If We Were Having Coffee (August 10)

100_0635If we were having coffee, I’d tell you that:

  • I want to introduce you to one of my friends: Dante! You might remember from Halloween last year. She’s also going to help show you some of the interesting fun I’ve had in the last couple of days. (HINT: look at what is on her shoulders.)
  • I still have lots of work to do, but I just had the urge to play a little bit (starting yesterday evening). Since it had been a long time since I felt that kind of urge, I figured the work could wait.
  • As part of my summer mystery quilt project, I assembled some fabric strip sets. Yesterday, cutting them into segments was on the agenda, but I needed to replace the blade on my rotary cutter. The last time I cut fabric, it was kind of a slog.
  • Having a new blade in my rotary cutter is like discovering a new land. I don’t know why on earth, I waited so long to change it. When I cut fabric yesterday, it was — dare I say it? — F U N ! I now have a slight insight into why I might have not been looking forward to that part of the quilting process. Now, it’s like: Bring me more fabric! I want to cut it!
  • Because cutting fabric was fun, I actually thought about doing some sewing, but I didn’t do the sewing for the mystery quilt, I started sewing together scrap pieces leftover from when I pieced the top for my daughter’s quilt.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

  • So by the time I turned off the sewing machine last night, I had quite a string of these pieces paired up.
  • When Dante got here today, she was amazed at how many of them were sewed together. Since I did chain piecing, they were all in one long strand. So she had the idea of stringing them up across the room.
  • We decided (at first) that we should drape them around the closet doors. You can see the results of our efforts here.

100_0630

  • We thought it would make sense to press them open so you could see the bright colors, but the string was way too long. So we cut them into four sections. I pressed and then cut, and Dante would lay them on the table. After we finished all four, we needed a way to display them. Refer back to the picture at the top of this post.   haha
  • Here’s another photo of my newest quilting process model.

100_0636

  • By this time, we were really having fun! We talked of the possibility of setting a fashion trend. What do you think? Would it catch on?
  • But seriously, here is a picture of them actually arranged on the ironing board.

100_0639

  • The next step will be to sew these sections together and continue playing with the colors and block sizes. With no definite plan in mind, anything is possible. These lovely fabric scraps in various configurations may be appearing in another post in the near future.
  • What have you been doing since we last had coffee?

 

An added bonus: I took a picture of Dante that I was kind of surprised at because the lighting was really strange, but she really liked it, so we thought we’d share it with you.

100_0638

 

  • I hope you enjoyed our time together as much as I have.
  • I can’t wait until our next time.

 

27 comments on “If We Were Having Coffee (August 10)

    • Yeah, we did! It also seems to have been the beginning of a “lightening” effect. Not just her halo picture. But the fact that I’m starting to feel interest in things again, and maybe a slight bit of motivation. 🙂

    • Quilting is something that comes and goes in my life. And it’s at a coming phase–that’s for certain. It would be great if you got involved. Not all quilt projects have to be large or involved. It’s just that some of mine get that way. haha

      Thanks for stopping by! 🙂

  1. That quilt is turning out amazing! I can’t wait to see how it all looks finished. And I’m really glad to hear you had a good time with Dante. Creative projects are sometimes that much more fun for being shared with a friend.

    • Thanks! I’m starting to feel like I have more interest, motivation, and — that elusive one: enjoyment! I think part of what makes the sharing of creative projects fun is the synergy of the creative process. There are things that happen when you share that process with someone that wouldn’t happen if you were alone.

      On the other hand, with my Cartoon Craziness Challenge for Happiness this week, I found that my creative process when I was alone was really sparking, much more so than if someone had been with me. So I think they both have their place. I’m just really glad to be feeling like I might be coming back into myself again.

    • Thanks, Cate! That’s so sweet! I love sharing things with you. I’m enjoying your thoughts about your move and settling in, too. I know there will be more before long. 🙂

    • Yeah, the thing is it’s one of those photos that you just have to enjoy. I have no idea how it happened or how I could recreate it. But we both liked it. I sent it to her on Facebook. 😉

      I did cut apart all the pieces of that chain. I’m going to sew more together. In the back of my mind, I’m considering cutting the pieced sections into new strips and insert them in between strips of solid colors. We’ll see if I can make the fabric fit my vision. 🙂

    • Thanks! I’m having fun with it, and with playing with the leftovers. haha

      Sewing and fabric play is helping bring me out of the darkness. That and the Cartoon Craziness Challenge and blogging in general.

  2. I love this post! Such an interesting way of delivering your world.

    I don’t have the patience for quilting. You’ve done well, though!

    • Thanks, Giorge! I was happy to be able to be a little silly with it. It’s been a rough few months of not feeling like much of anything. So I’m glad other people enjoyed it as well.

      It’s interesting, because I don’t think of quilting as taking that much patience. I do a lot of fudging and shortcuts along the way. I just don’t choose anything to make that requires too much precision. I know some quilters would shudder to read this, but hopefully, no one will report me. 😉

  3. Pingback: Rome is Looking a Little Rosier | Container Chronicles

  4. Pingback: My Not-so-Mad Tea Party | Sincerely Kate

Leave a Reply

