If We Were Having Coffee: My First Edition

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAThe fun of blog land!

Diana at Part Time Monster introduced me to this feature that starts out, If We Were Having Coffee . . . ., where the idea is to have the kind of conversation you’d have over a cup of coffee or tea. She isn’t the first person to do this. In fact, I did a search and found all kinds of people involved. For example, one of Jamie’s coffee breaks can be found here.

This weekly feature, she is the one who introduced me to the idea. I love the conversational style of it. I love that it encourages the randomness I’m starting to embrace in my blogging. And I love that it’s related to coffee! So here I go!

If we were having coffee . . .

*I’d tell you that I’m nearly half-done with grading for exams. I’m a little disappointed in the quality of the writing on these exams, but at the same time, I understand. I’ve mentioned in other places that I think 18-week semesters are a tad too long. I think students just want to get through the essay writing task and move on to their other exams. I’m crazy to look for great writing in an exam situation. And as I’m always reminding them BEFORE the exam, this is about showing me that you understand the process of writing, not about creating some perfect product–which is impossible in 80 minutes (or ever).  haha

*I’d tell you that I managed to get in four days of walking this week, in spite of the heat and humidity. I like the new coffee shop I’ve found that sets me up for such walks three times a week.

*I’d tell you that I’m struggling with productivity a bit this week. Although when I look at what I’ve accomplished, it’s not that much of a downturn. Maybe I need to stop comparing it to the insane schedule of the last two months. I’m looking into strategies to balance the to-do list with real breathing space.

*I’d tell you that I am enjoying the blog challenge and the randomness of my blogging lately. And that this might actually be one of two posts today. The second post would be the one to make up for not posting on the challenge yesterday. Since I’m already two weeks behind, it might be a good idea to make a little more of an effort.

*I’d tell you that the people I have found in blog land have helped me in my attempt to find my voice. The comments I’ve been getting the last days (since I started posting again) have encouraged me to keep heading in this direction. I’m beginning to think that my life is very random right now. As I use the next year or so to sort things out in preparation for my move back to the US, I may discover a specific focus I want to take on. But for now, I just use the blog to respond to the randomness of life in general.

*I’d tell you that I finally found fabric for the mystery blog challenge (post to follow) and that I’ve cut said fabric into the pieces I need for the first clue. Clue #2 arrives on July 1. In the meantime, I’m organizing my summer quilting dream list. Did I mention that there will be a post to follow at some point?

*********

How about you? What would you like to share if we were having coffee or tea? Share in the comments below, or do your own post.  I’d love to hear from you!

admin-ajax.php

 

 

19 comments on “If We Were Having Coffee: My First Edition

  1. I love this prompt – if we were having coffee or tea. Thanks for sharing it and where you are currently in your writing journey.

    • Thanks for this comment, Ellen! As you may have guessed, I’m a little
      behind on responding to comments (AND on reading your blog posts), but
      I’m getting back to things. Slowly, but surely. Thanks for your comment
      and encouragement. 🙂

  2. Blogging has helped my writing, too. I’ve been a little surprised at how much it’s helped in just a few months. Always nice to read about another writer making progress.

    Very lovely first edition. I’m minding Diana’s blog and found your post from the ping. I’m her brother. I’ll drop her the link to make sure she doesn’t miss it since I approved it. I write these, too. Mine this week is about my wedding day.

    http://wp.me/p44EiJ-vU

    • A belated thanks for this comment. I do follow your blog now and
      comment on occasion. I’ve just been a little behind lately. Trying to
      do some catching up. Right now, this whole blogging thing is my
      salvation. I’m trying to find my way back to an even keel. I am
      continually impressed with the amazing network of people who reach out
      to one another through blogging. I’m so glad to be part of it. 🙂

  3. Deb, I love this! It makes me kind of nostalgic, like I really want to have coffee with you, like you’re an old friend. And, I just plain like the idea of writing down what you would chat about if you were having coffee. One thing that occurred to me though is that the content of what I talk about over coffee would change from person to person. Someday, you and I will have to get together. Somewhere. Oh, and P.S., I don’t drink coffee, so if I do this idea it’ll have to be called If We Were Having a Beer… Or maybe If We Were Out Hiking. I get a lot of catching up done with friends while hiking.

    • Yes, that’s what’s kind of awesome about it. You can kind of choose a different person (topic) each time. It’s always fresh (pun not intended). It largely depends on the background you share with another person. There are different aspects of our personality that you and I would share with each other than we might share with people from other parts of our lives.

      I love the idea of the two of us getting together. And I have the perfect solution. If we were having lunch . . . . You can have a beer, I can have coffee. We’ll find a quaint little place with an interesting menu. 🙂

  4. 🙂 I’m glad you joined in the fun.

    And I feel as though blogging has improved both my writing skills and my writing speed. I’ve learned not to second guess myself nearly as much as I used to, at least not upon first drafting, as there’s time for that later.

    • I’m still working on the speed part. But I think for me, I’m still too scattered. I try working on too many things at the same time. Partly because of the deadlines I have, but I need to change the way I work. I’m going to try to really focus on one piece of writing at a time over the summer while the deadlines are a little more manageable. Wish me luck. 😉

      • Yes, I’m the same way. I try to multitask too often, and it’s not working as well as it did when I was younger—or maybe I’m just more aware now that it’s not as efficient as I once considered it to be. I’m trying to work smarter, not harder these days. 🙂

    • I hope you do, Willow! It’s so much fun to do. It’s easy to imagine having coffee with someone and just let the ideas flow. I look forward to having coffee with you. 🙂

  5. Pingback: If We Were Having Coffee: End of June Edition | Container Chronicles

Leave a Reply

