Weekend Coffee Share: December 27

Dave in Iowa 235If were having coffee, I would be treating you to the beverage of your choice at Elly’s Tea and Coffee. While I’m in Muscatine, IA with Dave, Elly’s is on my list of places to visit more than once. It’s located downtown, and it’s easily accessible by a bus that stops less than half a block from the house. When getting off the bus, it’s about a four-block walk. Yesterday, I went there with my computer and spent a large part of the day, 9 until almost 2:30, with a lovely lunch from their selection of sandwiches and soups of the day.

I’d also tell you that I will get back there for one more day there before leaving Iowa on the 7th. In that post, there will need to be a lot more photos than the ones that I’m including here. But hey, coffee shops.Β  πŸ™‚

Dave in Iowa 249

If we were having coffee, I’d tell you that today marks the halfway point of my visit here in Iowa. I’m glad I allowed this much time to be here, because this stretch of time is giving me a real fix for the schedule that awaits me when I return home. Dave and I have had a lovely time together, and we still have another 11 days ahead of us.

I’d also tell you that Dave and I have been doing a lot of talking, planning, and doing to facilitate finishing what he wants to get done here, so he can return as early in the new year as possible–hopefully in February.

If we were having coffee, I’d tell you that in addition to the time with Dave and his family, and the projects he and I are working on, I am making progress on several of my projects while still having time to just enjoy my time away. I will be making another Building Rome post tomorrow, and I’m quite pleased with what I’ve managed to cross off the list this week.

For example, I’d tell you that the lap-size quilt I pieced in order to practice machine quilting is nearly basted. After practicing on it, I will be ready to take on the quilting for Jack’s quilt. I am hoping to quilt and bind it before returning to Michigan. I’d cross my fingers, but it’s hard to quilt with fingers crossed.Β  πŸ™‚

babies are us

If we were having coffee, I’d tell you that I’m trying to get comfortable with the uncertainty of not knowing where I’m going to be living. My depression and anxiety are not in hiding as I had hoped, but they aren’t taking over my life at the moment. In fact, I am optimistic about spending some time this weekend putting together some goals and intentions for the new year, or at least for the first quarter of the year. In the process, I will keep breathing and keep enjoying the small moments that make me grateful for the time I am spending here with Dave.

Dave in Iowa 229I’d tell you that I’m looking forward to having the majority of the new year spent with Dave, even if we don’t know exactly where we’ll be spending it.

And I’d wish you all kinds of wonderful surprises and love-filled moments in the new year.

 

******

Run over to see Diane and join in if you’d like. It’s great sharing coffee, tea, or other beverages of choice as we catch up with one another.

 

17 comments on “Weekend Coffee Share: December 27

    • Thanks, Dan! I’ve become a lot more comfortable with the current uncertainties. I like knowing where I’m going to live, but I also know that there are possibilities. I just need to trust a bit more. It also helps to know that I’ve helped Dave map out a plan to get home sooner. We are both feeling like the logjam has been released. πŸ™‚

  1. Elly’s coffee shop looks lovely. Before Christmas I tried to do the same thing at a local coffee shop that has especially good coffee, but to my dismay I found the chairs to be very uncomfortable – they are all clear lucite plastic. Very chic, but not very inviting. I need to find another one to try. We are facing a move some time before June, so I know how you feel with the uncertainty. I can’t quite begin house hunting yet, and it’s driving me crazy. Soon, though, very soon. I hope your situation smooths itself out quickly. Happy New Year!

    • There is nothing worse in a coffee shop than uncomfortable chairs. It’s almost like they’re saying they want to limit your stay. I have to admit, though, that I can understand their strategy (if that indeed is their strategy). I’ve been in coffee shops for hours (both in this country and in Taiwan), and it’s amazing to me how many people think that buying one drink and hanging out for hours on end is ok. It’s possible to be a good guest. I feel another post coming on. πŸ˜‰

  2. Nice for both of you to be able to stay together for a while. The right place will show up, when you are ready. Try to imagine what kind of house etc as you would love to live in and which area as will be good for you. This use to help me every time I need to move again.

    • Thanks, Irene! We are just waiting to see which opportunity presents itself. We know something will come, and we will embrace whatever turns up. The house I am staying in now will be sold, and the owners have been kind enough to let me stay there. We are now working on a couple of other options for the future. Thanks for stopping by and offering your advice. Best wishes for the new year! πŸ™‚

  3. Nice to meet this week. Good luck with your future plans. We had several years before we decided where we going spend our retirement years. I am glad we settled and hopethis is our last move.

    • Thanks! I know we have another move or two ahead of us, but that’s ok. Still a few more years of work ahead. I am delighted to hear that you’ve settled. You can be my role model. πŸ˜‰

  4. What a cutie pie! I must confess, I’d forgotten all about New Year’s resolutions and goals for 2016. I will need to start thinking about that. And so glad you are okay with the current uncertainty, which I hope will resolve well and happily.

  5. I hope the rest of your time in Iowa goes well and the quilt works out. Our day took a turn for the worse when our son couldn’t find his Scout Jamboree gear. He’s missing 3 shirts and a hat and we had all but destroyed the house trying to find the stuff. He’s pushed all but his sister beyond the brink of madness. Had better get back to it xx Rowena

Leave a Reply

