If We Were Having Coffee: The Clutter Challenge Edition

admin-ajax.phpIf we were having coffee, I would tell you that:

  1. It’s kind of late for coffee, but it doesn’t seem to affect my sleep, and I have a small scoop of vanilla ice cream in it. Maybe that negates the caffeine. πŸ™‚
  2. I didn’t have a very productive day, but I did have a minor breakthrough in a project that’s been giving me trouble. Maybe tomorrow I can move forward on it.
  3. I went back to Curves yesterday, and was very close to resuming the same workout that I did when I left three months ago, so the walking I’ve been doing has really kept me in pretty good shape. My upper body is a little sore, but not as bad as I expected. YAY!
  4. I need to find things that I can look forward to again. I realize that part of the reason it’s hard to get going is that almost everything has the same level of appeal at this time. And that level is real close to zero. So, I need to turn up the excitement.
  5. I made another realization. The level of (non)excitement is probably highly related to the amount of clutter that I keep around me. I almost feel buried alive sometimes. It’s hard to get excited about doing something when there is no place to work comfortably and when the things I might need for something that IS exciting might be difficult to find.
  6. I am thinking about starting a de-cluttering challenge, because I know I’m not alone in this feeling of having too much stuff.
  7. I know that if I keep this de-cluttering project to myself, it will be too easy to let it slide. I also know if I find others to get involved with me, we will all be more successful. Win-win!
  8. Later this week, my daughter and I have plans to Skype. THAT and talking with Mr. Logan is something to look forward to.Β  πŸ™‚
  9. I now have Clue 3 for the Summer Mystery Quilt. That means there will be an update before the end of the month.
  10. I feel much better after having coffee with you, and I always love this time we have together. Even if I’m not feeling so sociable at the beginning, you always have a way of helping me see the possibilities.
36 comments on “If We Were Having Coffee: The Clutter Challenge Edition

  1. I love the idea of the de-cluttering project. Even though I feel pretty good about my spaces right now, I’d be more than happy to help you get this going and spread the word about it. πŸ™‚

  2. I’m with Kim – I want to start adding ice cream to my nightly decaf! πŸ™‚

    And I’m doing a de-clutter this month!! I’m excited about it! I broke it into sections, and each section of the house I attack and then make a note on my sheet – my goal is 500 items by the end of the month πŸ™‚ So good luck to you! I have found I breath easier after each declutter section! Of course, last night one of the spaces was Under the beds. I was so pleased to go “I have nothing under any bed!” πŸ™‚

    • the ice cream is nice. And it’s not like a huge amount, just adds a little sweetness and some creaminess. mmmmmm I need to be careful or I’ll be making another one. Can’t to it TOO often. πŸ˜‰

      Actually, Kate, I plan on linking your post to my challenge when I get going. I have been thinking about tackling this for a while, and on the same day, two different things came in my mail, both with the number 13 figuring prominently, and both having a de-clutter element.

      I realized that my clutter issues are too entrenched to do the kind of division you have on your list, but it was an intriguing idea. So I am adapting it to specific challenges spread out over weeks. I just did a dry run of an idea that I plan to post for the challenge launch once I get going.

      So anyway, you will see a big thank you to you when I get going because you helped FINALLY get me going on this. πŸ˜€

      • Yay! First off, I love to hear when people de-clutter, but I really, really LOVE when people modify to suit their needs! I am a big believer in modification to fit your personal truth!! I’m so excited for you and can’t wait to see how you are doing it!

        I’ve made it through about three sections and have removed about 20 items so far – and discovered that I had some stuff in my medicine cabinet that was 7 years old… and I’ve looked at it before, and I’ve decided to keep it several times, even though it is 7 years old and isn’t effective anymore! This time, I was able to let go of it, and that was an amazing feeling for me!

  3. Yay for going back to curves! I went to my gym yesterday. I am quite sore, lol. Tomorrow is going to be fun when I go again. πŸ˜†

    That is a good point about clutter. Hmmm….

    • I read your gym post. I have yet to comment. Sometimes, I get wrapped up in too much. Hence the idea for the decluttering challenge. I know that once I declutter my surroundings, that my calendar is next. haha

      Yay you for going to the gym! πŸ™‚ I’m headed back to Curves today. πŸ™‚

  4. Oh, I hate clutter! I try to keep the clutter under control (and usually do a decent job of it), but sometimes it sneaks up on me. It seems like I have particular areas that are way harder for me to manage…like paperwork. I think it would be awesome if you did a clutter challenge. I would definitely participate. πŸ˜€

    • Oh good! I’m glad you’d participate. I am working today on a dry run of challenge #1. I think it’s going to be fun and productive for people. I know I’m enjoying putting it together. And yeah, there are particular areas that give me trouble, too. We’ll have fun trying out strategies. πŸ™‚

  5. I missed the luxuriant birthday workout I planned for last Tuesday, because I was still recovering from food poisoning. But I’m having my coffee with you now (it’s 12:20pm here, but I was revising until after 6am, so it’s nominally “morning” to my way of seeing things.)

    I love the revelations you’re having – I sense they’re leading you to something wonderful, and that makes me happy.

    Fall tends to be my nesting time, and this house – it’s in a state of rather unlovely chaos, too much of the time to suit me. And since my husband just told me his dad is considering a cross-country trip to visit us – eep!

    Consider me all in!

    I love sharing coffee with yo, my far-distant friend. =D

  6. I love our coffee time together, so glad we are able to do this! It is so good to hear that you always feel better after coffee with us!! πŸ™‚ I also think the de clutter plan is ace. Big hugs to you Deborah! xxxx

  7. You know, I think I will sit down and have a coffee and think about my de cluttering too. I always promise myself I will get around to it and never do, which means I usually fall out with myself lol
    I don’t mind coffee late at night, it has no effect on my sleep, I am not however sure about the scoop of ice cream in it! πŸ™‚
    Here’s a hug, hoping it cheers you up!

    • Ice cream coffee float is nice once in a while. I wouldn’t do it all the time, because I usually have my coffee without sugar. The main reason I have ice cream is that the stop I was at last night does not have the best coffee, even though their atmosphere is quite nice. So if I get the scoop of ice cream it it, it’s much more enjoyable.

      I’ve started working on a decluttering challenge. I think it will be fun. I hope to launch it here in a couple of weeks. πŸ™‚

  8. I love this post format. It’s nice to exercise and realize one hasn’t lost all the progress that was gained previously. I’m planning to get to work on getting rid of some stuff, too. I need my space!

Leave a Reply

