If We Were Having Coffee: The Beginning of NaBloPoMo Edition

weekendcoffeeshareIf we were having coffee, I’d have to tell you that it’s been a rather unusual week. Mostly good, but very taxing.

I’d also tell you that my post today feels boring, even to me. I feel like I’ve just lost my luster for life and all things interesting. Not that I haven’t been involved in interesting things, but the landscape just seems a little dull at the moment.

I’d tell you that after a few weeks of trying to land a client through an online tutoring system, I ended up with not one, but two. And one of them led to another ongoing gig that wasn’t part of the online system. So I went from doing only my adjunct work to suddenly working an extra 17 hours this past week.

random numbersI’d tell you that I’ve found that I’m a real geek when it comes to helping people figure out how to use SPSS (Statistical Package for the Social Sciences) and how to interpret their data. I mean this isn’t an entirely new discovery, but to work with someone over the phone for four hours over the course of two consecutive evenings really got me going. In fact, I had to rein it in so I didn’t get totally exhausted by my mental investment in the project. The client was thrilled and will be back in contact with me with a new data set in a few weeks.

I’d tell you that my other long-term tutoring project is working with a family with two children. Algebra, writing, and time management for the 7th grade boy and reading and math for a first grade girl. As we went through the week, the parents were willing to increase my hours (and days) to the extent I would be willing to take on more. I am currently figuring out how much I really am willing to do.

I’d tell you that I did manage to figure out what I’m doing for the back of Jack’s quilt. The quilt top is finished except for the final border, so now that I’ve solved the backing mystery, I am hoping to make some progress this week, and hopefully be ready to quilt next weekend. Unless I’m moving.

I’d tell you that the movers are scheduled to come on Thursday. Not to move my stuff, but to move the large things from the house I will be staying at to the owners’ new home. That means it may be possible for me to start moving some of the things from my parents’ house to the new location as early as next weekend. Nothing is really firm yet, but that’s the current status report. Within a couple of weeks, I may be posting from a new location.

nanopoblano2015lightI’d tell you that I’ve joined NanoPoblano, in which I will challenge myself (with a little help from the group to post every day in November). Check out the details at Rarasuar’s blog. This current post is my contribution for the first day of November. I am hopeful for the rest of the month, but I don’t kid myself: this will definitely be a challenge. At the same time, I’ve been wanting to do a month of daily posts for a while, so this seemed like a good time to join the crowd.Ā  šŸ™‚

Thanks to Diana for hosting our coffee meet-up: Check it out at http://parttimemonster.com/2015/10/31/weekendcoffeeshare-this-is-halloween-please-dont-rain/

9 comments on “If We Were Having Coffee: The Beginning of NaBloPoMo Edition

    • haha! Dan, this is really funny because I originally had three references to boring in this post–one even in the title. And then as I went through, I realized it wasn’t that boring. I was just having trouble building up steam. Of course, when I edited the boring out, I missed one. Thanks for noticing šŸ˜‰

    • Hey, Willow. Look above at what I wrote to Dan. Interesting how you both picked up on my little slip. What’s funny about it, too, is that I always told my students, “If you think it’s boring when you’re writing it, no doubt I’ll find it boring when I try to read it. DON’T bore me!” I guess I need to remember my own advice. šŸ™‚

  1. Awesome! Good luck with Nano-Poblano! I wanted to do something similar, but with Daily Sketches, but alas the clock has struck midnight and we are already on Day 2 and I have nothing to show for it…maybe next time! šŸ™‚

  2. I’ll join you for coffee, just make mine a hot chocolate. We can spice it up, that’s cool. I think you will rock it this month and I hope I will, too. I’m glad Rarasaur brought us all together!

Leave a Reply

