To Blog or Not to Blog: The (Late) Trick or Treat Post

It’s been a while since I’ve posted anything on my blog. School started, publication deadlines stepped up, and taking a couple days off from blogging seemed like a reasonable thing to do. Days, turned into weeks, and it’s now been 6 1/2 weeks (45 days) since a post.

I did think about posting on Friday, October 31. Actually, I almost posted this picture on Friday. It’s from last year, but I like it. But thinking about posting it wasn’t the same as posting it. So Halloween came and went without a post from me.

When I first stopped posting, I still read and commented on a few blogs, but it got to be less and less until the last few weeks, when I’ve only read a small handful here and there. I followed two a little more reliably–one because I’m hooked on the story that is evolving on her blog, and the other because I dream of someday doing some quilting again.

But today, I got daring and opened a couple other posts, and what should hit me but this from Not a Punk Rocker. Her post: Ten Reasons I’m Taking On Two Challenges [(1) a blog post each day this month and (2) exploring photography through a photo a day]. Well, the photo thing is pretty much beyond me, but it was interesting that I would run across a daily blogging challenge at a time when I’ve been struggling about taking the plunge.

So I started my own list of ten reasons, with a twist. Five reasons why I should join the challenge to post every day in November and five reasons why I shouldn’t. Before I started writing this post, I asked my husband if he thought it was a bad idea to get back into it. Although he knows I get a lot out of blogging, he thought with everything else going on, such a commitment might lead me to be a bit suicidal. While suicide is nothing to joke about, I did appreciate that he made me laugh.

And now, on to my lists!

 

Reasons for blogging every day in November:

1. It keeps me connected with some interesting people and their writing.

2. It gives me an outlet for some of my thoughts.

3. It builds up a body of writing that doesn’t happen when I’m not blogging.

4. I like it.

5. It helps keep me balanced, i.e., when I’m blogging, I can’t work as much.Ā  šŸ™‚

 

Reasons for not blogging every day in November.

1. I am so far behind, it seems like an indulgence that I can’t afford.

2. It adds another layer of pressure to a life already kind of full of deadlines and stress.

3. There are other things that might have a higher priority in the overall scheme of things.

4. I don’t really need it.

5. I already missed November 1 by the time I found out about the challenge.

 

The Middleground

And then I realized I need to take my own advice. I often tell people that things don’t have to be just black and white–lots of shades in between. So having gone through this process of weighing pros and cons, I realized that I didn’t need to make the list at all. What I really need is to just jump back in with this crazy post–nothing snappy or exciting, just something that gets me back in the water.

If I only write once a week, it’s 4 times a month more than I’m writing now.

So my challenge is to write once or twice a week for November and see how that goes.

I look forward to reconnecting with my blogging friends.

 

197 days to 60!

35 comments on “To Blog or Not to Blog: The (Late) Trick or Treat Post

  1. Hello , hello and welcome back you have really really been missed!! I do admire you for taking on this challenge, remember your own advice and do not over things! xxxxxxxxxxxxxxx ā¤ ā¤

    • No problem, Willow. Life will keep me from overdoing the blog. The other stuff is just work, and as I finish these final projects, they won’t haunt me anymore.

      Thanks for the welcome. I’ve really missed being here. I thought a little time a couple times a week would help give me (and my fellow bloggers) a fix. šŸ™‚

      ā¤ ā¤ ā¤

  2. Good way to approach the challenge. I have been “OFF” from my blog for a couple of months. That includes “OFF” from reading those posts from so many creative thoughtful people. I like being inspired by their creativity, and will consider the challenge of blogging more often.

    • I know what you mean. Even though I can’t spend as much time as I did a few months ago, I have to admit, I’ve really missed it. So just setting up a manageable schedule lets me half the best of both worlds. And I get to reconnect with people. šŸ˜€

  3. Hi Deborah, so good see you back, I missed you! I planning to start my guilt project, and maybe I need some advice. I enjoy visiting your blog too. Happy Sunday to you and keep posting!

