Weekend Coffee Share: Welcome 2016

weekendcoffeeshareIt’s Sunday, time to gather with family and friends and catch up on the week’s happenings. Check it out at Diane’s page.

If we were having coffee,

I’d tell you that I only have four more days left in Iowa before heading back to Michigan to start up the new semester.  It’s been wonderful to be here with David and his sister, even if one of her dogs can’t decide whether to play with me or bark at me.

If we were having coffee,

I’d tell you that I’ve made good use of my time here. The revisions of my co-authored paper are moving into the final phase, and the editing job I’m doing for an accreditation site visit are moving along.

If we were having coffee,

I’d tell you that I’m finalizing my plans for my two sections of Introduction to Criminal Justice and a hybrid section of Introduction to Sociology. This hybrid course features five in-person sessions at the beginning of the semester and another five (including the final exam) at the end. All the stuff in the middle is done online. I’m enjoying the chance to create something that will get students excited about sociology while having the freedom to try new things.

If we were having coffee,

I’d tell you that in addition to the work I need to do for my own projects, I’ve been helping Dave with the sorting of papers and belongings, arranging for furniture pick up, and making the place a little more cozy, so his sister can really call it her own, now that Mom has been gone nearly two years. If Cathy’s tests at the end of January go well and the cancer doesn’t require any major surgery or treatment, Dave will be back in Michigan in February. Fingers crossed for all of us.

If we were having coffee,

I’d tell you that I finally got my sewing machine figured out and I have machine quilted nearly half of my practice quilt. I’ll be able to start the actual quilting on Jack’s quilt very soon — maybe even tomorrow!

I’d also tell you that My Weekend Coffee Share is going to double as a JusJoJan post. Head over and check it out.  🙂

jjj-2016

23 comments on “Weekend Coffee Share: Welcome 2016

  1. Fingers crossed for all of you as you say. I’m glad you figured your sewing machine out, it’s so useful. I have not yet arranged mine on a proper desk but we use it at random when really necessary

    • The sewing machine situation was getting a bit critical. Without getting that figured out, my grandson’s quilt would never get finished, or at least not before he got too big for it. 😉 I’m feeling ready to take it on now. 🙂

      • Yes, I have stories I remember of my teachers both college a d high school.Mostly Good! The one who was not one of my teachers but knew how I was doing all through school was my Great Aunt Gladys. She was a leading educator at the time she watchover my schooling and I didn’t know until one of my high school teacher told the night I graduated.

      • For me, it was my Great Aunt Grace. She taught in another school system, but she was always interested in what I was doing especially in English and writing–her subject areas. 😉

    • As I finish some of these projects, I’m hoping to be a little less busy. More vested in my quilting and my own writing projects. Fingers crossed on that, too. Thanks for stopping by. Always nice to see you! 🙂

  2. Thanks for the coffee Deborah, it was so nice to send time with you today and hear all your News… Tell your sister’s dog to behave! Good luck with new semester and well done on all your new work on your papers. BTW looking forward to seeing Jack’s quilt! xxxxx

    • Thanks, Willow! Working on the dog, but it may be hopeless. 😉 Hey, I’M looking forward to seeing Jack’s quilt. But I’m feeling more confident about tackling the next phase. Always nice to see you, Willow! ❤

  3. Hi Deborah, I’ve got my coffee right now and I’d tell you about getting ready to go do art at a senior day center. I love getting together with the group and it always boosts my mood & gives me energy. I’d show you my nails because I rarely have them done. My boss had a nail party and we used these vinyl sticker things that you heat & put on. They have great designs. It’s been fun to feel pretty with my nails. I’d probably talk about art a lot because that’s what I do most of the time! Thanks for coffee!!!!

    • I’m always happy to hear you talk about art. I may be picking your brain this year about getting more art in my life. And helping others do the same. 🙂

  4. I was a sociology major in college, which I think either prepared me to be a lifelong observer of group behavior or appealed to me because I already was. Either way, I’m grateful for it, and I hope your semester goes well. I also liked the “love your broken pieces” images on another post. Very nice.

    • When I went back to college later in life (in my 40s), I went into a sociology course reluctantly. It satisfied a distribution requirement and fit into my work schedule. It was like finding my home for the first time. Within two weeks, I changed my major and never looked back (except to add another major in professional and technical writing). 🙂
      I do have a lot of broken pieces to deal with this year, but between that overarching theme and my word of the year — direction, I think it’s going to be a good year.

      Thanks for stopping by! Always a delight. And now that I know we’re both sociology geeks, it does explain a few things. 😉

  5. Sounds like a productive holiday vacation for you. Best of luck with the new semester (or quarter). I wish I had a quilting machine, but I need another hobby like I need a hole in the head so I’ll have to be satisfied with art projects for now!

    • It’s nice to find another person who needs a hole in the head. I have to stop myself from getting involved in more stuff all the time. Luckily, I got bitten by the quilting bug a while back, so I am stuck. 😉 I do my quilting on a regular sewing machine, so I’m hopeful that my new skills are sufficient for the task on this newest project.
      Thanks for stopping by. 🙂

Leave a Reply

