Autumn Fun for Two Grandsons

two grandsonsFor those of you who haven’t been following me long, I have two grandsons, who both live in Michigan. Logan, who is 4 1/2, is the son of my daughter, Kate and her husband, Gabe. Jack is the new kid on the block, who is 8 weeks old. He is the son of my son, Tom and his wife, Megan. In the middle of October, the two of them got to meet for the first time. If you go by their facial expressions, I think it’s safe to say that Logan was a lot more excited about the meeting. It will be fun to see them together as Jack gets older; I’m sure they will have some exciting adventures together.

logan wedding shirtLogan has had some interesting adventures of his own lately. He has been in preschool for several weeks now. He especially likes riding the bus. He’s also had a field trip. Last week, he made use of a special t-shirt. That’s because everyone who attended by Doug and Jessica’s wedding last weekend got a customized t-shirt. Even though Logan was unable to attend the wedding, he was included in the t-shirt order. So when Kate brought Logan’s t-shirt home for him last weekend, Logan was able to put it to good use. It turns out that they were talking about the letter “D” in preschool that very week, so his new t-shirt with D + J on it made the perfect outfit for the day. The story of the t-shirt is pretty great, but I really just like the expression on his face. ā¤

Fall is harvest season, and Logan understands that because his dad is a farmer, his dad works really long hours. Logan is at the age where he also wants to be a farmer when he grows up. He loves playing with his tractors and other farm implements.

logan leavesLogan has also been enjoying the autumn leaves and helping his Aunt Marilyn with the raking and gathering. Or at least he’s been having fun playing in the resulting piles.

As an aside, I’m really enjoying the turning of the leaves, as I’ve been away from the seasons for the six years that I was living in Taiwan. But seeing Logan in the pics below captures some of the moments I’ve been enjoying as I watch the colors of the season. And this picture of Logan captures those colors (and his sweet smile) very nicely.

Jack’s a little newer at this adventure stuff, but hey, he just had his first Halloween. A good holiday for adventure. And what did he dress up as? A “Jack” o-lantern.

Jack o lanternHowever, Jack is not really very happy about the other jack-o-lantern imitations. He hasn’t yet figured out that none of the others can compete with him. But check out this photo! I can’t help smiling every time I see it.

unhappy jack

Fall isn’t over, so I expect a few more grandson adventures to report throughout the next few weeks. I hope you have many good autumn adventures ahead of you.

3 comments on “Autumn Fun for Two Grandsons

  1. Wonderful!
    I’m glad you’re enjoying the autumn after having been away so long. It’s one of my favorite things ever. I was away from my landscape for seven years, and it makes me grateful to be home. Love the coolness and the colors šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

