If We Were Having Coffee (August 24)

Thanks to Gene’O for inviting us all over for this lovely gathering. I will be visiting some of my fellow coffee and tea drinkers later on.  🙂

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

If we were having coffee,

  • I’d tell you that I’m excited about the creative discoveries I’m making. I not only finished piecing my current quilting project — a mystery quilt, I also figured out the correct layout for the pieces ahead of the clue that will be released on September 1. It looks great, and since I got word that my solution is correct, I’m going to begin sewing the quilt top. I’ve also been enjoying my drawing practice and Zentangle.
  • I’d tell you that I’m maintaining my exercise schedule–going to the gym and walking, more than ever. The walking is in spite of the fact that the temperature is regularly around 90 degrees (Fahrenheit) with high humidity.  And my efforts are paying off. I’m steadily losing a little weight. I’d be a little happier if those promised endorphins would kick in, but I’ll keep going regardless. I can tell that I’m feeling stronger.
  • I’d tell you that I had an awesome time on Monday, visiting a city in northern Taiwan. The day included an awesome seafood lunch, coffee overlooking water and mountains, a trip to the seafood market, and a walk through the night market. The day promises a couple of blog posts–one with pictures of the things I’ve mentioned, and a second one that covers the other activity we did that day–kite flying!
  • I’d tell you that I’m struggling with what is going to happen with my blog next month. That is when I add full-time teaching back to all the other projects I’ve been working on this summer. I really have enjoyed exploring my voice these last several weeks, but it’s been hard to always fit it in. But realistically, I can’t keep up at that pace unless I get more organized and write several posts in ahead and schedule some of them. So for now, I’m thinking that I will try to post at least 2-3 times a week, and spend some time visiting my fellow bloggers. This environment has been great for me as I’ve tried to find my way through a rough spot this summer, so thanks to everyone who has been part of that great connection.
  • I’d tell you that I’m looking forward to a visit to another part of Taiwan this week, and that you should be looking for more posts and photos.

Have a lovely week!

297 days to 60!

19 comments on “If We Were Having Coffee (August 24)

    • Oh, it’s not about obligations to anyone else. It’s what I’m getting
      from it, and I don’t want to give it up when the schedule picks up. 🙂

  1. I like the photo, it’s really for coffee lovers. The summer is almost done, during this time I had a health diet and did a lot of exercice, I’m feeling healthier. But with the cold days coming back, this means less walking outside, eating more. How is the winter in Taiwan? I want to see the quilt.

    • My husband took that photo at a near-by coffee shop.

      When I lived in a cold climate, I used a treadmill indoors. In Taiwan, though, if you can get through the horrific summers and exercise, it’s actually gets a little easier when the heat and humidity goes down. The biggest “problem” with winters in Taiwan is even though it only gets into the 40’s and occasionally into the 30’s, we don’t have central heat. But we manage. 🙂

      As for the quilt, I will be posting it, but not until after the final clue for the mystery is given. It would ruin it for the other participants. 🙂

      Thanks for stopping by! 🙂

  2. Oh, cool. I can’t wait for those posts on Taiwan. I need to be doing more exercise myself. I have a membership to a nice gym, but haven’t been all summer. Not so concerned about the weight, but I’m over 40 and haven’t lived the healthiest lifestyle. A little voice in my head is telling me I need 20 minutes of cardio three times per week.

    I sympathize with the blogging/teaching schedule. I work in higher ed, and my schedule is much the same. I’ve been scrambling for three weeks to reorganize and make sure my readers have realistic expectations about my blogging output for the fall. I wouldn’t stress out about the blog too much, though. In my experience, people who read blogs are very understanding about work/family schedules and life events.

    As long as you let your peeps know you’re busy, but you’ll be back, I doubt anyone’s going to remove you from their wordpress readers. And when you do get back up to speed, they’ll see you in their readers and say “Hey, haven’t heard from Deborah in a while, let me just go and see how she’s been.” I sometimes follow people by email when they say they’re taking an extended absence, just so I’ll know when they return.

    Have a happy school year!

  3. No twitter button in your footer? 😦

    Unless I’m just missing it, I’d suggest putting one there even if you don’t use Twitter. I’ve got a twitter list with 300 bloggers who actively tweet on it. My sister’s blogger list has almost 800.

    I can tweet the link without the button, though. So I will. 😉

  4. Really like the photo/art…and keep on walking. Good for the spirit and mind as well as the body, and one of these days the endorphins are going to kick in 🙂

    • Oh, I’m sorry if that’s what came across. Not at all. I knew from the start that my attempt to post every day in August was only because I could. I totally planned to cut back. My concern is more about what I get from blogging than about beating myself up. In other words, I wish I didn’t have to cut back because I am getting so much from it personally. But I appreciate your concern. 🙂
      P.S. I’ll be posting my latest quilt top in about a week. 😉

  5. You mean there’s a coffee LINKUP?! I need to know more about that! =)

    Even though neither of our kids have ever attended school, fall is still a bussier tim for me. We happen to live in a state with intensive reporting requirements, and unschoolers learn ALL THE TIME, so our “school year”, reporting-wise, is year round. This is the season where I’m finishing up the reporting for the year just ended, juggling a standardized test for my near-teen, and getting the IHIPs (Individualized Home Instruction Plans) for both kids ready for school district approval.

    And none of it really has anything to do with their learning – because the secret our school system doesn’t seem to get is that kids who aren’t being told what to learn, when, and how, are extremely efficient and truly ravenous learners! I could never plan for all the things they learn; I’d be crippling them to try to force them into a curriculum (I know this because I tried it when my eldest was small).

    I am wading through. By mid-September, I will have all in order, and then I can breathe easier until I need to report again in December…

    I’ll keep my eyes open for your posts, whenever they come. May your new school year be delightful! =D

Leave a Reply

