If We Were Having Coffee: Year of the Goat Edition

year-of-the-goat-with-icons_23-2147502885I missed the gathering last week, but I’m back today to share what’s been going on lately and all the things that are gearing up to keep me busy.

If we were having coffee, I’d tell you:

That the celebration of Chinese New Year is winding down. Each day, a few more businesses are open again and the streets get a bit busier, and by Tuesday, life returns to normal for just about everyone. In the meantime, I’ve been enjoying extra hours at the coffee shop. Tomorrow, Dave and I will go to Taipei to meet friends for lunch.

My new semester begins on Wednesday. Since Chinese New Year fell on almost the last possible day that it COULD fall, we are getting a later than usual going back to school. My new 18 week semester starts on Wednesday.

Two of the Tottori students from the 2013 visit.

Two of the Tottori students from the 2013 visit.

Weeks 2-4 of the semester will be especially exciting and busy. Twenty students from Tottori University in Japan will be visiting our campus for a three-week intensive English program. During that time, I will teach 14 hours of writing each to two groups of ten students from that University. This is in addition to my regular teaching. This is the third year Tottori University has brought students to Ming Chuan University for this program. It’s also the third year that I’ve taught the writing portion. I love the challenge of trying to change students’ attitudes about English writing in the tight time frame.Β 

admin-ajax.phpSpeaking of teaching, it’s a good thing that I like to use PPT (PowerPoint) presentations, because I was informed by the doctor last week that my shoulder is deteriorating, and that writing on the board is not something I should be doing for the next few weeks. So, we’re managing pain and resting it and using heat. So fun. I guess I’ll look for alternative ways I can torture teach students about writing.

Did I mention that I suspected this doctor is likely younger than my oldest son? Not only that, he had the nerve to tell me This degeneration is due to aging! AGING! Who does he think he’s talking to? I finally asked him at our third encounter how old he was, what do you know — I was right on. He’s the same age as my second son. Geez!

I’m in the final stages of preparing my job application for a job in the US for the 2015-16 academic year. For now, think good thoughts and I’ll tell more when I have more information, and maybe an offer.Β  πŸ™‚

This is an interesting birthday time in our family. My two youngest children, were due two years and a day apart. So their birthday are one week and a day apart, and they were both late! So yesterday (Saturday) was my son, Tom’s birthday. Next Sunday (March 1) is Kate’s. She’s the one who usually tries to talk me into doing some kind of Kate-friendly post for her birthday. We’ll see what happens.Β  πŸ™‚

It’s been great having coffee with you and catching up. Wishing you a great week.

Thanks to Diana for hosting our gathering:Β  https://parttimemonster.wordpress.com/2015/02/21/4149/

Β 85 days until 60!
11 comments on “If We Were Having Coffee: Year of the Goat Edition

  1. It is so much fun having coffee with you here in Taiwan the streets are so busy and colourful compared to here. I am grateful that you can fit us in for coffee with all your prep for the next semester and not to mention your move back to the US and all that entails.
    It must be rewarding seeing all your students come on and I admire all the extra work you put in with Japanese contingent. The two in the photo look fun.
    I also agree with you about drs getting younger, why do they always say it is to do with our age or wear and tear? Good job power point can help you rest that shoulder/arm. Take your pain relief and rest it all you can. Happy Birthday to those boys of yours and of course your daughter. Thanks again for the coffee. See you next week if not before. xxx

  2. Good luck on the job hunt, Aging – ha! I love that comment. As if he ain’t gonna “age”. It seems late to be starting a semester. I work with a college class as a volunteer and I can’t wait until the first week of May when it ends.

    • I think when you’re in your 30s, it still seems a long way off. Won’t HE be surprised? πŸ˜‰

      Our semesters always go into June. Here’s the thing. In the US, semesters are 15 weeks long, as God intended. Here, they are 18 weeks, which I find kind of grueling. But we also have a different holiday that frames our semesters. Whereas, the 15 week semester always ends in time for Christmas in the US, we go to school right through Thanksgiving (for some reason, they don’t celebrate that here) πŸ˜‰ and Christmas. And our first semester ends around the middle of January. That’s when WE get our break. Normally, we’d start back a week or so sooner than this, but Chinese New Year fell on the 2nd to latest day (Feb 19) that it can be. So we are pushing to start Week 1 now, even though today (Monday) is still part of the official holiday. As a result, we will finish a week later in June than normal.

      Are you sorry you commented? πŸ˜‰

  3. How fun to “have coffee” with you, too! My goodness, you sound busy. But it’s good … keeps us out of trouble right? πŸ˜‰ I’m also glad to hear that you’re finding a workaround for that pesky shoulder pain (aging? pfffft!). Best wishes to you on your stateside job hunt too β€” and happy new year!

Leave a Reply

