Building Rome: Week 3

10488068_904644176218804_5335081388678646298_nBuilding Rome is a mini-challenge hosted by Bradley at Green Embers. Participants set weekly goals, then report in the next week, and cheer each other on along the way. You might want to join in the fun.

I posted toward the end of last week because I had been teaching at a English summer camp Monday through Thursday and had no time until that was over. On Friday, I reported on my week 1, and then set some things for my short week (weekend) that was left. So before setting my new goals for the week of July 21, I will report on my weekend task list.

REPORT FOR THE PAST WEEKEND

  1. Use one-hour blocks as needed to complete the following tasks:
  • an editing project – one more section COMPLETED
  • completing another project spreadsheet NOPE, will add to new list
  • preparing for fall classes – just type the notes for one session OK, I didn’t do this, but it wasn’t for lack of trying. It’s just that when intended to work on it, I had the wrong materials with me.  Reschedule for this week.
  • write three emails regarding one of my fall classes and a meeting for next week All three completed!

2.  Walk twice over the weekend. YAY!

3.  Complete Step 2 of the Mystery Quilt Challenge. YES!!! See the note below about this item!! A new RE-discovery about this accountability thing.*

4.  Visit more of my fellow builders. Since it was so late in the game by the time I did this, I visited everyone on the list, read through what they were up to and “liked” all of them, even though I didn’t have time to comment.

 *SPECIAL NOTE: 

I want to point out something that happened to me yesterday having to do with #3 above. I had this Mystery Quilt Challenge on my list for both weeks. When I updated my list on Friday, I put this task on the weekend list (my abbreviated week 2), figuring I could get it done over the weekend. While it’s true, I underestimated how much time it would take (a little more than 2 hours rather than the one hour I originally estimated), it still was manageable. But last night, it was hot, and I had done a lot of other stuff, and I had other things I could do, and blah blah blah. You know what got me going? The fact that I’d have to get on here and say I didn’t do it. Sure, I could do it next week. But that isn’t the point. It’s on my list because quilting is something I want to do for me, and what does it say about me following through on things for me, if I’m not even doing a simple quilting activity that only requires 2 hours?

So if anyone doubts whether this accountability stuff works, here’s one example. I will tell you this. If it were just me, I wouldn’t have any trouble disappointing myself–it would just be one more week I put it off — to my sick way of thinking. But having a group who cares whether or not I do what’s good for me and my goals — it does make a difference. So thanks Bradley, and all those who are on the construction crews. You’re making a difference in my life, and I appreciate all of you!

GOALS FOR THE WEEK of July 21)

1. Complete 18 one-hour blocks. The tasks for those blocks include:

  • editing project (3 sections)
  • writing project (finalize template, begin introductory material)
  • complete a project spreadsheet (PRIORITY)
  • preparing for fall classes — type notes for two lessons
  • Writing 201 — read post, choose piece for revision, and spend at least 2 hours on said revision

2. Maintain walking three times this week (in spite of the heat).

3. Start piecing possible designs for quilted postcards.

4. Visit more of my fellow builders and comment on their posts.

5. Make a plan for my blog.

6. Catch up on my unanswered comments.

Wishing my fellow “countrymen” a good week.

 

12 comments on “Building Rome: Week 3

    • Thanks so much! And thanks for inspiring me to join. This kind of accountability worked for me in the past, so it’s really good to be back at it. I’m learning a lot of interesting things about the way I approach my goals. The blocks are helping, and I’ll keep experimenting with them. Thanks for the encouragement. 🙂

    • You are so right! I’ve also discovered that you can really work quickly when you’re motivated by this accountability stuff. Sometimes, I find a project is much bigger than I originally think it is, but once I get into it, I’m determined to be able to report decent progress, if not completion. This challenge is quite helpful to me. Glad you had a good week as well. 🙂

  1. That is a pretty awesome story about the quilt. Very inspiring! I am at work and now I want to go exercise, vroom vroom! Hope I feel that way when I get home. Going to think about your story to kick my rear in gear. 🙂

    • I hope it helps. I just know for me that it’s always easier to complete the tasks that are things that “others” need or want. I put myself on the back burner too often. I decided I’d rather point that out and fix it myself than have others say, “Hey, have you noticed . . . ?” I really do want to do so some quilting, so I need to actually do it. 🙂 Thanks for keeping this going. I think it’s awesome!

  2. LOL – love the fact that you didn’t want to come on and admit that you didn’t do it, and that was your motivation! I love announcing my attentions because I am more apt to actually get it done than have to announce I didn’t! 🙂

    • You know, Kate, that’s exactly why I finally jumped in with this group. I was part of an email group a few years ago, and it was very motivating for me. I know me well enough to know that I have no problem “disappointing” myself when it comes to what I plan to do, but I am a little more reticent to let others down. I also noticed that I was more likely to check off the work related tasks, than the things I do for myself. That discovery was an additional motivator. Thanks for commenting. 🙂

    • HAHA! I can understand wanting to stay clear. But for me, it was exactly that accountability I was looking for. I’m also learning to be a lot more “reasonable” about the goals I set for a given period of time. This weekly time frame works well for me. I’m surprised that you would steer clear of such an accountability system. You seem rather prolific to me. 🙂

  3. Pingback: BR 30 – Sadness | Green Embers

Leave a Reply

