Eating for Two

thumb_menu_5OK, it’s not what you think. I have no pregnancy news for me (obviously) or for any of my offspring. But I have a story to tell you that involves my husband and my parents.

If you looked at my cool post from Sunday (with lots of pictures of Dave and me during our time in Taiwan), you know that Dave and I celebrated our wedding anniversary from afar — he in Iowa, I in Michigan. We did cool things like text each other, exchange emails, and had our daily phone conversation. I know–so romantic. The above-mentioned post was my surprise “gift” to him, and in that post, I mentioned that he was sending me “coffee shop” money, because he’s just sweet that way. It melted my heart.  ❤

After our first text messages, but before he was online to do email, I went out into the kitchen for more coffee. I ended up joining my parents for breakfast. Now what you DON’T know is that I have been cooking up a storm while I’m at my parents’ house. And since I had a few more days this week than usual, I had quite a wad of recipes I was working my way through. So I asked my parents if they would prefer that day’s entree (chicken pot pie) for a late lunch around 2 or closer to supper time at 5. To me, it seemed a pretty straightforward question, but my parents just looked at each other, and neither answered.

OK, I admit to being puzzled. I don’t remember who actually broke the silence, but I do remember my father saying, “I’m not going to tell her. It’s your idea.” And then she told me that they wanted to take me out for dinner for “my” anniversary. Damn, there was my heart melting again! How sweet is that?  ❤  They said I could choose the place and the time (although my Dad later mentioned that his preference would be to go after the Lions game). Which turned out to be a good choice, since the Lions won their first game of the season, in overtime no less.

So when Dave and I started emailing, I told him about my parents’ lovely gesture. And in part of the exchange, he mentioned that I would be “eating for two” since he couldn’t be there. I laughed, and so did my parents when I told them later what he had said.

NOTE: I’m terrible at taking pictures of food because I always forget. It’s a little embarrassing, considering I have a daughter-in-law with an awesome food blog, but it’s true. In fact, if the truth be known, photography is NOT high on my list of “can-do” things. But when I went to clip-art, I found a “breakfast” looking thing, which works out well for the omelets we all had–Greek for me.

Even though the restaurant (that will remain unnamed) is usually pretty good, we weren’t impressed, but still, it’s the thought that counts. And I was really touched by my parents’ willingness to help me celebrate the anniversary, even if Dave and I couldn’t be together for it. NEXT year, we WILL be together.  🙂

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

5 comments on “Eating for Two

  1. Aw, that’s a sweet story Deborah. It’s so nice to read about all the ways you guys are making the best of this time apart. I did have to stop and think about the title 🙂

    • Thanks, Dan! We are going to shortly start our “countdown.” Dave talks about how it will just be a few days before we can say, “next month.” I’m so looking forward to spending those three weeks together after all these months of separation.

Leave a Reply

