Wildlife Wednesday (a few hours late)

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAI noticed Wildlife Wednesday a while back, but then I didn’t see it for a while. Today, I found out why. It only happens on the FIRST Wednesday of the month. Not to be one to have to wait another month to join in, I’m going to post this even though it is technically Thursday. I don’t think anyone will mind.Β  Thanks to Tina of My Gardener Says for hosting this event.

When I was thinking about which kind of creature to include, I had this idea about doing little creatures fast and slow. My husband has been taking photos around the neighborhood, and that seemed like a fun way to go. Unfortunately, the fast critter is so speedy that my husband doesn’t have quite so many photos of it. So I’ll just go with a story about a couple of slow critters for this month. I hope you enjoy.

If you took a hint from this photo, you may have guessed that our slow creatures are snails. And you would be correct. This shell–now vacant–was on the ground near the “climbing snails” I am posting below. This one was much easier to photograph than the two living specimens that you will see next.

Let me show you a block of photos and then I’ll explain what you’re seeing.

mosaicIn the top row, the first picture shows one of two snails as it’s climbing a wall. I don’t normally consider my husband wildlife, but he took a photo of his hand to demonstrate the size of these bricks. This is significant because, as you can see from the bottom row, these little guys are up quite a few of those bricks–several hand lengths from the ground.

At the time(s) that these photos were taken (plural because they really are slow creatures, although their progress up this wall was amazing), I was in a classroom teaching a writing class. Once my husband pointed out his current photographic interest, I went over to the window to see them. They weren’t quite at eye level, but they were close. BUT I wasn’t on the first floor! I was in a second floor classroom. These two crazies were a story and a half up from the ground.

WHY?Β  I have no idea!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAMaybe one said to the other, “Race you to the top.” But wow, what a long way to go. And how do they get down? And . . . .

And we eventually had to leave, so the photographic story is incomplete, but they were an interesting pair to keep an eye on for those couple of hours.

Finally, one closer look at one of the pair. I hope he made it home ok.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

 

18 comments on “Wildlife Wednesday (a few hours late)

  1. So one was the tortoise and one was the hare?? Ha! So glad you decided to join in and I love snails. I know most gardeners don’t but I find them beautiful–such a variety of movement and shell configuration. I love the photos and the tracking of the snail race. How do they get down…?

    • Yeah, as I was writing it, I kept wondering, why didn’t I send the husband back when I was teaching my later class that day? I definitely wasn’t thinking. And WHY wasn’t HE curious about it? I’m going to try to find out what’s going on with these crazy snails. πŸ˜‰

    • I guess I’m going to have to do some research. And if I can’t find out the answers that way, we’ll have to periodically return to the scene of the crime and see if it happens again. πŸ˜‰

  2. Wow – who knew they’d climb so high? Great shots – I love the patterned shells – but now I’m sure curious to know why. WHY would they climb up that building? You’ve uncovered a great mystery.

    • I KNOW! I want to know why, too! I also want to know why I didn’t send my husband back from my later class back to the “snail classroom” to get an update. Duh! The mystery may never be solved. πŸ˜‰

  3. Pingback: The Climbing Snails: What Happens Next? | Container Chronicles

  4. Pingback: Wildlife Wednesday: Snail Edition | Container Chronicles

Leave a Reply