    • Thanks, Elizabeth! I’m looking forward to finding out more about your quilting project, although I might be able to help with a guilt project. Although I’m trying to get past that kind of time waster. šŸ˜‰

      Thanks for commenting! It’s so great to see you again!

    • Thanks! It was interesting that even though I didn’t have much time to spend on blogging, it became easier to not do ANYTHING with it than to just moderate myself. I guess it’s good that I eventually come up with a different idea. šŸ™‚

  4. Welcome back! I’m sort of in a similar situation, too busy to do much sewing and since I blog about sewing, that’s taking a toll as well (and I’m missing both). I’m sure things will pick up in 2015…

    • I’ve noticed there hasn’t been as much from you, but I do have a few of yours in my inbox for when I get a few moments. I always like checking out your projects. Hope life calms down for you a bit in 2015. I also plan to send you an email in the next few weeks to ask for your opinion on something. šŸ™‚

      • Finishing a PhD turns out to be even more stressful and time consuming than I already suspected… Now you make me curious about that e-mail…

  5. Welcome back, Deb! I have also started a post a day challenge (small one on books I have read) and wonder whether I can actually stick with it. Everything starts with good intentions, but the main thing is to have fun. Blogging need not be a pressure.

    • For me, it’s not the blogging that’s the pressure. It’s all the things that keep me from doing the things I love and WANT to be doing. In the meantime, posting a couple times a week is a good compromise. I’m not going to let the craziness put me into a situation where I’m going six weeks without a post. Twice a week is good right now. I look forward to when I can increase it, but I’m happier now with the reconnect. šŸ™‚

      Good luck with your challenge! šŸ™‚

  6. Good to see a post from you. It can be an overwhelming commitment to post every day. Not only the time, but what to write about. I think once or twice a week is a reasonable goal. Good luck with it šŸ™‚

    • Thanks, Janna! If I had the time to really do it, I have enough ideas to blog daily for a month or two, maybe longer. But realistically, I just can’t afford the time. But I had gone too far the other way, and was viewing it too much as all or nothing. So yeah, the twice a week thing is working out well. People know I’m still kicking AND I seem to be able to keep up with it at this level, in spite of all the other stuff. šŸ™‚

      I have a few things of yours to catch up on now. šŸ™‚

  7. Good luck with it! Like you, life tends to get in the way of regular blogging. I’ll try and join in posting more regularly this November.

    • Yeah, it’s a funny thing about life. And of course, now I’m in a transition year, as I try to finish up everything here, and do things to prepare to be able to move back to the US without undue stress. It’s fun! haha

      Good luck with November posting! I’ll be back to checking out your posts. šŸ™‚

    • Thanks, Kate!

      So far, I’ve never been someone who could plan where it goes. I have lots of ideas, and then we meander around and end up with things I haven’t been expecting. But it’s fun, and I learn so much about myself by blogging. And then there are all the amazing people we can connect with as a result of this community. šŸ™‚

  8. I have been checking your blog to make sure I wasn’t somehow missing your posts. Glad to hear you took a break, glad to hear you came up with a plan for returning.

    • Thanks, Ellen! Interestingly, I never meant for the break to last six weeks. And even as it lengthened, I struggled with how to get back at it without in a way that I could maintain it. I was glad to find a compromise that seems to work. Eventually, I’ll be able to get back more often, but twice a week at least keeps people from wondering if they’re missing posts. šŸ™‚ Thanks for checking in on me. šŸ™‚

      • I was joking around. You wanted to blog every day on November, well there is nothing says it’s can’t just be one letter of the alphabet. So write a post / story and spell it out, one letter a day. You’re writing and you’re doing it every day, but you can plan in advance so giving you free time as well. Win win šŸ™‚

  9. Its keeping up with your connections that’s tricky Deborah I agree and that’s the time consuming bit but its always so rewarding and to see sights I wouldn’t normally see is fabulous. I try to do my best too but at busy times it gets away from you. Hope you’re looking forward to Christmas and that you get a bit of a break.
    Best wishes
    Charlotte

Leave a Reply

