Another Episode of “Share Your World”

Share Your World – 2014 Week 30

Thanks to Cee for hosting this challenge.

I think it’s kind of cool that this week’s questions are all focused on the number two, because it’s Week #2 for me for participating. But I need to hurry as it’s already Monday of Week 31 in most of the world. But I’m going to type really fast.

List 2 things you have to be happy about.

 1. Even though there are a lot of details to be worked out, I have a better sense of where I’m headed for the next phase of my working life. It’s not what I expected, but I’ve learned that most of my best experiences have come from being open to the unexpected.

2. I am happy to have so many wonderful people in my life–family and friends, on BOTH sides of the water. While I long to be back with my children in the US, I have some “adopted” daughters in Taiwan. And I have friends here who have made my time here a true delight.

List at least 2 things in nature do you find most beautiful.

1. Baby anythings. I love kittens, puppies, bears, birds — well, you get the idea. I love new life.

2. Geological formations of any kind — Grand Canyon, Mt. Rainer, mountains in general, waterfalls.

3. Sunrise, Sunset (with or without the fiddler)

4. Gardens and fields. Color in all its grandeur.

Show us 2 of your favorites photographs. Explain why they are your favorite.   If you are not a photographer (serious or otherwise), think of a two favorite scenes in your life and tell us about them.

newyear's 2010 0021. This first photo is one of my favorites because I generally do not consider myself much of a photographer. This photo shows that sometimes I can just get lucky. It also reminds me of a very special day. It was New Year’s Day 2010. I was spending my first holiday season in Taiwan with a colleague from the university. She and her husband and their four daughters welcomed me into their home, and we had just a delightful time. This photo was taken when we went to the Hsinchu Zoo. I love the colors, the composition, the memories. OK, I love everything about it.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA2. This second photo is from February of 2014, toward the end of our semester break. I have a post to do about this trip in general, but I love this photo of my husband and me. My husband is the photographer in our family, and so I don’t always have lots of pictures of him or of the two of us together. And he is sometimes a little stiff in photos. What I like about this photo is that we both look so relaxed. The other reason it’s a favorite of mine is because he does so much to help me through the rough spots. He is always there for me, even when I’m not sure about me.

List 2 of your best personality traits.

1. I am a creative problem solver. Whenever there is a glitch in a project or in life itself, I am good at looking for alternatives. Sometimes, my perspectives might be a bit odd, but at least, we shake ourselves out of just seeing the problem so we can discover solutions.

2. I am compassionate. People feel comfortable coming to see me when they are struggling with problems–not just because I might go into problem solving mode, but because I always listen first. Many people, including students, are often surprised when they realize they’ve been understood and not just processed through. It’s important that people feel they matter and what they think and feel is worth consideration.

 

Check out what other participants are sharing.

http://ceenphotography.com/2014/07/28/share-your-world-2014-week-30/

Now, I need to post this before the new questions hit the wire!  🙂

 

6 comments on “Another Episode of “Share Your World”

Leave a Reply

