Finding My Way Back Home

Aug 25 grants and stuff 025It may not look like much to you, but I’m thrilled to have half of this wonderful corner room in my parents’ basement. Now I have space for my books, files, and other work-related odds and ends. I also have a desktop (and one of the file drawers in the desk) to call my own.

My parents have been awesome about letting me move back in with them while I get on my feet. I live in the guest room with access to half of the closet and three dresser drawers that were vacated for my arrival. I appreciate these arrangements immensely, but it was clear to my parents and to me that the bedroom wasn’t going to allow me to get much work done. (Although, I did have this cute mini station figured out, where I put a TV tray in front of the chair in the guest room. My lightweight netbook fit very well on it, but it didn’t allow for any materials to be on a surface next to me.)

libraryaugust5 001Luckily, my parents have two tables in the dining room, and we cleared off one of them for me to have a temporary space. During the last few weeks, I worked there in the evenings, but it was an adjustment for both my parents and for me to have me in the living space. After all, they’re accustomed to it being just the two of them. Going to other locations, such as the library (remember this cool place?) or a coffee shop or even a bookstore(!), worked well. It gave us all a break, and I got reacquainted with some of my old haunts. But I’m not always quite as productive as I’d like to be, because of the travel and set-up time. OK and all the amazing things to look at when I’m at the library or bookstore.

A few days ago, when I came home from one of my outings, my parents told me they had a surprise for me. And they took me downstairs to show me the space you see above. My dad had sorted things that were stored in the room and on the desk to make this space for me to work. (My mother and I have been sorting through other areas of the house in preparation for a rummage sale at the church, but that’s a whole other story. Let’s just say, we’ve been quite productive!)

Over the last few days, I’ve been moving my books and work-related things to this basement space. In the meantime, I was still working on my netbook either upstairs or at one of my neighborhood haunts. Yesterday was productive, with major progress on three different writing projects. And today is my first day in my new space. It’s quiet and comfortable, and all of my stuff for my projects is within arm’s reach.

admin-ajax.phpI just had a lunch break with my parents. With a cup of coffee, I’ve just returned to “my office” to work for a couple more hours before heading out with my mother this evening. Since classes (and other work projects that will be discussed in a future post) will limit the time I have to work here, it’s nice to know that I have a place where I can work without reconstructing my workspace each time. Now back to finish my syllabi for next week.

Thanks, Mom and Dad!  🙂

21 comments on “Finding My Way Back Home

  1. Awww, what a beautiful thought. And it looks like a wonderful place to work. It’s somewhere that you can call your own and that’s all that matters. Good luck with your productivity in your new found office! 😊

    • Thanks, Dan! The next report (other than the birth of the grandson-to-be) will likely be about the joys of building a “workable” job situation. With that (and getting me and my husband in the same state), I’ll really feel like I’m home. 🙂

    • Hi Sylvia! I do so enjoy being back with friends and family. It’s a little odd being away from those who were my friends and “family” for the last six years, but we’re trying to keep in touch. I am in the midst of organizing my writing and other creative endeavors in the midst of earning a living, but I think it’s all moving in the right direction.

    • Hi, Aby! My parents have a “system” for my mail, so when I got home, they handed me the shoebox with a couple of special over-sized envelopes on top. Yours was the first one I opened. What a homecoming! 🙂 I haven’t had time to do much sewing yet, but I’ll be reporting on my the efforts of my mother and me to create sewing space. Stay tuned! And thanks for the magazine, I love it! 🙂

  2. Hooray for Mum and Dad sorting you out some extra space, I am glad to hear you are fitting in to life with them. I do feel for you and your husband having to be apart. Love being able to read your blog again. Xxx

    • Thanks, Willow! One of my next reports is about sewing space. 🙂 My husband and I talk every day on the phone, but my trip to visit him in December seems SO far away.

      I’m hoping to keep up with the blog on a limited but regular schedule even as school and other activities move into full swing. Fingers crossed! I’m also trying to get back to checking in on you more often. Best wishes to you!

    • They are really happy to have me back in the US. I’ve been getting involved in projects that are helpful to them, too. So we seem to be doing well together. And I do make it a point to spend a day or two “off site” a couple times a week. 🙂

  3. Negotiating space – this post serves as an excellent case study in how such a thing might happen. You didn’t push or demand but still, they saw your need and provided what they could. Best of luck with whatever the future holds for you, Deborah.

Leave a Reply

