TIME TO GET AWAY: Stream of Consciousness Saturday, July 13

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAWhere to begin! The prompt was to take off with either “getting away” or “getting out.” They both have such interesting connotations for me.

I so want to get away from everything. I need a vacation, but I need to focus on the catching up that I’m doing. I need to get out of this funk I’ve been in for a while now.

I need to get out of bunches of deadlines I took on when life looked so much brighter. Sometimes, I see far too many possibilities, and then the hard reality sets in. Of course, it would be nice if I could simply get out of some of the deadlines. If I could go back and renegotiate my involvement. But alas, the things I most want to get out of not that easily set aside. I do have a plan, but I still have to work that plan before I can see my way out.

But it isn’t hopeless. And in the meantime, maybe I can get away for a few days somewhere in the next few weeks. And in the meantime, I’m using coffee breaks to get away. In addition to my morning coffee at home, I get out at least 3-4 times a week for coffee. The walk to the coffee shop gives me some exercise — in both directions. While there, I am able to hyper focus on whatever projects I bring along. The getting away from my computer desk does magic for my productivity.

In spite of this talk of getting away and getting out, I’m also drifting to thoughts of getting into things that refresh me. The purpose of getting out is to build up my passion, my motivation to do the things that are often hampered by the crazy deadlines and ill-considered projects. With a plan to get away from those things, I can get into my writing and my quilting. I know I’ve written about these creative endeavors before, but the fact that they keep returning is something I need to listen to.Β  I need to learn to advocate for my creative voice. And that’s definitely something I want to get into.

 

*********************************

This post is part of SoCS: http://lindaghill.wordpress.com/2014/07/11/the-friday-reminder-and-prompt-for-socs-july-1214/

22 comments on “TIME TO GET AWAY: Stream of Consciousness Saturday, July 13

    • Good point. Although I wasn’t too interested in getting into myself lately. But luckily, that’s coming around. πŸ™‚ Hope you’re doing well!

  1. I’m a big advocate for creative voices myself. It’s my way of getting away. Life can be too busy sometimes, but if you can decompress with coffee (I love the stuff) and a good walk, it helps clear the mind and makes putting things in perspective easier. Nice post I enjoyed it. πŸ™‚

    • Thanks, Hope! I just love the environment at the coffee shop as well. No matter where I’ve lived, I always manage to scout out a coffee shop or two that becomes my “home away from home.” I am feeling a quilting date coming for next weekend. πŸ™‚

  2. I had a business lunch on Friday and at the end, he asked for a coffee – and I quickly added my order to his and it was so refreshing to sit and sip our coffee after the meeting and catch up on other things. I think that I need to do that more often, to spend a few minutes just getting away from the every day and giving my brain a break! πŸ™‚

    • Exactly, and for me, coffee is one of the best ways. When I think of how much my trips to the coffee shop affect me–I get walking in; I get some dedicated, distraction-free work time; and I get a different perspective. Oh, and then there’s the great coffee! πŸ˜‰

      Isn’t it interesting how we have business lunches, as one more way to cram more work into the day. I like how, in your case, the two of you still took the break, even though you “worked” through lunch. πŸ™‚

  3. What a brilliant post and a great response to the prompt. I really hope that you manage to keep on track with getting out of the things you want to get out of and back into the things that you want to. If that makes sense πŸ™‚

    • Yeah, sometimes little mini-vacations is all we can get. Those little get-aways, even if just for an hour or two, sometimes seem to do a lot for my perspective. Best wishes for finding some restorative moments. πŸ™‚

  4. Loved this, especially when you said “the fact that they keep returning is something I need to listen to. I need to learn to advocate for my creative voice.” Well-said — your subconscious does indeed seem to be telling you something. Thought-provoking SOCS post!

    • Well, I sort of have to admit that it’s a rather persistent voice. I’m surprised it hasn’t given up by now to tell you the truth. But I am determined that I am going to find some balance in my life as I head into this last year abroad. And I think this post really helped me hone in on that. Thanks for stopping by. πŸ™‚

  5. That is a really positive attitude: Even though you cannot really get out, you get your get-out. I love that!

    • Thanks! Sometimes, it’s easy to get down about it all, but then I remind myself that there are other ways to get a break. I appreciate your comment and your support. πŸ™‚

  6. Deadlines you took on when life looked brighter – that is a wonderful way to describe what I do so often.

  7. I hope you manage to have more creative get aways soon , and the the coffee get aways are a great idea. I have 10minute walking get aways when I havn’t time for anything else and lose my creative momentum…. they help me loads. I hope your quilting date comes off x

  8. It seems getting away and getting into things can be interrelated. I hope you are able to shed the things you don’t want to do anymore so you have to grow where you want to.

Leave a Reply

