It’s Moving Day!

puppy and moving 010I took a few things over yesterday, but today is the big day. One more minor load sometime in the next few days. And I’ll admit, it isn’t pretty, but I’m managing to do it on my own with my parents’ van. It’s piled up like this because I can’t actually get into the main part of the house yet, but I have access to the bedroom where I can leave things. In addition, I was able to put a few things in the lower kitchen cupboards. I didn’t have much luck with my photo attempts either, but you get the general idea. I’ll post more pictures as I get settled.

To coincide with the snow that’s on its way this weekend, my friend Susan is driving me to the Detroit airport tomorrow to pick up an exchange student who is coming to see me for Thanksgiving week. My dad told me that the AAA weather alert says that the heaviest danger will be where the snow accumulation is the heaviest. Huh! Go figure! You can’t make this stuff up.

There will be more about Yumi in a post later in the week, but for now, her travel plans are to take a shuttle tomorrow morning from her school in northern Ohio to the Detroit airport, where we will meet her at approximately 10:00 am and whisk her away back to the tri-city area.

The move was supposed to precede her arrival by a few days, but obviously that didn’t happen, so we will have an interesting time, but it will still be fun. She’s aware of the moving glitch and is willing to help. Between that and the fun things we have planned (and the school work we both have to do), it will be a nice week. And she’ll be joining my family for Thanksgiving.

But for now, I need to finish loading the van.  More later.

5 comments on “It’s Moving Day!

Leave a Reply

