More Sharing of My World

Thanks to Cee for Hosting Share Your World

Here are the four questions for this week. It’s fun because the questions are always unusual. Consider joining in the fun.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

If you had your own talk show, who would your first three guests be? (guest can be dead, alive, famous or someone you just know)

  • My maternal grandmother.
  • Carly Simon
  • Tom Hanks

What can you always be found with?

Coffee. Right now, I have a thermos of iced coffee next to me as I’m sitting at the computer desk.ย  I mean there are times when I don’t actually have coffee within ten feet of me, but aside from sleeping, it doesn’t happen very often.ย  ๐Ÿ™‚

What is the most fun thing you did in school?

I guess I’ll go with college and say the most fun I had was being a Roberts Fellow. I had a year of extra courses and special activities culminating with a 2-week trip to Asia. That trip was pivotal in ending up with my current position in Taiwan. I learned so many things, met great people, and had lots of fun. To this day, I am still part of the group, an in my position in Taiwan, I meet each year’s new Fellows when they make their trip to Taiwan (and other parts of Asia).

Whatโ€™s something you know you do differently than most people?

I probably grade my writing students differently than most people. I don’t take off points for grammar (because of an cultural overemphasis on being “correct.”ย  Since students try to hard to write without any mistakes, they have no idea how to just create and write something for the sake of expressing themselves. So I give homework points simply for doing homework, without taking off points for grammar mistakes. Students immediately relax, and we can start doing some real writing.

ย 

 

041514 sywbanner

8 comments on “More Sharing of My World

  1. I just realized that when I cut and pasted Cee’s challenge, I missed the first question! Goofy me.

    I love my coffee, but it has mixed feelings for me. Otherwise, it would also be my constant companion.

    • And I realized that I took an assumed meaning with one of the
      questions. It’s funny how that works.

      I think the interesting thing for me about coffee is I don’t actually
      DRINK as much as it sounds like I do. I’m not drinking it constantly,
      but it’s always near. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Can you be my teacher. It was an English teacher that took away a lot of my creativity. I did learn how to get an A in his class, but it took he took so much away from me.

  3. Oh boy. I am irritated all the time that my kids come home with only grades on content. I don’t mean I want teachers nit-picking at comma splices and split infinitives, I just think some of what they let pass is terrible. But I am American, lol, and as you know, we don’t have a culture with an emphasis on being correct, haha. Which is why there are plenty of grown, and even educated Americans who make spelling choices that are atrocious. But you don’t teach wee people, now do you?

    I envy your ability to handle coffee all day and night. Really. And the lot of your coffee pics make me crave one every time!

Leave a Reply

