Ten Things of Thankful: The “Best Wishes, Steve!” Edition

B&W Steve n Dave at Debbies

Two of my favorite guys at one of our favorite hang-outs

Steve has been my colleague since I first came to Taiwan back in 2009. He was friendly and offered a workshop about how to use some of the computer applications that were available to the faculty. We became fast friends.

After staying in the US for the first two years that I was in Taiwan, my husband, Dave joined me here as I began my third year here. It was awesome to have him here, but an unexpected surprise was how well the two of them hit if off. Over these three years, they have become good friends.

So, Steve, thanks for five years of friendship, fun, and all the many ways you helped me over the years. Here are a just a few of the highlights.

1. I’m thankful for the night you took me to the emergency room and stayed with me, even though it was an all night event. You even brought me home again and made sure I had food.

2. I’m thankful for all the trips around town following the emergency room visit to help me find doctors and clinics who would help me with the ongoing care I needed, for translating when I needed help communicating with the staff,  and for making sure I had food.  🙂

3. I’m thankful for the time you encouraged me to get a new apartment and helped me move into said apartment (even though you thought we had two weeks before school started again and we only had one). Who would have thought we could really do it?

4. I’m thankful for your sense of humor that got us through numbers 1, 2, and 3 above.

5. I’m thankful that you befriended my husband when he arrived in Taiwan. It made me so happy to see how much you two enjoyed each other’s company.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA6. I’m thankful for all the Costco runs. I loved going there with the two of you, but even when you and Dave went without me, it is so appreciated that you helped keep us stocked up in the staples that we use in our meals. (Are you noticing that food is one of the running themes here?)

7. I’m thankful for the fun times we had at Ikea, Debbie’s, Bangle’s , and even at the Police Academy when we judged the speech competition together.

8. I’m thankful that you introduced us to those magical nights at the hot springs.

9. I’m thankful for the rides home from school when we could get our teaching schedules to mesh. And for the rides to and from those faculty meetings in Taipei.

10. I’m thankful for you taking the time to answer my questions about soccer football (haha) and the World Cup. I understand a lot better now.

There are many other things I could mention, but just know that I appreciate you and your generosity, thoughtfulness, and friendship. I wish you all the best in whatever the future holds for you, Steve. I’m so glad that our paths crossed during these last five years. I am delighted to have the pleasure and good fortune to know you as a colleague and a friend. We’ll keep in touch. It will be interesting to see in which country we see each other again first.

Sitting on the bench outside of Debbie's restaurant after a great meal.

Sitting on the bench outside of Debbie’s restaurant after a great meal.

 

TenThingsBanner

Thank you to Lizzi at Considerings for setting this blog hop up every week.  If you want to join, go on over to link in and then check out what others are saying about their weeks too!

 

12 comments on “Ten Things of Thankful: The “Best Wishes, Steve!” Edition

  1. What a great friend to have! I can see y’all like the Three Musketeers or something, having a lot of fun 🙂

    • Thanks, Kate! Once I thought of the idea, it was easy to come up with all kinds of interesting incidents to be thankful for. Thanks for stopping by. 🙂

  2. Pingback: An Alternate Route to the Construction Site (Building Rome) | Container Chronicles

Leave a Reply

