A Room with a View: The Quilting Edition

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAAs part of the Writing 101 Blogging Challenge, we wrote a post about a place we wanted to be zoomed to. The post was supposed to be called A Room With a View: Day 2 of the Writing 101 Blogging Challenge or something like that. But for the life of me, I can’t get the title to show on the post. Even so, the text is still here if you want to read it.Β  πŸ™‚

While I didn’t do as well on the blogging challenge as I might have hoped, I wanted to write about a quilting challenge that I am doing this summer. It is not too demanding, and the third step was just published today. And I already have the first two steps done, so I’m right where I should be.

When it comes to quilting, I have my fabric stashed (not so neatly) into this storage unit. And most of my sewing is done on a table on the far end of our kitchen. I’ve always wondered what kind of studio I would like to have in an ideal world. Here is Taiwan, having a place for fabric storage and a place to actually sew is enough, especially since I don’t have as much time to quilt as I’d like. I’m trying to change that, but that’s a post for another day (like maybe tomorrow)!

Even when I haven’t had time and space to quilt, I love the spaces where quilting happens and where it’s displayed. Top on that list are quilt shops and the classrooms they manage to tuck into back corners and second floors. After I learn things in these classes, I love going to quilting exhibits to see first-hand people who have mastered the techniques that I am only beginning to learn. and in friends’ homes–Karol’s dining room (over 30 years ago) and Fran’s basement (about ten years ago). For some reason, I seem to be able to move into other people’s space and do just fine.

I’ve seen some wonderful spots for quilting, but I never seem to quite create the ideal spot for myself. Although I’ve tried on several occasions to carve out space for my quilting, this is probably the most successful I’ve been. I have workable space for quilting. When I move back to the States, I may create something different, but for now, I’m going to enjoy this space. It’s really no problem to sew in one room and then head to the fabric stash when it’s time to choose a new palette.

Now it’s time to put in some regular sewing time. Tomorrow, I’ll tell you about what’s up on the quilting agenda.

 

10 comments on “A Room with a View: The Quilting Edition

    • I’ll be posting more about it today, but the organizers have made it so easy to keep up. Step 3 will probably take me under an hour. πŸ˜‰ But yes, I needed to get reconnected to something that renews me. Thanks, Christy! πŸ™‚

    • The picture was just my fabric storage area. The sewing takes place on a table at the end of the kitchen. Fabric cutting happens on the kitchen table or on the counter. I always thought I wanted a dedicated quilting space, but this division of function seems to work well for the time being. πŸ™‚

    • Yeah, it’s interesting to try to work these things out. We just rearranged our space a little. So I have a table for the sewing machine in the bedroom. There is room for the ironing board next to it. Cutting still needs to be shuffled, and the fabric stash is still in another space, but that’s ok. I’m getting some sewing done, which is better than things were for a while. Good luck with your projects. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

