To or Not To Tuesday: Week 9

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOn the last Tuesday of 2015, the To or Not To Tuesday question seems an obvious one. To make New Year’s resolutions or not to make New Year’s Resolutions.

This is a question that a lot of people ask this time of year. Many people don’t bother, either because of their personal history with failed resolutions themselves or because of the awesome stats you can find all over the place about the high percentage of people who give up on resolutions within the first few months of making them. Or they make the same resolutions over and over again, year to year, as if doing things the same way is going to produce difference results.

Another problem is that the beginning of the year leads people to make resolutions about what they think they should do. Things they have failed at in the past. Things that they are destined to fail at again, because it’s not something they WANT, but only something they feel they should do. A real set-up for failure.

For me To or Not To Tuesday is a no to making resolutions. Instead, it’s a yes to exploring a few intentions to set for the new year. The difference is that an intention doesn’t require will power, but a plan and a bit of knowledge about advances in neuroscience. I am living proof that intentions can  change my life for the better, without any will power at all. When I tried will power, it never worked. However, I became sold on the difference between resolution and intention was when, for the first time in my life, I lost a significant amount of weight (50 lbs), and have kept it off for a year.

So I’m ready to make some new intentions and document my progress over the course of the weeks and months ahead a workable way to make positive changes. I’ll show you the resources that changed my way of thinking and made it possible for me to turn my back on resolutions once and for all, but not on setting goals that are totally achievable.

How about you?

Are you making some sort of list of goals, resolutions, or intentions?

Are you curious about my (finally) successful weight loss?

Are you curious about what crazy intentions I’ll set for 2016? (me, too!)  🙂

 

 

6 comments on “To or Not To Tuesday: Week 9

  1. I love the idea of intentions v resolutions. I have one main intention that I will reveal in a post on Saturday, but no resolutions. Good job on the weight loss and I lover the hat 🙂

  2. Pingback: Tuesday Smorgasbord | Linda G. Hill

  3. Quite valid. I don’t set resolutions at the beginning of the year, I set resolutions when I decide to make a change. Never understood waiting.
    Intentions are nice, though. I saw someone post that the word for their new year was vitality, and I thought that was clever. Alas, I keep thinking, and I can’t come up with a word I aspire to…but I have a little more time 🙂

  4. I used to set myself résolutions, and you’re right, they always fell by the wayside within the first few months of the year. This year I have some new things I would like to learn, but have not set myself any deadlines therefore no pressure.

Leave a Reply

