Building Rome: Santa’s Workshop Edition

buildingromelogo-final3On Thursday, I rejoined the Building Rome project, and made a list of the tasks that needed to be completed in the three weeks that I have here in Iowa while visiting my husband. Of course, I’ve known for a while that the act of writing things down makes them more present to me, and sharing those lists with others makes it more likely that I’ll stick to them.

Now that I’m in Iowa, I needed a work space, so Dave got me all set up in the finished basement, which has a huge table in it. Here is my computer area (complete with a large monitor for my netbook)! The table also has room for my quilting project.

iowa 002

Even though it’s only been four days since the list I made on Thursday, quite a few things are already finished, as noted by the strike-outs below. A few other items have progress, even though they aren’t finished.

EDITING PROJECT

  • Review comments and suggestions from agency before beginning new draft
  • Prepare a sample chapter for discussion
  • Set a chapter by chapter plan for completion
  • Prepare a list of recommendations for reduction of length

WRITING

  • Finish letter for summer plan
  • Write two thank you notes to students I tutor
  • Create a blogging plan
  • Map next writing project

TEACHING

  • Revise syllabus for Intro to Criminal Justice Course (progress made)
  • Create syllabus for Intro to Sociology course (progress made)
  • Create Modules for the 7 weeks of the online portion of the course
  • Check for access to the course shell; otherwise, use developmental course space
  • Submit grades for fall semester

 

QUILTING

  • Set up sewing machine that’s here
  • Sew jelly roll together to make small sample piece to practice machine quilting
    I have evidence – see below!
  • Practice machine quilting
  • Machine quilt Jack’s quilt
  • Sew binding on Jack’s quilt
  • Take a few photos!

OTHER

  • Enjoy time with Dave
  • Pay bills
  • Enjoy more time with Dave

All in all, I’m pretty pleased with the progress. And even though I accomplished the goal of enjoying time with Dave, I’m going to leave it on the list. I’m not crazy! OK, anyway, I’m not THAT crazy.

Also, I realize that I left an important writing project off last week’s list, so I’ll include that, but no other new projects, although a few minor tasks have been added in the OTHER category. I am also breaking down some of the bigger tasks into more manageable steps. It looks like I’ve added a bunch, but it’s just clarifying the things that were already there. Those smaller steps have been added in green.

Before showing you what’s in store for next week and beyond, here’s a photo of the “practice quilt.”

iowa 001

TASKS FOR THE NEXT TWO 1/2 WEEKS:

EDITING PROJECT

  • Set a chapter by chapter plan for completion
    • Week of 12/21: “Chapters 7, 8, 9”
    • Week of 12/28: “Chapters 10, 11, 12”
    • Half Week of 1/4: “Chapters 13 and 14”
  • Prepare a list of recommendations for reduction of length
    • Week of 12/21: “Chapters 1-7”
    • Week of 12/28: “Chapter 8-11”
    • Half week of 1/4: “Chapters 12-14”

WRITING

  • Review notes for article revision (NEW)
  • Draft revised sections (NEW)
  • Write two thank you notes to students I tutor
  • Create a blogging plan
  • Map next writing project

TEACHING

  • Revise syllabus for Intro to Criminal Justice Course
    • Decide on focus chapters
    • Update assignments
    • Set up discussions in new format
    • Set up additional group activities
    • Change quiz format
    • Finalize course calendar
  • Create syllabus for Intro to Sociology course
    • Create assignments
    • Finalize course calendar
    • Set presentation dates
    • Review newer edition of textbook
  • Create Modules for the 7 weeks of the online portion of the course
    • Set sample Module with discussion and writing tasks
    • Determine how many total modules are needed
    • Outline Modules for 4 Chapters
    • Week of 12/21: Complete 2 additional modules (after sample)
    • Week of 12/28: Complete 3 additional modules
    • Week of 1/4: Complete 3 additional modules
    • Map out release dates for modules

QUILTING

  • Stop trying to piece a back for the practice quilt; buy a piece of muslin
  • Prep practice piece for machine quilting
  • Practice machine quilting
  • Machine quilt Jack’s quilt
  • Sew binding on Jack’s quilt
  • Take a few photos!

OTHER

  • Enjoy time with Dave
  • Enjoy more time with Dave
  • Fill out paperwork for sub teaching (just in case) (NEW)
  • Order planner (NEW)
  • Get hair cut (NEW)
  • Get photos of Dave and me together NEW)
10 comments on “Building Rome: Santa’s Workshop Edition

    • Scheduling time and more time with Dave is pretty darn easy to do. It’s so great to be in the same place for a few weeks. The only reason he’s at the bottom of the list is because the work stuff is listed to get it out of the way. Lots of room for dessert that way. And I have no objection to moving up dessert any time. 😀

    • There is lots of time off, but unfortunately, I still have three major deadlines. But being able to work on these things with Dave nearby is nice. And we did have a real day off today. I’ll be reporting on that in day or two. 🙂

  1. Dave gets a big thank you I am sure for the arrangements he made so you are able to work during your visit. This reminds me of the “how to eat an elephant” by taking “one bite at a time”. I tend to get distracted without specific goals. One thing I plan this week is to make the piles of papers that land on my counter top disappear. Enjoy your time together. Loving the quilt colors. The Aqua and Lime look so fresh! Why is it called a practice quilt? Looks pretty good from my vantage! Merry Christmas and enjoy the time you have together.

    • With Dave helping me set up good space, it allows for the best of both worlds. I get the work done, and we get to spend time together. It’s working out pretty well. And the elephant is much more manageable this way. 🙂

      As for the “practice quilt,” I’ve never done machine stitching before, and since I need to quilt my grandson’s yet-to-be-unveiled quilt, I wanted to make a craft size piece I could use to practice my machine stitching before tackling Jack’s quilt. 🙂

      Merry Christmas to you and I hope you are able to do your intended magic act with those papers on your counter. 🙂

      • Deborah – think about quilting using your walking foot. Most walking foot attachments have a guide bar you can use to set your distance. Start at the center of the quilt and work your way out to the edges. Your spacing between the quilting lines is determined by how far you set the guide bar. There is a blog I follow called weddingdressblue.wordpress.com that showed a “scrappy string star” Dec 21 where she did a spiral. Very cool looking. Email me if you have a question. 🙂 live2skide@yahoo.com

  2. Wow! That’s a nice amount ticked off the list in such a short few days! I need to re-hash my Weekly Word/Building Rome posts to have a to-do list like this every week!

    • It really does keep me focused on what needs to be done, while rewarding me with other items I’d like to be doing. The focus and clarity are a good reminder of why it’s a good idea to make lists and commit these things to writing. Of course, having that sense of accountability to others doesn’t hurt either. 😉 I’ll look forward to seeing you join in. 🙂

Leave a Reply

