SCARY CAT: Cartoon Craziness Challenge

cartoon-craziness-challenge-banner

In the course of teaching writing classes, I sometimes draw things on the board to illustrate principles. For example, I draw an iceberg so that students can see how much more of it is submerged below the water line than what is seen from a ship’s deck, for example. When I try to draw a ship on the water line, it’s not always pretty. But the students get the point that I’m trying to make–at least I hope they do–between the unconscious (System 1)Β  andΒ  the conscious (System 2) processes of the brain. In the course of drawing this iceberg scenario for them, my explanations are often accompanied by lots of smiles and a few laughs from the students. Especially when I deliver my last line of that particular lecture:

“And this is why I teach writing and not drawing!”

You may wonder why I told you that story. It’s because even though I don’t think I’m very good at drawing, I still put it out there when I have a reason. I am intrigued by this challenge, but if I get one piece of it that is reasonable, I feel like I need to stop and not risk ruining things. So even though I know the challenge this week is for KIDS (and their pets), I got the pet, so we’re going to call it good.

CAT

NOTE:Β  My stats took a hit last week when I posted my attempt at creating a superhero. Coincidence? πŸ™‚ I think not. So, just for fun, I’m doing a test. If the number of visits goes down when I post this latest masterpiece, I will probably keep my drawings to myself.Β  Luckily (or not), you probably have guessed I’m bluffing. But why take a chance?

Go check out the other entries to this week’s challenge.

Thanks to Mental Mama and Indecisive Eejit for hosting this challenge.

22 comments on “SCARY CAT: Cartoon Craziness Challenge

  1. I think that’s an awesome wee cat! And if your stats took a hit I am doing something wrong, I need to be getting out there to kick a few butts!! lol
    Keep it up – despite what you think, you’re a great drawer!

    • Thanks! I’m still not so sure, and I might have to give it up when classes start back in full swing, but for the next few weeks, I’ll give it a try–as long as the theme isn’t too scary. haha Thanks for the encouragement! πŸ™‚

      • I like playfulness. It keeps me feeling young, and on a similar wavelength as my playful offspring. Not only that, it’s great for the writing, too!

      • This week’s theme is “HAPPINESS.” We can draw about anything that makes us happy. I’m having fun just with THINKING about this theme. Wait until I start drawing! haha

        Maybe you can join! πŸ™‚

      • It sounds so good, but I feel like my plate is already overflowing at the moment. Maybe if I get another thing or two underway, I can play! =)

      • I understand that. I almost gave it up as well, but I’m glad I didn’t. My post for happiness had so much revelation in it. I’m realizing that sometimes I don’t even know what’s in my own best interest. haha But I’m sorting out my activities so I have a good balance — at least, that’s what I’m telling myself at the moment. πŸ˜‰ I hope things clear so you can join in at some point. πŸ™‚

      • I loved your post. And I think this challenge is opening ou up – your energy is very different now. =)

        I will join in, but it might not be for a month or two. Right now, I’ve got some projects to get started, and a LOT of homeschooling administration to do…that should be wrapped up by September 15, I’m always feeling liberated once they’re finished – seems like a perfect time to take up a new creative stretch.

      • Thanks for the comment about my energy being very different. I am so aware of it personally, but I’m delighted to know that it shows through my posts. I’ve been battling a very bad bout of depression for several weeks, and I finally feel like I’m coming out of it. Which totally coincides with this post. I’m so glad it shows! πŸ™‚

      • I am very sensitive to emotional energy. I’m so happy that you’re coming back to a place of peace and are able to enjoy and anticipate future projects. ❀

      • Thanks, I was feeling very sensitive to my lack of emotional energy. Pushing through was a rather unpleasant experience, but it’s nice to be reaching to the other side again. πŸ™‚ Thanks for your support and encouragement. ❀

      • Thanks! Unfortunately, it was short-lived. What a rough week this has been. But I’m trying to push forward. Hopefully, things will improve. I keep putting one foot in front of the other and hope for the best. πŸ™‚

      • Hoping this week is better, or at least has some better moments to hang onto. Sometimes, that’s the trick for me; to hold onto all the sweet moments, and look for them, and let the rest go into the past…

    • Isn’t that the truth. I’m trying to make regular time for my quilting for that very reason. In the meantime, blogging seems to be helping, too. Fun is good! πŸ™‚

      • I’m finally realizing that fun, and creativity for me, are essential. The days I’m able to find time to do a little something I really do feel better.

        I’d love to take up quilting, but I’m not allowed anywhere near sewing machines. I have this unfortunate habit of accidentally killing them.

      • You might want to look into doing Zentangle. I love the feeling of patchwork about it. It’s a great way to relax AND have fun, and you can’t really break anything. πŸ˜‰

  2. Pingback: Cartoon Craziness Challenge – Week 5 | The Indecisive Eejit

  3. i think this is like the draft to your writing. you get to explore the possibilities without worrying making mistakes. even mistakes can be cute or interesting, because art is to express, not to reproduce. of course, you can make things look better and more real-like, but things wont be as much interesting if they all look like what they should be in the reality πŸ™‚

    • Thanks, Rena! This is a really great way to look at it. I never thought about drawing quite that way. I mean, I realized that it would be good to take one aspect and practice it again and again until it got comfortable — like drawing human eyes, for example. If I really practiced just eyes for a while, then when I want to do a human face, at least the eyes won’t be so frustrating.

      But you take it a step further, about it being expression, not simply an effort to reproduce. Mistakes aren’t really mistakes, they’re alternative expressions as we move toward finding the way to express it in a way that we like.

      It’s important to participate in the process without so much concern about the product. What an awesome point! πŸ™‚ Thanks!

Leave a Reply

