Still Finding the Stillness: Stream of Consciousness Saturday

socs-badge-2015This week, from Linda Hill: Your Friday prompt for Stream of Consciousness Saturday is: “still.”  Use any definition of the word in your post. Have fun!

In my moments of stillness, I still can’t figure out I most want to target among the tasks ahead. They don’t come together in any meaningful way right now. I’m trying to reach a vision of clarity so that the direction that leads there becomes clear, but it’s still frustrating to have so many things up in the air.

In the meantime, I still have other things that bring me a smile and a sense of contentment: my weekly dinner with my friend, Susan; my weekend quilting sessions at my parents’ house, where Jacks quilt is steadily moving forward; cooking meals for my parents; and talking to Dave every night on the phone.

Those phone calls are interesting as Dave and I are still in conversation about which location (Michigan or Iowa) makes the most sense for us. While I like being back in Michigan and being with my family, I have to admit that I am not spending as much time with them as I thought I would — other than my parents. And while I am so happy to have the time with them, they are not as isolated as Dave’s sister sometimes seems to be. It seems like Dave sometimes feels torn between wanting to help his sister and missing the hell out of us being together. So why not join him there and make the most of that location. I think it could work.

Obviously, I’m still a bit tangled up, but we’ll keep the conversation going. As it does, I will continue to sort out what kind of work I really want to do and then find the opportunities that will allow me to do that. In the meantime, the only thing I need to do is to breathe and provide myself with plenty of stillness where the clarity to emerge.

Thanks to Linda Hill for posting. It’s so much fun to do and to see how everyone else uses the prompt as well. Check it out: http://lindaghill.com/2015/10/16/the-friday-reminder-and-prompt-for-socs-oct-1715/

4 comments on “Still Finding the Stillness: Stream of Consciousness Saturday

    • Thanks, Dan! The conversation continues. When I go in December, we are going to “check out” the details of what it would take for me to be able to work and function there. Then we should be able to finalize a plan.

  1. Thanks, Linda! It helps to be flexible and think outside the box. But especially being flexible. Without being blown around in the breeze too much. I think we’re finding the balance. We should know in a couple of months which way we will go.

Leave a Reply

