Where Did I Put That Map of Rome?

Image courtesy of 89studio / FreeDigitalPhotos.net

Image courtesy of 89studio / FreeDigitalPhotos.net

Building Rome is a mini-challenge hosted by Bradley at Green Embers. Participants set weekly goals, then report in the next week, and cheer each other on along the way. You might want to join in the fun.

As I mentioned last week, I’ve come up with a general format for these reports: (1) Report my progress for the previous week; (2) Provide commentary that explains shifts in progress and understanding and future goals–with the hope it doesn’t bore you to tears; and 3) the goals for the upcoming week. Preparing these posts really gets me focused for the time ahead.

Check out my idea in the COMMENTARY section for a challenge to clear out clutter, and let me know if you might be interested.

REPORT FOR THE PAST WEEKEND

1. Complete 18 12 one-hour blocks. The tasks for those blocks include: (12 one-hour blocks was much more workable)

  • editing project (3 sections) – 2 sections completed
  • writing project (finalize template, begin introductory material) template nearly complete
  • complete a project spreadsheet (PRIORITY) — list completed, incorporate with scheduling for yearly list below (next week)
  • write an abstract draft and other preliminary materials for new research project – exceeded — not only drafted, but revised and submitted
  • make a rough schedule for the coming year — determine which projects are really the priority in order to set appropriate course for return to US — the basic list is completed, scheduling for this week

2. Maintain walking three times this week (in spite of the heat). (I kicked butt here again. I’m leaving it on the list for next week though because I’m adding Curves back to my goals, and want to maintain the walking along with the additional exercise.)

3. Start piecing possible designs for quilted postcards.  — gathered scraps from the scrap bag, pressed them to begin possible sewing

4. Visit more of my fellow builders and comment on their posts.  I felt like this was totally on track this week.  🙂

5. Make a plan for my blog. have done a lot of thinking about this. I’ll be posting about it soon to get feedback from others

6. Catch up on my unanswered comments. –significant progress

ADDITIONAL ITEMS COMPLETED:

  • mended a suit coat for a friend
  • continued posting on blog every day
  • started back to Curves

 

THIS WEEK’S COMMENTARY

Bradley has another great theme for this week: This Week’s Theme: Flying Your Colors!

How’s this for a challenge:  Find something this week that will show the world just how awesome you really are, no matter how freaky you think it is! 😀

So, this week I’ve been thinking a lot about stalling out. Yes, I got things done, and I got quite a few things done, but I’m not always getting the most important things done. I’m not even getting the things that are most fun done. I’m getting the things that require the least emotional investment. There are exceptions, but that’s the observation I’ve made.

But the other part of the observation has to do with clutter. I have too much crap in my life, and it weighs me down in ways I have been denying for too long. So I’m thinking my awesome thing might be to start my own challenge (in a week or two–so I have time to think about it and organize) for a challenge to lighten our loads. If anyone else is out there thinking it’s time to sort through all the stuff in your life, let me know, and I’ll see what I can come up with. The more the merrier.  🙂

 

GOALS FOR THE WEEK of August 4

1. Complete 12 one-hour blocks. The tasks for those blocks include:

  • editing project (2 sections)
  • writing project (draft first unit; make plan for other units)
  • start a worksheet for new possibilities
  • schedule the tasks from last weeks list to make a rough schedule for the coming year

2. Go to Curves three times during the week.

3. Maintain walking three times a week.

4. Start piecing possible designs for quilted postcards.

5. Continue visiting my fellow builders.

6. Work on idea for decluttering challenge; continue posting daily; write a post about blogging idea.

7. Catch up on my unanswered comments.

 

Good luck to everyone on meeting your goals this week!

****************************

This post is part of the Building Rome Project. http://greenembe.rs/2014/08/04/building-rome-week-32-fly-the-flag-of-freak/

18 comments on “Where Did I Put That Map of Rome?

  1. I like the idea for your “lighten the load” challenge. I’ve been doing a lot of that lately, so I’m not sure how much more I could do, but I think I’d be in for that one.

    • Yes, that is where I got the idea, but that challenge targets huge
      areas every day, not all of them applicable to everyone. I’m going to
      try to come up with a challenge that is more customizable for people.
      Not exactly sure what it will look like yet, but it seems like there
      are a few people interested. 🙂

      • I’m thinking of two “ways of choosing” which category of items one
        would tackle for each part of the challenge. Lots of ideas swimming
        around. 🙂 I’m glad you’re interested. It will be fun AND productive!

  2. Oh de-cluttering… I need to do that too. I am just not quite ready for it, I don’t think. Great idea though! You’re really rocking it up in the goals. Way to keep up the hard work. 😀

  3. I’m definitely interested in a decluttering challenge. Growing kids, naturally learning, generate lots of clutter, and so do their parents!

    I love the energy and observations you’re developing, through your Rome challenge. I’ve been involved with ROW80 for three years, now, and it gives me a similar framework that works for me.

    May you continue to build your Rome! =)

    • I’ve been looking at ROW80 trying to figure it out. It’s intriguing. I love things that get people motivated to do more than they would otherwise. I think the accountability and support are awesome.

      That’s why I started thinking about the de-clutter thing. It makes sense to channel that same type of accountability and support while making our environments more supportive of the things we want to accomplish. 🙂

      I’ll be posting more about the decluttering within the next week or so. 🙂

      • ROW80 uses your own goals, and they can be anything. You post updates once or twice a week, which is great for accountability. I’m also a sponsor there; it’s a great community, and I’ve made some dear friends there.

        I’m excited to see what shape the decluttering challenge will take! =D

      • I want to explore ROW80 more. I think it would be good for some of my specific projects that need detailed planning. That go beyond the general things I feel comfortable listing in Rome. 🙂

        I have a basic plan made for the challenge now. I’m going to work this week on putting the first posts together. 🙂

      • We’re a friendly bunch, and you can jump in anytime, and make your goals as simple or as complex as you like, and change them anytime.

        I’d love to see your face there! =D

  4. Pingback: BR 32 – Me Being Healthy | Green Embers

Leave a Reply

