If We Were Having Coffee: The Magical Wedding Edition

weekendcoffeesharebridal partyIf we were having coffee, I’d tell you I’m recovering from my whirlwind trip to Orlando where I had the joy of witnessing my oldest son, Doug, marry the love of his life, Jessica. Even if the reception hadn’t been held at Disney, it was a magical experience. The love and friendship these two share is a privilege to see. I don’t know if it was because it was because Doug is the last of my children to marry or that I was tired from the travel, but I shed so many happy tears,

first danceIf we were having coffee, I’d tell you that I think I figured out what the tears were about. I am so thankful to Jessica and her family for the gift she is to my son. In my 37 years of being a mother to Doug, I have seen him in many happy moments, but nothing compares to the deep joy and happiness I see in him now. He waited a long time to find her, but it was definitely worth the wait. Just seeing the two of them together would make me tear up. Just writing about the two of them together makes me tear up even now.

I’d also tell you that as wonderful as it is to witness the depth of Doug and Jess’sΒ  relationship and the potential it has to deepen over the years, I was able to see another relationship that is beautifully evolving into an amazing treasure. Erik and Mindy have been married just over two years, but I’ve missed much of their time together while I was in Taiwan. I’ve known from talking to Mindy online (and from their photos) that they had a good thing going, but seeing them together for myself made my heart melt.(Doug, Jessica, Erik, and Mindy all live in Florida.)

two benner couplesIf we were having coffee, I’d show you this photo that my daughter, Kate took. Along with Jess and Doug, she managed to captureΒ  Erik and Mindy dancing along side of them, How could I not be thrilled to see these two couples so obviously in love with each other.

I’d tell you that Friday’s wedding put the finishing touch on a miracle that every mother dreams of — to see all of her children married to people who love them. Even though Tom and Kate’s spouses couldn’t be with us in Florida (Gabe is in the middle of the harvest season, and Megan stayed at home with 7-week-old Jack), I feel blessed to have these wonderful individuals as part of our family. I treasure each and every one of them.

I’d tell you that there is more to come about the time I spent with my children. That this was the first time in ten years that we were all together. So until more of those photos come in, I’d like to share some of the fun from the Disney wedding, particularly the part where Mickey came in to join in the fun.

mickey wedding partyBut even more fun!Β  πŸ™‚

Jessica and MickeyIf we were having coffee, I’d tell you that in spite of the fact it was such a whirlwind (I arrived in Orlando just before midnight on Wednesday and departed at 7:30 am on Saturday), it was an enchanted weekend. I got to spend time with all of my children and with each of them individually.Β  Including this special moment with my son.Β  ❀

dance with DougBe forewarned. This isn’t the end of the wedding pictures. Of of the stories that go with them.

with bride and groom reception

Have a good week!

19 comments on “If We Were Having Coffee: The Magical Wedding Edition

    • Thanks, Ellen! It was definitely way too long. It’s funny how it just happens that way. There were a few times when we were able to get three together at the same time, but there was always one missing. Getting them all together was wonderful. πŸ™‚

  1. Aw…what a lovely and heart-warming wedding ❀ it must has been an amazing night, getting together with all of your children and family after all these years. Xoxo J

  2. Pingback: The More Mickey Mouse Monday | Container Chronicles

  3. Sorry I’ve arrived rather late for coffee and thanks for keeping it warm and having Mickey Mouse and all those lovely wedding photos on hand. I love a big family wedding and nothing more than seeing a friend who has taken a bit longer to find the one, walk down the aisle. Yippee!
    xx Rowena

Leave a Reply

