days. So maybe just pushing myself to start on this will help. I actually even selected some fabric for my next project, so there is finally movement. Thanks for stopping by and for your concern. 🙂

  2. I am often very tired in the evening after doing all the things that should get done and it can be a real struggle to get started on the things that I would like to get done. It’s a struggle I usually lose. The few times that I win I am afterwards usually happy that I did (unless I really was too tired and messed up in a major fashion).

    • Hi Emmely! I’ve encountered that “messing up in a major fashion” when I push ahead when I was too tired to concentrate properly. Sometimes, I don’t even wait for the rewarding stuff. 😉 However, now I’m a little more in control. I can handle putting off “shoulds” for the sake of my mental health. It was the inflexibility of all the craziness of the last few weeks that really hijacked my emotional well-being. A new post is coming about my process of recovery. 🙂 Thanks for stopping by. Always nice to “see” you. 🙂

  3. Hey Deborah! I’ve missed seeing your blog in my email! Happy that I was able to create the prompt that got the fire started for you, so to speak. Thanks so much for joining in with the extra challenge. 😀
    I found that as stressful as it was to push the publish button, it made for a quick-to-write post. 🙂

    • Thanks, Linda! It’s been an unusually rough month, but I think things might be settling down finally. I’ve been watching your prompts go by, but finally this one–I thought how tough can it be to write something with read or red in it? 😉
      I owe you an email, too. I’m hoping it will be soon now. 🙂

    • It’s a lot of fun. You never know what the prompt is going to be. I don’t do it every week, but I try to do it as often as I can. It’s helped me get past “stuck” more than once. 🙂

    • Thanks, Willow! But it’s never a matter of fitting you into my schedule. It’s a big hole for me when I am away from my blogging community. I’m really learning that writing for my blog and interacting with other bloggers is a large part of what keeps me going, particularly when my schedule is insane. I just momentarily (if six weeks can be considered a moment) forgot about it. It’s great to be back! 🙂

  4. I have ebbs and flows with my creativity. There’s no point in forcing it when I’m not ready; nothing I create that way ever seems worth the energy spent. But if I wait, I find that, eventually, there’s a surge, and I become hugely productive.

    Often it starts with little things like this. I’m glad you dipped your toe in, and found some fabric, and that you’ve got the sense of a weight lifting. May you enjoy! =D

    • That makes sense. I do know that I sometimes HAVE to push to at least
      get started on something. It doesn’t have to be a major project, but it
      has to be something that moves me in the direction of creating.
      Otherwise, I may never “find” the time. It’s too easy to keep myself
      from creative time by thinking about all the deadlines and projects. So
      I am trying to set up “times” reserved for being creative. The reality
      is that when I really allow time and “respect” the process, things
      usually begin to flow. I hope you are finding some surges along the
      way. 🙂

      • I’m more in a slack tide right now. Lots and lots of ideas swirling around in my mind, but. like an iceberg, most of it is still beneath the surface.

        It’ll break, in the next week or two, and then there will be many, many words….

        I hope your creative times are bringing you much joy!

Leave a Reply

