Returning to Rome

Photo credit: nuchylee at freedigitalphotos.net

Photo credit: nuchylee at freedigitalphotos.net

Apparently when I leave Rome, I make it worth my while. I haven’t posted the last two weeks, so let’s start with a report for August 18, which was the last time I was here. Two weeks ago, things were real quiet in Rome, so I held off. Then last week, I had decided to take a blog break. I may actually post about that elsewhere, but for now it’s time to get back on track.

In spite of the extra time, I didn’t get as much done as I had hoped. That might just be a good indicator that taking two weeks off from posting isn’t necessarily the best plan. Oh wait! I didn’t actually plan it that way. But you get the idea. On the other hand, with three weeks since I made this list, the report is bound to have lots of progress, right?

REPORT FOR WEEK OF AUGUST 18

(and including the weeks of August 25 and September 1)

1. Complete 12 one-hour blocks. The tasks for those blocks include:

  • editing project 1 (2 sections) (I actually finished the first run-through of editing on a major project!)
  • complete 2/3 of new editing project (that was a stupid way to set it up. I don’t know which fraction is done. Maybe 1/2.)
  • 2 sections of a work project (Sort of–I did more than two sections of a work project. Does it count if it’s not the same work project that I intended to do when I wrote this? If it showed up in my to-do pile, and I switched gears to meet a deadline?)Β  πŸ™‚
  • writing two sections of the mapped-out writing projectΒ  (I drafted one section and designed a worksheet)
  • make a basic plan for upcoming webpage (I have something REAL basic, but it’s a start)

2. Meet with J to plan collaborative project (done, and have actually completed a couple of the tasks)

3. Sew blocks for Clue 3 of Summer Mystery Quilt (done, I even sewed about a third of the blocks together to start the quilt top)

4. Continue visiting my fellow builders. (not really. The first week, there didn’t seem to be anyone building.Β  The second week, I was on a break.)

5. Write a post about decluttering; schedule launch.Β  (NO. and it’s really starting to annoy me. But it will be more of a priority soon!)

6. Plan out the next two weeks of the blog. (No, I decided I’m not doing any genuine planning until at least October. Just going with the flow for now.)

7. Catch up on 20 of my unanswered comments.Β  (Just no.)

8. Attend Friday dinner. (A lovely time was had by all.)

HABITS TO MAINTAIN:

  • CURVES – 3 times a week; walking 3 times a week. (one week Curves was only 2 times, but I did extra walking)

 

GOALS FOR WEEK OF SEPTEMBER 8

1. Complete 12 one-hour blocks. The tasks for those blocks include:

  • finish the paper editing project
  • start editing a thesis (if I hear back on it)
  • finalize syllabi and first week lesson plans (Classes start next week.)
  • complete writing Project A
  • submit proposal for upcoming webpage

2. Travel to Taipei to attend faculty meeting Wednesday.

3. Sew some more of the quilt top for the Summer Mystery Quilt

4. VISIT my fellow builders.

5. Write a post about decluttering; schedule launch. (PRIORITY)

6. Catch up on 10 of my unanswered comments. (Decide how important this is.)

7. Complete three 20-minute decluttering blocks.

HABITS TO MAINTAIN:

  • CURVES – 3 times a week; walking 3 times a week.

Good luck to my fellow builders. May this be a good week!

****************************

This post is part of the Building Rome Project:

http://greenembe.rs/2014/09/08/building-rome-week-37-embracing-pain/

17 comments on “Returning to Rome

  1. Great goals and accomplishments, especially since you did take some time off!

    I am outta the Rome challenge for a bit…long story I will have to probably write about soon…but still cheering you and the others on from the sidelines!

    • Yeah, I just love when I put the same thing on my list week after week, and make zero progress week after week. But this week, it’s much more front and center. But yeah, it’s weird how we can have something we really want to do, and we find 647 ways to put it off. πŸ˜‰

    • One more year, and then I should be less busy. Just need to get things done in preparation for my return home. Once I’m back, my job situation is a lot less stressful. I am working to do what I need to do this year and still enjoy the journey. I have lots of great things happening, in spite of the busyness. πŸ™‚

  2. Yay! Welcome back! Now I need to get back on track too! πŸ˜† I went on vacation this weekend so didn’t take the time to write up my post. You are doing awesome, can’t wait to hear about your future successes! πŸ˜€

    • I need to be awesome to meet my goal of going home next summer. I still have lots of building ahead of me. πŸ˜‰

      I read your post about your weekend. Sounds like a great time!

  3. OK, I think I ‘ll join in once ROW80 Round 4 gets going (that gives me time to consider the things I want to build toward, gt to know the challenge parameters, and the like.)…

    When something keeps getting pushed back on my list, it can mean that I’m resisting something about it. I used to not get that, and feel guilty about it – but now I’m learning to get still about it, and pay attention. i can’t always figure out the whole of why I’m stuck, but I can usually find some tiny little way to move forward, in time – and then things ten to get that much clearer.

    Sometimes, it’s not even baby steps; it’s wiggling a toe! =)

    You accomplished a LOT here, Deborah. Kudos! =)

    • Thanks. October is soon, and I’m looking forward to having that bigger plan to help guide me through the craziness. I find that what happens is my to-do lists are more often about fires and deadlines, rather than about dreams and passion. That’s what I’m hoping to get back in touch with in joining ROW. πŸ™‚

      • I hope it all comes together, with room to shift as you need it to…and I am absolutely looking forward to seeing you in the ROW80 world. Hope it is just the puzzle piece you’ve been needing!

    • Thanks, Christy! Although some days I feel like I’m giving the illusion of organizing my days. haha But I appreciate your support. I’m planning a massive day of productivity today. We’ll see how it goes. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

