“To or Not To Tuesday”: Week 3

It’s week 3, and you will be happy to know I’m not going to write about quilting today. I had something I was going to write about, but I changed it because I am in a bit of a dilemma. So, I’m going to present my question and my thoughts about it. Then I’m going to ask for comments and suggestions from the studio audience. That’s where you come in.

So here is this week’s question: To work or not to work.

Now it’s not really what it looks like. I know I am going to continue working, but the real question: “To fill out applications to seek a full-time 9 to 5 job or not to fill out applications for a full-time 9-5 job,” seemed a tad overwhelming.

So here’s the deal. I have a few places I’ve been watching for jobs–mostly in the student services area, although my dream job of being an assistant director of a writing center came through, but it meant living in a place where neither of our families lived, and at this stage of the game, that just seems unrealistic.

Here’s the thing: Whether we end up in Iowa or in Michigan, I’m not sure that looking for a full-time job is the right thing for me/us. After all, I haven’t done a job like that in a while, and like it or not, there really is age discrimination, Virginia (of Santa Claus belief variety — not the commonwealth variety).

In addition, there is so much going on in my life that I want some flexibility. I don’t want to have to be keeping track of personal time, sick time, vacation time. And extra meetings and events outside the 8-5 time slot (as needed).

I think that maybe I got it in my head that I needed a job like that because I was having trouble finding money earning opportunities. But now, that has changed a bit. And while adjunct teaching at the university is not good pay by any stretch of the imagination, the tutoring opportunities are building.

It’s still less than I could make with a “real” i.e. full-time, job, and there are no official benefits. But I do have flexibility to some degree. I also like what I’m doing, especially the tutoring. And it could lead to a few piano lessons here and there.

I have 5 – 10 years of working ahead of me (at least), and I like the idea of patching together things that keep in in contact with people who want to learn, while sandwiching in a few of my interests.

The other benefit is that if I really get focused, I might actually write some of the textbook ideas I have for helping non-native speakers of English to overcome their negative beliefs about English writing.

I know I can’t do everything I want to do, and my time becomes more limited with each passing year. But I need to be realistic about an income. Still, I don’t want to sell my soul for a few dollars. If I can get by, maybe it’s enough.

So, what say all of you dear readers of mine?

****

Thanks to Linda, my first official joiner to the “To or Not To Tuesday” postings. Here’s her post from last week. What about you? Are you pondering any “to do or not to do” questions? Feel free to join in.

4 comments on ““To or Not To Tuesday”: Week 3

  1. This is one of those things whets only you can decide, and I think you’ll know the “right” decision when that opportunity is presented. If it were me, and i could afford it, I think I’d go part time . Life’s too short to put our soul-fulfilling interests off till some day in the future 🙂

  2. As someone who works part-time I can really recommend it if it is financially feasible. That extra day a week that I don’t have to work keeps me sane and makes our weekends much more enjoyable (my boyfriend works full-time) because I get some of the chores done on my day off and I’m less tired. A job that you really enjoy doing is also favourable since it won’t be an energy drain. Good luck deciding!

  3. I’m probably not a great source of career guidance, but there’s a lot to be said for being happy each day. Good luck working through this.

    I like this prompt. I usually post on Tuesday, so I may try to work it in at some point.

Leave a Reply

