February Fast-Forward Fridays (Update 1)

Two Cats

The Clutter Cats

On Saturday, January 31, I launched a half-baked free-form challenge for February, and dubbed it Fast-Forward Fridays. I immediately drew up my “free-form” plan involving my desire to eliminate clutter. But I could have chosen any number of things. A current research project. A quilting schedule. A reading list. The possibilities are endless, depending on what is calling out the loudest.

And because this challenge was thrown together so quickly, there is no official banner, so I had included this picture of cats that you see at the left. I am thinking that, in honor of my personal challenge plan for February, I’m going to rename them as The Clutter Cats. I doubt they’ll complain.

As soon as I post this, I’ll be answering some of the comments that have come in, but I was surprised at how many people thought this challenge was overwhelming. To my way of thinking, it was a way of taking a task that has been driving me insane and breaking it into little pieces that seemed much less threatening. For me, that meant sorting through one drawer or a couple of shelves wouldn’t be so bad on a given day if that’s all I had to do.

In terms of the time it takes to make the list, I literally did mine in about ten minutes. More like brainstorming–didn’t over-think it. Just picked a place visually, and started making the list. I started with (February) 1 and went to (February) 27 and just wrote one task on each day without trying to decide which day would be best for any given task.

So I wanted to update you on where I am and see what others are up to, even if it’s just vicariously participating by reading my updates. I’ve had one actual taker that I know of, but I don’t know if anyone else has jumped on this challenge, so we’ll find out. My experience has been interesting. I’ve had no trouble keeping up. As I suspected, if I took the ten or fifteen minutes to get started on the task, I usually finished and went a little further, starting the next day’s task. As of this morning, I am a couple days ahead, and the progress is visible and encouraging.

For me, it’s really become a game. How fast can I really do this? It’s possible that I may lose momentum and not finish, but I have to tell you: when I can SEE the changes each day, it’s a natural motivator to do more. It’s so much better than the frustration that was part of the problem before. So check it out. Here’s most of my list:

List of Daily Tasks (green – on-time completions; purple – early completions)

  • 1 – Top shelf of closet   
  • 2 – Middle shelf
  • 3 – Lower Shelf
  • 4 – First Metal Drawer
  • 5 – Second Metal Drawer
  • 6 – Three wood drawers  (Fast Forward Friday)
  • 7 – Hanging Clothes
  • 8 – Printer Cabinet (2 shelves)
  • 9 – Printer Cabinet (other 2 shelves)
  • 10 – 2 bookshelves
  • 11 – 2 bookshelves
  • 12 – 2 bookshelves
  • 13 – 2 bookshelves  (FRIDAY)
  • 14 – Fabric
  • 15 – Other quilting and craft supplies
  • 16 – black ottoman
  • ——–
  • 26 – catch-up; maintenance
  • 27 – FRIDAY
  • 28 – CELEBRATION

So I’m delighted with the progress so far. After all these weeks and months of being overwhelmed with where to even start when I look around, I now have made real progress. I can open my closet and the shelves are all neat. (I even have two empty drawers!)

As for tomorrow, I have choices.

  1. I can take a day or two off.
  2. I can do the next task on the list.
  3. I can choose something else and poke holes in other parts of of the list.

Stay tuned for my next update to find out which one I did.  🙂

It’s not too late to join in. Choose ANY challenge, big or small, write steps on the days left in February, and give it a go. And feel free to post progress in the comments below or write a post and link it here. We can cheer reach other on.

Happy February!

 

 

13 comments on “February Fast-Forward Fridays (Update 1)

  1. I agree with you in that I’ve found this to be incredibly helpful in breaking what felt like a completely daunting task down into much more manageable pieces. I’m also ahead of where I thought I’d be at this point and I’m absolutely delighted. Thank you for helping to give me the kick in the seat to get this done! *hugs*

    • I’m glad you like the idea for using them at home. I’m finding that I need to use lists in different ways at different times. Keep things interesting, but still focused. 🙂

    • Thanks, Cindy! The kitties aren’t mine, but they were random enough for this challenge. They’re from a cafe in downtown Taipei. I hope to post about their home in the next few weeks.

Leave a Reply

