On the Sunny SIDE of the Street: Stream of Consciousness Saturday

Photo credit: nuchylee at freedigitalphotos.net

Photo credit: nuchylee at freedigitalphotos.net

This week, the Friday prompt for Saturday’s Stream of Consciousness post from Linda is “side.” Add a prefix or a suffix or use it as is.

When I first read the prompt, I started a quick mental list: sidecar, side salad, upside, downside, alongside, preside, offside, on the side, right side, wrong side, on someone’s side. But then the song came to me.

I’m usually considered an optimist by most people who know me. Yeah, things get me down. But, give me ten minutes with a problem, and I’ll probably come up with several alternatives that could improve the situation. The other SIDE of that situation is that I can be too optimistic and think that almost anything is possible.

Interestingly, walking to the coffee shop late this afternoon, I didn’t walk on the sunny side of the street. It’s too hot! This is the first summer that I’ve stayed in Taiwan instead of traveling back to the US for a couple months. So the shady side of the street makes a lot more sense. But I do love the sunshine here.

But then all that talk about sides of the streets made me think of another side word: SIDEWALKS. I should actually do a post about sidewalks in Taiwan. Cement and concrete are used on the roads and curbs, but many of the “sidewalks” are made of various kinds of tiles. I actually posted about this a few months back when I fell because of some water I didn’t notice on some of the tiles near my apartment. If you want to hear about that sad story, you can go here.  But in general the sidewalks are quite smooth, although there are sometimes steps to contend with.

But for now, I’m going to SIDESTEP the issues with the enthusiasm that sometimes gets me in trouble and the tile sidewalks that sometimes trip me up. I want to take a moment to do a little venting about one of my pet peeves.

Sometimes, it would be nice if people could be a little more supportive of each other, instead of creating the illusion of needing to TAKE SIDES. I’m a little frustrated by a couple of situations in which I really need a little support, people to be on MY SIDE. It doesn’t require that you be against anyone else. Still, I will persevere on these projects, knowing that I’m doing them for the right reasons even if I don’t get much appreciation for the effort. It’s on of the times when it does help to be optimistic, in order to move beyond the crap and get back to the sunny side of the street.

 

***************************

This post is part of Stream of Consciousness Saturday (SoCS): http://lindaghill.wordpress.com/2014/07/18/the-friday-reminder-and-prompt-for-socs-july-1914/

By Deborah Posted in Taiwan