Ten Things of Thankful: End of July Edition

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAAnyone who has read more than one or two of my blog posts knows that coffee in one form or another is something I’m always thankful for. There have even been posts about specific coffee places I’ve visited. Since several of the items in my Ten Things of Thankful post this week are related to Pisces Coffee, I’m including a few pictures that my husband took while we were there.

 

  1. I am thankful for Pisces Coffee Shop, especially because it is part of my summer exercise routine AND a place where I can get a coffee reward for completing the exercise routine. WIN! Initially, it was my goal to walk the ten minutes there — with coffee and work tasks during my visit — and then walk the ten minutes home at least three times a week. With such a good system in place, it’s often closer to 5 days a week. Of course, when the semester starts in full swing, I will be going less, but I plan to keep it as part of my fitness/productivity plan. BONUS: During those weeks when we didn’t have air conditioning at home, I was especially thankful that they have air conditioning. It is an excellent place to go and “chill out” while getting some work done. They also have Wi-Fi!
  2. I am thankful for my former students who become friends. This week, Lynn — one of the few lucky students who had me for TWO courses last semester — met me at Pisces on Wednesday. We had a lovely time catching up and learning more about one another. We have both been involved in Summer Camps this year, so we had lots to talk about.
  3. OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAI’m thankful that my current hassles with my leg infection are under control. As a result, I’ve been cleared to return to Curves to resume my regular exercise program for August. I had been going from November of 2013 until the end of April of this year, before the doctors told me to stop. So I’m glad to be able to go back. And yes, we have Curves in Taiwan!Β  πŸ™‚
  4. I am thankful that I not only maintained the weight loss I’ve had since November of 2013, but during July, I lost an additional 3 pounds. This was great, considering that I wasn’t going to CurvesΒ  for the last three months. That was when I had substituted the walking to Pisces, along with continuing to watch what I eat. The goal was to maintain, so when I lost a little more, I was very pleased. I am optimistic that I’ll see a boost in the rate of loss when I resume my Curves schedule. I will keep up the walking as well. The combo should be awesome.
  5. I am thankful that we finally have our new air-conditioner. Our landlord arranged to have it installed last week, and it’s been wonderful to be able to sleep comfortably again.
  6. I am thankful that I still have six weeks left to tackle several major projects on my to-do list before my teaching schedule starts up again.
  7. I am thankful that in spite of my recent lethargy, I’ve been able to maintain daily blog posts for nearly two weeks. I am also thankful for all the people who follow me and who let me know what they’re thinking. The connections I’ve made on WordPress are really helping me feel stronger. Sometimes, when nothing else seems to get me moving, I feel that there are people out there waiting for me to post something. And it works!Β  πŸ™‚
  8. I am thankful that my husband found an ironing board at a consignment shop for half the price of a new one.
  9. I am thankful that we are setting up a different workspace for me. BONUS: I can sew in the air-conditioned bedroom!
  10. I am thankful that I have a whole fresh month ahead of me, a chance to start again. Let’s hear it for August!

Thank you to Lizzi at ConsideringsΒ  for coordinating Ten Things of Thankful. Check it out and join in if you’d like. Β 

TenThingsBanner

And one more photo: Here I am outside of Pisces. I have been successful at avoiding this lovely pastry window MOST of the time.Β  I gave in once when my husband offered to get me a treat (and give the owners some extra business) in exchange for their ongoing kindnesses to me.Β  πŸ™‚

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

20 comments on “Ten Things of Thankful: End of July Edition

    • Thanks, Beth! I’ve discovered that much of my gratitude is centered around coffee. The various coffee shop owners, the friends I meet there, the ideas I have, the work I accomplish. Coffee is often at the enter of things. It’s more than a beverage–it’s become like a way of life for me. haha

    • You are so sweet! This comment warmed my heart! I am thankful that you were a student in my classes so that we had a chance to meet and become friends. πŸ™‚

    • Thanks, Kate! Doing this challenge on a weekly basis really keeps me grounded, in spite of the rough moments. It’s one of those challenges that I’m going to make sure I continue. Thanks for letting me know about its positive effect on you. Another good reason to continue! πŸ™‚

    • Thanks! It’s been a long time coming with the knee replacement and other issues. But this is the longest stretch of “habit” I’ve ever had, and I’m committed to maintaining it.

      The ironing board was installed on Friday. I used it today! It’s awesome. I’m hopeful about doing a little sewing this weekend. πŸ™‚

  1. This a great list! I think finding the “right” place to just get your coffee and hangout is worth so much in so many ways. The money the owners get, the companionship you develop, the community. πŸ™‚ And a treat once in a while is a good thing…a true treat indeed!

    • I’ve been so amazingly blessed in Taiwan with lovely coffee shops at so many turns. I am writing this in a different coffee shop than the one the other day. This coming week, I’m going to a shop where I haven’t done any photos or posts yet. But it’s on my list. πŸ™‚

      On tap right now: iced latte! YUM! πŸ™‚

    • I love doing this challenge regularly. When life seems a bit rougher than I’d like, doing this list regularly keeps me focused on the fact that it’s not ALL crazy. In fact, there are lots of good things going on. You should keep your eye on my next thankfulness list — coming at the end of next week. πŸ™‚

    • Thanks, Christy. I’m using time this summer (amidst my crazy projects) to explore this blogging voice and determine an ongoing direction. It’s been interesting. Thanks for the feedback. It helps! πŸ™‚ (I’m having an iced latte as I write this! mmmmmmmmmmmmmmm) haha!

  2. Hi Deborah, great post! I’ve no idea how is the coffee in Taiwan, but seems good so enjoy it. Congrats on the weight lost, I’m trying and I know it’s not easy.

    • Thanks, Elizabeth! It’s been a long struggle, but I finally seem to be making steady progress. As for the coffee, it’s like anywhere. There are amazing coffee shops, and you learn where not to go. But I have some regulars that have consistent quality. YUM! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

