Quilted Postcards: A “fun” project

Yesterday I posted about the quilting challenge I am participating in this summer. The challenge for the Summer Magical Mystery Quilt consists of four clues that arrive on the first of each month–June through September. The clues for June and July have only taken an hour or so each. I suspect the next two clues will take more time, or it would be difficult to complete the quilt top in the time allotted. Still, I’d like to get into more of a quilting habit during the rest of the summer. So I’ve been intending to add something else to my quilting agenda, without having it be too taxing. I had a couple of ideas, but nothing definite.

Then, about a week ago, my daughter (the pen pal extraordinaire at Sincerely Kate) asked me if I would consider making her some quilted postcards. She apparently got the idea that quilted postcards would fit in well with her pen pal ways. Well, she was a little sneakier than that. She sent me this video.

Kate was happy to learn that I was already a member at Craftsy. In her mind, that was a good sign. By the way, if you have never heard of Craftsy, it is a great site with video classes that come with lifetime access. They have all kinds of craft options, including quilting, sewing, knitting, crocheting, jewelry-making, mixed media–and a few others, I’m sure I’m forgetting. They even have a few free classes, like free block-of-the-month classes for quilters. Even though I’ve only used their quilting ones (so far), I have never been disappointed in the quality or the amazing variety of topics and techniques. End of commercial.

Normally, I don’t jump at everything my daughter asks me about, but I had already been intrigued about such a project as you’ll find out in the next paragraph. So when her requires links up with my desire to find manageable quilting projects for the summer, it’s not too difficult to consider her request. So I asked her how many postcards she would want IF I took on such a task. Her response (in our Facebook chat): 900.

From Emmely's Quilted Postcard tutorial

From Emmely’s Quilted Postcard tutorial

A real jokester, that one! Truth be told, she wants about a dozen. That’s doable, especially since it’s a project that I had already considered. Back in October of 2013, Emmely at Infectious Stitches posted a tutorial for fabric postcards. I am always drawn to fabric and multi-media collage, and the fabric postcards appealed to that part of me. But I also know that there is a limit to what I can get involved in (yeah, go ahead and laugh!–you know who you are!), and when it comes to crafts, that means quilting, knitting, and crocheting. End of story.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAEmmely promised in the fabric postcard tutorial to provide another one on quilted postcards, which she did the following month (November). Since I’ve had this idea about quilted postcards since the end of last year, my daughter’s desire to incorporate quilted postcards into her pen pal activities makes it a no brainer.

Postcards can be done in steps. And since I’m already working on a quilt for my daughter (ignore the wrinkles on the left), I have scraps in colors and fabrics she already likes. Since I’ve been wanting to get  back into quilting with something small and not too time-consuming, this seemed a good project to add to the quilting agenda. Fun and not too time-intensive. The fun part is especially important, because Kate will be the first to remind me that these recreational activities are supposed to be FUN and not just one more thing to shoe-horn onto my to-do list.

The plan for Sunday is to complete Step 2 of the Summer Magical Mystery Quilt and explore some initial piecing for some postcard possibilities. Maybe there will be photos!

 

