SUMMER MAGICAL MYSTERY QUILT: UPDATE (Clue 2)

At the beginning of July, I posted about a Summer Mystery Quilt Challenge that I started in June. As I wrote earlier this month,

Step 1 (given on June 1) was all about cutting different widths of strips from these four fabrics. From the fifth fabric, we were to cut thirty-one 6 1/2″ squares. These cuttings were then placed in a series of 4 zipper plastic bags according to the instructions. I’ve seen July’s clue for Step 2, which is to start sewing. And I have until August 1 to get it done. YAY! This is a challenge that I can handle.

mystery quilt fabricThe fabric on the far right is the one from which I cut the thirty-one 6 1/2″ squares. That happened during the CLUE 1 cutting phase (the June clue).  CLUE 2 (the July clue) involved taking 3 1/2″ strips of the fabrics 3rd and 4th from the left (the black an the black print) and sewing them together, cutting them into segments, and reassembling them into another kind of 6 1/2″ block.

I had three 3 1/2″ wide strips of each of those two fabrics. By the time, they were sewn, cut and assembled, I had 18 4-patch blocks.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAMy husband is experimenting with a camera that he inherited from a friend. That and he was using artificial light, so the colors aren’t quite lining up with what you see in the previous picture, but you get an idea of how the four-patch blocks look. While you see four of them here, the quilt that I am making for the Summer Mystery Quilt needs 16 of these blocks. Which means I have two blocks left over that I can use for some kind of fun project with other scraps and leftovers from other projects. As long as I had enough fabric to make a couple extra blocks, why not?

These blocks were completed last Sunday (July 20). I can’t wait for CLUE 3, which is coming Friday, August 1. I’m intrigued about what kind of block I’m going to be constructing next. Then, one more month to go for CLUE 4 (September 1), which will give directions about assembling the quilt top. I’ll be keeping you updated as it continues.

Thanks to Abigail Dolinger at Aby Quilts for providing this quilt-along challenge. The pace is not difficult, so if you are interested, you could manage to catch up with us.

14 comments on “SUMMER MAGICAL MYSTERY QUILT: UPDATE (Clue 2)

    • This was that task that was on my Building Rome list that I finished rather than report I didn’t do it. haha I do like the timeline, that different steps happen at different times. It always feels manageable.

    • Yes, I did. AND I have something to tell you, Emmely. My friend, Steve, is leaving Taiwan, and I was trying to stitch up the back lining for him before he left. The crease at the bottom of the jacket had come undone, and everything was just hanging. I figured out a way to fix it, but it required threading a needle. And as I was getting thread for the needle, I couldn’t help picturing that post you had a few weeks ago about the correct and incorrect length of thread for hand sewing. HAHA! As I was working on it, I thought to myself, “I have to remember to tell Emmely about this.” 🙂

  1. I have never done a mystery quilt. I don’t know why. I guess I like to see the finished product before I start or make up my own. I know lots of quilters have fun making them. Great colors.

    • Thanks! I’d never done one before either. The only other quilt-along I’ve done had pictures, so we knew what we were aspiring to. However, the mystery has been fun. It was a great way for me to do something where I didn’t really need to decide on a pattern. That was done for me. I could just follow instructions. That’s not my usual mode of operating — for ANYTHING! haha — but it did get me sewing again, so it accomplished the goal. And I’ll have a quilt top finished in another few weeks! 🙂

  2. Pingback: When Life Gives You Lemons, Quilt! | Container Chronicles

  3. Pingback: A New Feature: To or Not To Tuesdays | Container Chronicles

Leave a Reply

