A Taiwan Photo Mystery

Many of you enjoy when I share bits of my cultural experiences of Taiwan. So I thought it might be fun to post a photo of the next cultural element I plan to share. This is a series of photos taken by my husband. Do you know what they are about? If you want to guess, you can do so in the comments below.

ghost mosaicDISCLAIMER: People from Taiwan or who are experienced with Taiwanese culture are not eligible for this contest.Β  πŸ™‚

The story behind these photos will be revealed soon.

Β 

Β 

30 comments on “A Taiwan Photo Mystery

  1. Okay, I am going to guess some kind of bridges? Pedestrian ones. That are used at night as part of a display – the way they are lit up and the fireworks in the background? I am way off the mark aren’t I? πŸ™‚

  2. Looks like something for a celebration. At first I thought they were some type of fireworks but no that is not correct. But I wonder if you use them to set off the fireworks. Looking forward to the answer.

    • You certainly were on track. They are lanterns. Fireworks are part of the celebration, but they are set off separately. It was actually kind of fun to see the guys setting off the fireworks that were set up on the parking lot surface. The advantages of living in the apartment building next to the festivities. πŸ™‚

    • We certainly enjoyed it. There are so many interesting things to see. And it reminds me that when I come back to the States, I need to pay (more) attention to the various festivals and celebrations that are all around me. It’s easy to overlook these things when you’re “home” (unless you’re having visitors). πŸ˜‰

  3. Pingback: Surviving Ghost Month in Taiwan | Container Chronicles

Leave a Reply

