If We Were Having Coffee: The One That Almost Wasn’t

admin-ajax.phpI haven’t done one of these since the end of June. I almost called this: The July Edition, but I think I do want to get back to doing this on some kind of schedule. So with any luck, there will be one more before the month ends, but no promises. So grab your cup of coffee, tea, or whatever strikes your fancy, and let’s get started.

***************

If we were having coffee,I’d tell you that . . .

. . . today, we finally have our new bedroom air conditioner! It was installed early this afternoon, and it’s already heavenly. I may have to move my computer and sewing machine in there for the duration of the summer. We’ll see.

If we were having coffee,I’d tell you that . . .

. . . I’m frustrated that I haven’t been having coffee with you lately. I would tell you that I have kept hoping I would find some motivation to care about things. I want to feel excited about something. I want to have something to look forward to.  I want to CARE about something, almost anything.

If we were having coffee, I’d tell you that . . .

. . . my blog is about the only activity keeping me connected to people at the moment. It is the only drive I feel, writing something every day, so that I feel that I am accomplishing something in spite of myself. I still get a few other things done, but it is not the whirlwind of productivity I thought I’d be involved in at this point.

If we were having coffee, I’d tell you that . . .

. . . I’ve just been invited to go the Yingge Ceramic Museum tomorrow. You can read the blog post from my first trip there in early 2013. I’d rather keep to myself tomorrow, but I think getting out in the world to do something that others consider fun might be good for me. Afterwards, we’re going to a coffee shop to do some zentangling and hanging out. With any luck, there will be photos.

If we were having coffee, I’d tell you that . . .

. . . things will eventually work themselves out, and I’ll be back to feeling like my normal optimistic self, but for now, I’m going to ride this out and look forward to our next coffee.

Finally, if we were having coffee, I’d tell you that . . .

. . . I really appreciate your willingness to have coffee with me even when I’m not all cheery and full of good news. Your friendship means the world to me.

14 comments on “If We Were Having Coffee: The One That Almost Wasn’t

  1. I am so jealous about the A/C. I would love to have that in my room. I would keep it like a freezer. 🙂

    Looking forward to hearing about your museum trip. 🙂

    I know what you mean by wanting to be excited about anything. I have a hard time getting excited about things anymore, but I still give it a go. Lately though, getting back into this scribbling thing has been fun. Maybe you could try that too? 🙂

    • I like the zentangle because it always looks good, as opposed to my scribbling. haha We also talked about moving my sewing machine into the room that has A/C. Maybe if I can start fiddling with my quilting ideas, things will start coming back. Thanks for your suggestions. I’d let you come and soak up some of our A/C if that were possible. 😉

  2. I hope you’ll feel better soon! Try to do some things just for you. Sewing in a cool room sounds like a good plan. We’re having the warmest week of the year and I must say that working with fabric isn’t really attractive when the room you’re working is very hot.

  3. If we were having coffee, I’d tll you that tomorrow is the eleventh anniversary of our newborns death, and four days after that, it’s my forty-fifth birthday. Like you, I’m riding it out – too many ups and downs in July, for me, to do anything else.

    Like you, I’d love to be just cocooned at home – but it does feel good to work out once a week, and stop for lunch on the way home, and listen to music or my thoughts when I’m the only one last weekend.

    Last weekend, the kids and I went to an unschooling campout in a neighboring state. Being among friends was good – I had a pace to retreat. I swam, I read, I wrote a couple of blogposts and made notes for my current novel-in-progress, I visited, I took pictures…I pleased myself.

    May you enjoy your cool, your ceramics, your Zentangling, and your company. and may the wave ease up, and carry you to brighter days ahead.

    I have a (mostly) weekly feature at my blog called Coffee and Conversation. I really loved your take on it.

    • I really appreciate you sharing your story, and I’m so sorry to hear of your loss and the roller coaster that July can be. It does help being among friends, even when we want to stay cocooned (I love that idea in general, not for the isolation, but for the transformative power). The people I’m meeting today are very dear friends who understand. I am truly grateful for the people in my life, even when I think I want to be alone. I’ll make sure to check out Coffee and Conversation.

      Best wishes to you!

      • July used to be my favorite month. Now, it is and it isn’t, at once. My nerves are closer to the surface, in July, and more sensitive to stimuli…

        Cocooning helps, and it is transformative. Like you, I sometimes gt a bit too wrapped up in it, and then it’s good to have the type of friends who will draw me out gently, with understanding, and then allow me to sink back in again.

        At other times, I seem to need lots of connection and newness.

        I’m glad you have friends who offer what you need, when you need it, and that you are brave enough to accept. =)

  4. Keeping things posted and running on my blog – the Building Rome posts in particular – have played a huge role in keeping me going lately, too. And I love this idea for a post! Would you mind terribly if I borrowed and adapted it for use on my blog now and again?

  5. goodness knows you’ve been there for me when I am not at my most cheerful or optimistic. It happens and that’s what friends (and coffee talk) are for :-).

  6. As we are having coffee I could reach across and hug you and tell you I am so glad you are here having coffee and that you are doing great! One step after another Deborah one step after the other! 🙂 xxxxx

  7. Being cheerful and optimistic can be overrated. (Seriously, I’ve been around people who always seem cheerful and it makes me want to punch them because I’m jealous 🙂 ) At any rate, I hope you find your norm again… and until then, we can just sip in silence, haha!

  8. I enjoyed having coffee with you! Our downstairs a/c unit went out late last summer, thankfully, we have a/c upstairs, where we sleep. I know how much you appreciate having it.

    • We only had the bedroom one, so it was wonderful when it was replaced. Nice to sleep comfortably again. 🙂 As a bonus, we moved my sewing table in there, so I can be comfortable when I sew. 🙂

Leave a Reply

