February’s Fast Forward Fridays: My Plan

 

I will admit, there is little that derails me faster than physical clutter. Too much stuff (even if it’s organized) is still too much. I need white space, even though it took me a long time to realize that.

At the same time, when I take on too much (my biggest weakness), the “too-much” stuff seems to take on a life of its own. I get behind on putting things away, and the problem grows and grows until I’m in the situation in which I currently find myself. Hard to start anything because I feel like I’m being buried alive.

So for me, the 28 days of February are going to give me a running start at sorting, decluttering, and getting only necessary things organized. The rest are going bye-bye. This is an important step on my way to our return to the US in July. Going from our lovely apartment to 4-6 suitcases is going to be a challenge. Time to at least sort through my personal mess stuff so that I regain some white space AND have less to do when it comes time to pack.

Remember, the trick isn’t to be perfect in your list-making, but to just plan something for the next 28 days (even if you plan a few break days in, based on your personal preference).

Without further ado, here is my list for February.

  • 1 – Top shelf of closet
  • 2 – Middle shelf
  • 3 – Lower Shelf
  • 4 – First Metal Drawer
  • 5 – Second Metal Drawer
  • 6 – Three wood drawers (Fast Forward Friday – Check IN)
  • 7 – Hanging Clothes
  • 8 – Printer Cabinet (2 shelves)
  • 9 – Printer Cabinet (other 2 shelves)
  • 10 – 2 bookshelves
  • 11 – 2 bookshelves
  • 12 – 2 bookshelves
  • 13 – 2 bookshelves (FRIDAY)
  • 14 – Fabric ❀
  • 15 – Other quilting and craft supplies
  • 16 – black ottoman
  • 17 – sewing table
  • 18 – kitchen table
  • 19 – files
  • 20 – files (FRIDAY)
  • 21 – music shelves
  • 22 – bedside table
  • 23 – ironing board
  • 24 – living room surfaces
  • 25 – catch-up; maintenance
  • 26 – catch-up; maintenance
  • 27 – FRIDAY
  • 28 – CELEBRATION

See you on Friday for our first check-in!Β  Hope you can join us!

 

https://myriad234.wordpress.com/2015/01/31/a-free-form-february-challenge-fast-forward-fridays/

 

22 comments on “February’s Fast Forward Fridays: My Plan

  1. I do this after the holidays each year. Not as slowly, as it doesn’t bother me to do it, but I get how you feel, knowing many more people who get cluttered and overwhelmed. I’m a purger. Always in flux. Gotta keep the good energy πŸ˜€
    The worst bits are always in the girls’ rooms. What they’ve outgrown, what they’re not wearing/playing with anymore. Always somehow TRASH in there too. Ugh. We’re almost done with the whole house, having only the rearrangement of the living room to go. (ie: books and other media)

    • Thankfully, my kid days are past. And I let Dave do what he does. But I want my stuff to be “less” and to be organized enough that I can find what I do have. What’s the point of stuff if it’s inaccessible due to my inability to locate it?

      The nice thing is that with moving half-way around the world, I can use this experience to remind me to keep things to a minimum. I think I’ll like it better that way. Have fun with the books and media–that’s actually my favorite category. πŸ™‚

    • Thanks, Kate! I’ve been having a good time with it. It doesn’t seem so bad, when you give yourself permission to just do one small part of the job. And yet, it’s still getting done. Much better than the alternative.

    • Wouldn’t that be great! We could all choose a challenge that we were willing to do, and we could just read the others to get the benefits of completing all the challenges. πŸ˜‰

  2. I like your challenge idea, and your outline to de-clutter. I’ve been working a bit on that myself (well, mainly as a distraction from my emotional clutter, haha.) This past weekend, I downsized my work desk to a smaller one downstairs. I now need to finish clearing out my huge desk so I can sell it.

    • You could easily make the project of clearing and selling the huge one your February challenge. And if we could figure out a way to deal with emotional clutter, wouldn’t we be in demand? πŸ˜‰ I think we should save it for a month with 31 days though! haha

  3. I like this plan of action, I may just employ it myself. I want to be as “portable” as possible by the time my lease is up in November, if not sooner.

    • I really like it so far. I’m making progress faster than I anticipated. I just accept the fact that each day, I’m doing “just one thing” to get me closer to what I want. It hasn’t seemed onerous at all. To the contrary, it’s building momentum. πŸ™‚ Let me know if you try it. (I also realized that once I get through this. I may do a quick run of fine-tuning. In much less time, of course, since the worst will be done!

    • That was the beauty of not thinking of it until the day before the month started. No time to think–just make a list and go. πŸ™‚ As for sticking to it, I think it all depends on the challenge you choose. Either something near and dear to your heart or your craw! haha My choice fit into the latter category. πŸ˜‰

  4. Pingback: February Fast-Forward Fridays (Update 1) | Container Chronicles

  5. Pingback: are we up for a challenge? | Mental in the Midwest

Leave a Reply

